$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Carefree Resort and Conference Center

4 stars
37220 Mule Train Road, PO Box 3500, Carefree, AZ 85377
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
136 reviews
Great place to relax.

I was there for a conference. Had a few problems but the staff took care of it right away. The food... See full review

  • Husker21
  • Jul 15, 2014
GREAT LOCATION!!!

If you go out to the clubs at night, the shuttle provides a great service and it's safe. It gets... See full review

  • MARI SUPER WIFE
  • Oct 21, 2013
Carefree Resort & Conference Center's 234 nearly double-sized guest room accommodations envelope you in architectural elements that celebrate the Sonoran Desert and the tropical oasis of the Resort's lush setting. Choose from our brand new luxurious Carefree Suites or our oversized Resort and Premier Rooms, with beautiful views of the natural desert surroundings. Carefree Resort has an array of accommodation options to fit every guest's need. Enjoy traditional, innovative cuisine including thick, juicy steaks and succulent seafood dishes at The Lariat restaurant, or cozy up to a warm lounge setting with signature cocktails in the Lounge. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, The Lariat takes your dining experience to the next level with a warm ambiance and panoramic views of the surrounding mountains. Outdoor dining is also offered on the Sunset Terrace, which overlooks the Resort's Serenity Pool and Botanical Garden. The Carefree Resort offers a variety of recreation services to cater to your individual needs. Enjoy six renovated treatment rooms in our full service spa, private locker and steam rooms, and services such as massages, facials, and body polishes to revitalize you from head to toe. Want a more active vacation? The Carefree Resort offers 5 outdoor lighted championship tennis courts, a tennis pro shop and our very own USPTA 1 Director of Tennis. Although the Carefree Resort does not have golf on-site, our golf pro can arrange discounted tee times at one of the many area courses. Our Concierge can also assist with a variety of other recreation, from hot air balloon rides to horseback riding. Bikes and motorized Scooters are also available for Carefree Resort's guests to use during their visit.

Hotel Map

33.8223 -111.9086
Area served
Carefree, Cave Creek, Scottsdale
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX): Approximate driving time is 40 minutes and distance is 36 miles.
Area description
Tucked in the scenic foothills of the Sonoran Desert just North of Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport and Scottsdale lies the aptly named Carefree Resort & Conference Center. At this desert gem, guests can embrace the Southwestern lifestyle in total relaxation. Situated on 23 acres peppered with desert wildflowers, towering Saguaro, Giant Ocotillo, and Prickly Pear Cacti, Carefree Resort & Conference Center is an authentic Southwestern retreat for those in need of rest and relaxation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Resort and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Carefree Resort and Conference Center Rooms

Premier Resort King Rooms
1 king bed with premium bedding and triple sheeting. Balcony or patio with views of golf course, desert, or garden. 550-square-foot room. Flat-panel TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail and free local calls. Complimentary wireless Internet access and weekday newspapers. Bathroom with shower or tub, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. Functional window. Non-smoking room.
Resort Room
2 queen beds with premium bedding. Triple sheeting 550-square-foot room. Flat-panel TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail and free local calls. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Complimentary weekday newspapers. Refrigerator and microwave (on request)and coffee/tea maker. Bathroom with shower or tub, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. Non-smoking room.
Premier Resort Rooms
2 queen beds with premium bedding and triple sheeting. Balcony or patio with views of golf course, desert, or garden. 550-square-foot room. Flat-panel TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail and free local calls. Complimentary wireless Internet access and weekday newspapers. Bathroom with shower or tub, hair dryer, and complimentary toiletries. Functional window. Non-smoking room.
Carefree 1 Bedroom Suite - 1 King Bed
The Carefree Suites at Carefree cater to the discriminating guest. Surrounded in cool hues of silver and azure blue, the Carefree Suites are rich with numerous upgraded room amenities, luxurious bathrooms featuring rain fall showers, granite counter tops, flat panel TVs, and a refrigerator. A 1 Bedroom King Suite includes a separate oversized King bedroom and upgraded bathroom with dual sinks, as well as a separate parlor with dining area, mini-fridge and microwave. The Carefree Suites at Carefree are adjacent to Carefree Resort's Tennis Center and near The Spa.
Carefree 2 Bedroom Suite
The Carefree Suites at Carefree cater to the discriminating guest. Surrounded in cool hues of silver and azure blue, the Carefree Suites are rich with numerous upgraded room amenities, luxurious bathrooms featuring rain fall showers, granite counter tops, flat panel TVs, and a refrigerator. A 2 Bedroom Suite includes a separate oversized King bedroom and 2 Doubles bedroom, 3 full bathrooms, as well as a separate parlor with dining area, mini-fridge and microwave. The Carefree Suites at Carefree are adjacent to Carefree Resort's Tennis Center and near The Spa.
Carefree 1 Bedroom Suite - 2 Double Beds
The Carefree Suites at Carefree cater to the discriminating guest. Surrounded in cool hues of silver and azure blue, the Carefree Suites are rich with numerous upgraded room amenities, luxurious bathrooms featuring rain fall showers, granite counter tops, flat panel TVs, and a refrigerator. A 1 Bedroom 2 Doubles Suite includes a separate bedroom with 2 Double beds, as well as a separate parlor with dining area, mini-fridge and microwave. The Carefree Suites at Carefree are adjacent to Carefree Resort's Tennis Center and near The Spa.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Dining

Lariat Restaurant and Lounge
Enjoy traditional, innovative cuisine including thick, juicy steaks and succulent seafood dishes at The Lariat restaurant, or cozy up to a warm lounge setting with signature cocktails in the Lounge. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, The Lariat takes your dining experience to the next level with a warm ambiance and panoramic views of the surrounding mountains. Outdoor dining is also offered on the Sunset Terrace, which overlooks the Resort's Serenity Pool and Botanical Garden. Full service restaurant and lounge serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Carefree Resort & Conference Center reflects meeting expertise in its design. Seventeen versatile meeting rooms and a variety of outdoor options, from small conference suites to our legendary 11,000 sqft Opera House, allow us to offer you the most appropriate and inspiring setting for every program. The Resort's entire staff exemplifies our commitment to helping you achieve your meeting goals. When every detail of your meeting is perfect, you leave feeling more on target to meet your goals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Husker21
Business
Henderson NV
Jul 15, 2014

Great place to relax.

I was there for a conference. Had a few problems but the staff took care of it right away. The food was excellent & a very fair value. All of the staff was accommodating to our conference needs & individual needs. Plan on returning for just some relaxation time with my dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in carefree.

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie cooks
Flagstaff, az
Jun 4, 2014

Wonderful overnight

I stayed for just one night because I was just there to eat at a restaurant in town. Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the shuttle!

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triplets Dad
Business
Dallas, TX
May 9, 2014

Nice but not flawless

The staff made the difference, as in I would have no problem returning. Only complaint was the sheets and towels weren't clean, and I'm a bit finicky about finding hairs on supposedly clean linens. And the pillows were old as dirt. But the restaurant was great and the bartender friendly, and the $4 happy hour wine glasses were a nice find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveAB
San Diego
Mar 17, 2014

Best location to stay in Phoenix

I wouldn't stay anywhere but Carefree. It's like a different world, relative to the urban center. This hotel is nicely situated and a good deal. Some rooms are less than fantastic, but overall it was a positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed sun
Wisconsin
Mar 13, 2014

Great relaxing trip

Overall, the resort was great for the price. Loved the out of the city location. The room was just okay. Maid service was usually late in the day, and the waiter at pool never asked us if we needed something on one of days. The pools were nice, great that they were heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The h.... Toad in cave creek had delicious chicken.

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat and Grace
Chattanooga TN
Mar 2, 2014

Great location!

Wonderful desert views, very peaceful. Staff is very attentive. Enjoyed my stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nacnudj
Nashville
Feb 20, 2014

Additional charges showed up at time of check out

They charged me an additional $50 for "resort fees" when I checked out. I can't find any mention of them on my reservation or reciept. This may have been on the papers they had me initial and sign at check in, but if it was it should have been pointed out, I didn't see it, but who reads all the small print. They asked for a credit card, but stated it was for "incidentals". The fee was supposed to have covered resort services, valet, business office, parking and the pool. We didn't use any except the parking, and it wasn't controled or marked as hotel only, so anyone could have parked there for free. The place was nice, but unexpected charges are bad business. When I complained I was given a business card suggesting I post a comment on a traveler advisor site (system won't let me state the name, but it is well known) -- they weren't even listed there. Poorly run business! Do not recommend hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Windwalker private horseback riding. Not a nose to tail trail ride, it was a special adventure tailored to the skill level and desire of the riders. They picked us up at the hotel with the horses in the trailer and we drove 10 minutes into the desert then had a great 2 1/2 hour ride. +++

Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cowboy Ray
Phoenix
Dec 15, 2013

Nice place friendly staff and a good nights sleep

Check in was full of problems....they gave me my keys, and told me how to get to my room. I followed the directions but because it was night time and the area was dark we had a hard time seeing the room numbers. I finally had to walk all the rooms only to find out our room was on the other side of the hotel. Ok no problem, only there was an event on that side of the resort so no parking. Well we got to our assigned room only to find out it was already occupied. Back to the front desk, got a new room back on the other side of the hotel again found the room and our keys wouldn't open the door. Thankfully the bellman had a master key to let us in. In response of all the problems the hotel did comp us breakfast and that was nice. The rooms where nicely appointed, beds where very comfortable and clean. We did eat breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good, the coffee was amazing! Bottom line I would stay there again just make sure to have a bellman help you find your room just in case. Oh and the pool is heated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayCeeABC
Outstate Minnesota
Nov 6, 2013

A Good Time in Carefree

My Gal and I spent a long weekend at the Carefree Resort and had a Good Time! The staff was solid, the room was clean and specious and the grounds were well kept and wonderful for quiet, romantic walks. We had a second floor suite and were glad enjoyed the balcony view and the privacy it provided. We really enjoyed the on-site restaurant and the outstanding service at the bar. Given an opportunity, I would not hesitate to book this resort again and look forward to the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Carefree Resort and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CLD6049
Huntley,IL
Nov 5, 2013

Just fine

I was expecting four stars to be nicer. Everything was just fine but nothing was outstanding. Overall the room was spacious but dark and dated. The staff was friendly. The food too was just fine. As I said It was just expecting four stars to be great or exceptional not just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top