$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
70 reviews
Friendly and Simple

This hotel was an easy, last minute booking for an unexpected overnight. Got just what we needed!... See full review

  • Eleveneyes
  • Oct 6, 2014
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sigma Pi
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 30, 2012

Good Location

The rooms were clean, but it was centrally located to get every where. Nothing great nothing bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kilteddutchman
Business
phx az
Jul 24, 2012

highland games

this was a very good priced hotel to stay at over a weekend on a major event in flagstaff everything was set up no problems what so ever checking in or out great service good rooms and nice extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

3 miles away is highland games every year between july 20-24

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thetwo of us
Business
texas
Jul 23, 2012

Dirty stained bedding

It was a cheap stay all we did was sleep and get clean there. The bed sheets had stains on them. Not a pleasant thought. It was in town and with that came the noises from the trains all night. Staff was nice and the place was quiet besides the trains. It is an old but cheap stay. Don't know if I would stay there again. I would prob try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMH traveler
Business
St Louis
Jun 11, 2012

Flagstaff AZ

The hotel looked a little dated but the room was great. Traveling with grandchildren and cleanliness was very important, Very clean. Had a problem with the TV and the attendant was there in less then 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Co Yo Yo
Business
Monument, Colorado
May 13, 2012

Good Value For Quick Overnight Stay

This was a stop off after picking my son up from University of Arizona after his finals. We got in past 11 pm, were quickly set up with our room. The room was not fancy, but was clean, the beds were comfortable, the location was good and the price was very reasonable. This was a very good value for what we needed. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cpbb
Business
Massachusetts
May 11, 2012

Basic, Economical

This motel is a good value for the money. For a very reasonable nightly rate you receive basic accommodations with no frills but all of the essentials: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, etc. However, breakfast is not included. It is in an excellent location within walking distance of historic downtown, across the street from the University and convenient to a wide variety of restaurants and shopping. The pillows and towels were a little skimpy but adequate. The room was clean except for a little mildew on the edges of the shower curtain. It's not fancy, but definitely worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Charley's restaurant located within the historic Hotel Wetherford. Sit outside on the restored balcony on the third floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red rock traveller
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Clean and quiet

Room was decent value for the price. I would have preferred a coffee maker in the room, but decent coffee Was available in the office. The motel was close to good restaurants and downtown attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lumberyard Brewery and Restaurant was a short walk and a great place for guality beer and good food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HHH1
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Good room for the price

The price of the room was great. Could not hear the train or traffic outside. The mattress was a little stiff and the pillows a little flat. Other than that if you need a cheap place to stay that is within wallking distance from downtown and right off the main drag, this place is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maimai
Business
Virginia
Oct 6, 2011

Great place to stay!

We were so glad that we chose the Highland Country Inn! Great location for visiting the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Jerome and Flagstaff. We loved having coffee or tea from the office, then walking to breakfast in the mornings and walking to dinner after a busy day. The gentleman in the office was very helpful! Our room was big, clean and comfortable. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations before going to "Pasto Cucina Italiana" in Flagstaff. The food was fantastic! We wish we lived closer so we could frequent this restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wessymo
Business
Cypress, TX
Aug 6, 2011

Clean, comfortable, courteous

Our stay here was great. The motel is located close to everything there is to do in Flagstaff. The staff were friendly and courteous. The beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom was clean. Upon first glance it appears to be bottom of the barrel, but the things that matter and make it a pleasant stay are all there. We stayed in a higher starred hotel the night before in Sedona, and this place is much, much better than that one when it comes to the things that really count.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Beaver Street Brewery for awesome food and beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top