$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

2 stars
1602 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
Southern Friendly.

At check~in things didn't go as smooth as possible. But, during the next two days, they more than... See full review

  • Cali Bama Mom
  • Jul 2, 2014
Best Value for a Four-Five Star hotel!!

The best hotel in Tuscaloosa!!! The staff was amazingly nice and very customer service focused.... See full review

  • Tracey Hayes77
  • Jun 24, 2013
Tuscaloosa is located in Alabama’s center of industry, commerce, healthcare, and education. Home-Towne Suites of Tuscaloosa offers affordable extended stay lodging accommodations for business and family travelers. Home-Towne Suites of Tuscaloosa features spacious suites comfortably furnished and equipped with full kitchens and living areas. The hotel boasts a friendly staff and excellent customer service as well as easy access to Conveniently located minutes from University of Alabama's campus, within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. For added convenience, the hotel provides free parking, Wi-Fi and premium cable TV. Guests also enjoy 24-hour access to the onsite laundry facility and vending area.

Hotel Map

33.1974 -87.5155
Nearby airports
(BHM), 55.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa Rooms

2 Queen Beds Studio No Smoking
2 Queen beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/ Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 Queen Studio w/sleeper sofa NS
1 Queen Studio w/sleeper sofa NS
1 BDRM King Suite w/Whirlpool/So
1 BDRM King Suite w/Whirlpool/Sofa sleeper NS
1 Queen Studio with Sleeper Sofa
1 Queen Studio with Sleeper Sofa Smoking
1 Queen Bed Studio ADA Accessibl
Queen bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
2 Queen Beds Studio Smoking
2 Queen Beds/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Suite with Sleeper So
1 King Bed Suite with Sleeper Sofa No Smoking
1 BDRM King/Queen Suite w/sleepe
1 BDRM King/Queen Suite w/sleeper sofa NS
1 BDRM Queen/Queen Studio w/Slee
1 BDRM Queen/Queen Studio w/Sleeper Sofa NS
1 BDRM King/Queen Ste w/Whrlpl/S
King/Queen Suite with whirlpool/sofa sleeper/NS
2 Queen Bed Suite No Smoking
2 Queen Bed Suite No Smoking
1 BDRM Queen/Queen Studio w/Slee
1 BDRM Queen/Queen Studio w/Sleeper Sofa ADA

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Telephone
Kitchen
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
TV remote control
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Coleman Coliseum: 1.5 mi
  • Foster Auditorium: 1.8 mi
  • Bryant-Denny Stadium: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 114
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darmy
Winfield, AL, USA
Jul 13, 2014

Check in nightmare

Absolutely the worst check in experience. My wife and I walk into the lobby looking for a check in desk but couldn't find one. Nor could I see a sign identifying where to check in. After walking around the lobby looking for the place to check in I finally asked a customer inside an office area. She confirmed this is where you check in. It was an office area with 2 office desk. The employee checking her in never once asked if she could help me or let me know this is where you check in. After waiting for 30 minutes for the employee to check the customer in before me it was finally my turn to check in. I give the employee my name and after flipping thru a stack of papers (which I found odd because everything is on computers these days# she has no record of my reservation. After a lengthy phone call to the company I made the reservations through she finally has the information she needs to at least let me get checked in. This whole process of waiting and checking in took 50 minutes. It should not take 50 minutes to check into a hotel. Not one apology from the employee on not having my reservation nor the amount of time I had to wait. However, once we finally got to our room I was very pleased with the room. It was clean and quiet. The only negative to the room is it didn't have a hair dryer. If this hotel can install a check in desk #or at least a $15.00 sign letting you know where to check in), get computerized, and hire more friendly employees it would be a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leslie in Texas
Coppell, TX
Jul 9, 2014

Never going back

Worst place I have ever booked. Big sign posted on cabinet: Dishes washed, but not sanitized. Saw roach in the bathroom, towels stained and yellow. Had booked 2 rooms. One did not get maid service one day and the other just had the bed made. Usually like to spend time in my hotel room at the end of the day, but made plans to be out extra late so as to spend minimal time in the room. Learned from staff that General Manager walked out the day of our arrival after 3 days on the job. New manager on premises the next day and very apologetic for conditions when I complained. Nice words, but too late to do anything about it. Tried calling, but line always busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cali Bama Mom
San Diego, Ca
Jul 2, 2014

Southern Friendly.

At check~in things didn't go as smooth as possible. But, during the next two days, they more than made up fir it! Maintenance staff was exceptional! Fun, Friendly, and sweet down home feel to this hotel. Highly recommend, especially if you need access to the University of Alabama.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to UA

Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KennyG03
St. Louis, MO
Jun 29, 2014

Downright awful

Waited 20 minutes just for receptionist to check in. Room was dirty and extremely smoky. Went to request another one and waited 45 minutes for receptionist who never showed (at 24hr registration desk.) we left and got another hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bryant Denny

Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bama Dad CA
California
Jun 25, 2014

Stay in the newer main building pictured

We came to Tuscalossa for freshman orientation and I brought my daughter. We booked this online, and when we arrived to this property, the front desk manager was not immediately available, and we had to track her down in the parking lot. It seems they only have one person on call or working at a time, so you cannot count on immediate service. The front desk person assigned us our room in an older building, which I came to realize is is the Home Suite Studios building. We entered that building and it stank of cigarette smoke and there was dirt and litter in the halls and stairs (no elevator). When we entered our 2nd floor room, the cigarette smell was not as strong, and the beds and carpet and flat screen TV were in newer condition. However the kitchen area was worn, there was rust and grime around the cook top, and mildew stains on the caulking. There was a six inch circular section of paint peeling from the bathroom ceiling, and one of the pictures was missing over the beds, with just the hangers left exposed on the wall. I went back to the lobby and used the lobby phone to contact the front desk manager, who came to the lobby promptly. I explained what we encountered in the first room, and there was no apology for the inconvenience. I requested a room in the main building which is the property pictured online, and fortunately she was able to assign us a new room. This room was in much better shape, newer and more spacious. There was no cigarette smell. The bathroom was fairly clean, but had a slight mildewy smell. The level of cleanliness throughout the main areas of the property,; lobby, breakfast area, rest room, was below average, but if you are not too particular about this,and don't mind cleaning up a bit on your own, the rate is comparatively lower to other hotels,. The location is good relative to UA, Target and Malls. Be sure to confirm your room is in the newer Home town Suites building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's an inexpensive rate if you can confirm a room in the newer building. If the staff could step up their customer service and maid service, it would help considerably.

Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
supertraveler2014
SC
May 19, 2014

Cheap hotel not very clean

We checked in and were given a room. Went to the room and it smelled like cigarette smoke. (this was a non-smoking hotel). Went back to the desk to change rooms. Changed rooms and the keys would not work. Went back to desk and they changed keys. Went back to room and the keys still did not work. Went back to desk and they had to come replace the battery in the door lock. Room was ok, not the cleanest. Nice setup in room and they did have complimentary breakfast (muffins and juice). Will not stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to University of Alabama

Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Butler1
Alabama
May 19, 2014

Fit out needs perfect

Overall great experience! Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rndec96
Atlanta, Ga
Apr 27, 2014

Great for one night stay!

The room was clean and had everything we needed. It was quiet and the location was perfect for visiting the University of Alabama!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bama Parent
Fallston, MD
Aug 22, 2013

It's no Marriott

The room was acceptable considering the rate. The location was good if you need to be near the Univ. of Alabama Campus. The hallways had a strange odor and the elevator was not working consistently causing a few trips down the steps. Breakfast was very sparse with little more than coffee, OJ and prepackaged danishes and breakfast sandwiches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Home-Towne Suites Tuscaloosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl UA mom
Virginia
Aug 19, 2013

it was ok, but several things lacking for a suite

It was Ok, but there were several things missing. First of all, after taking a shower, went to find the hair dryer, and there wasn't one. I have never stayed at a hotel that didn't have a hair dryer. Also, there was no bedding for the sofa bed and only 2 washcloths. There were only 2 coffee/tea mugs, so couldn't all have hot drinks in the room. All items were available, but had to call and request all of the missing items which was inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search