$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

3 stars
View map of 4122 McFarland Blvd East, 4122 McFarland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3833

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.1

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grace B
Family
Austin, TX, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Nice place, definite choice for my next trip

with the exception of the tub faucet being loose from the wall and not having enough electrical outlets in the room, it was a great place to stay. As a hotel manager by profession (and much more critical of rooms than the average Joe), I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to good food and the University

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prospective college paren
Family
Virginia, USA
Oct 16, 2011

College visit

We stayed 2 nights while touring Alabama. We arrived at night. The outside of the building was very dark, and looked run down. There were balconies surrounding the building where other patrons were out smoking and talking on their cell phones. This made us feel uncomfortable. Once we got in the room it was fine. I thought my reservation was for 2 queens, but we got 2 doubles. This was hard with 3 adults. People were nice, and breakfast was acceptable. Bathroom was tiny, but price was cheap. Internet access and desk area were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Piggy Cakes
Family
Dallas, TX
Jun 16, 2011

Fair stay

They refused to let us stay on the first floor, so in the middle of the night I unloaded my car and my daughter up the stairs. Rediculous!!! The carpet was covered in blonde dog hair - obviously not vacuumed and the fire alarm was missing. Found it later on the toilet. The night attendant did not look happy to be there. She probably shouldn't be working in the hospitality industry. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
gadsden al
Jun 16, 2011

pleasant stay

friendly staff, clean rooms, carpet old and outdated, pool could have been cleaner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Muscle Shoals, AL
Apr 18, 2011

A-Day in Tuscaloosa

[...] This is an annual trip for us (family quality time) where we spend the week-end in Tuscaloosa (majority of the time on campus) enjoying all the A-Day Game festivities, food and fun. We started our trip down to Tuscaloosa from Muscle Shoals on Friday afternoon. All day Friday there had been bad storms & tornadoes throughout Alabama. It just so happened that one went through the area where we stayed. We arrived at the Laquinta Inn after 6pm and checked in. We noticed not much lighting when we arrived and found out the hotel actually on had partial power due to the storms. Our room (lucky us) had no power period. So we spent the entire rest of the evening with a room with no power. While I understand you cant control storms, I've always been told the customer comes first. The hotel staff did nothing but tell us they made phone calls for service. They did not offer temporary lighting (which should have happended). Nor did they offer anything period. During this particular event (A-Day in Tucaloosa at the University of Alabama). You cannot get a room anywhere close to the stadium. So, therefore there was no need to look for anohter room (Knew you were going to ask), so we stayed in the room obviously (sleeping anyway) that night and went the next morning and enjoyed the A-Day festivities on campus. When we returned we had power. However, the disaapointment was as follows.1. The staff did nothing to make our stay more relaxed due to the circumstances.2. Provided no updates the entire night, you had to go ask.3. Offered nothing during this time.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Not really a hint, just going to state that this is a "College Town", so there is plenty to eat, drink, view, shop and so on.

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Montgomery Alabama
Apr 18, 2011

Power was off

Power was off when we arrived. No phone call warning us about power outage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boilerm
Family
Greensboro, NC
Apr 11, 2011

The Ugly

It was hard to believe that this hotel met LaQuinta standards. It was an absolute dive. The check in woman was very unfriendly and if you asked a question she would strain to answer it. The room smelled terrible. The walls were thin. The property was a mess. Breakfast was not good. The shower and toilet area was quite small. The hot water constantly fluctuated in and out while taking a shower whenever another room used cold water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Rogers, AR
Mar 29, 2011

Old Hotel

Positives: Price was okay, Breakfast items were decent, room was clean. Negatives: Bad area, saw a couple of drunken people lying outside their rooms. Hotel building is pretty old, needs some renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Huntsville, AL
Mar 27, 2011

Seedy

The hotel is located right by the highway. Very noisy. Does not have right of way access to adjacent road. Must drive through potholed parking lot of restaurant to get to hotel, entrance has deep dip for drainage. BE CAREFUL only enough room for one car to pass through entrance/exit. Hotel is old, TV barely worked, did not provide channel guide, water was yellow, AC did not work very well, broken glass on sidewalk, front room door sticks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
IOWA
Mar 11, 2011

Meet our needs

We found this hotel easily, easy check in,desk supplied good directions,breakfast was modest at best,they had trouble with the passdoor into the lobby which could have been a serious safety issue!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

any type of food within 2 miles

Back to menu Return to top