$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Escapes to The Shores

3 stars
24060 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
79 reviews
Great Location

The location is perfect just walk out to the beach. The hotel pool was great for the kids since the... See full review

  • Tammyandkids
  • Mar 24, 2014
Wonderful trip

We were very pleased with the accommodations at this resort. The staff was fairly unhelpful and... See full review

  • hearts alabama
  • Apr 7, 2014
Swank new condos on a sugar white beach, minutes from Gulf State Park
One of the newer additions to the Orange Beach area, Escapes! to The Shores opened in 2008. The condominium resort fuses the conveniences of a hotel (front desk, on-site fitness center) with the luxuries of home (a kitchen or kitchenette in every unit, grills down by the beach). Guests choose from three room types -- one-bedroom studio, two-bedroom condo or three-bedroom condo -- and enjoy access to the on-site swimming pools (one inside, one out), whirlpool, sauna, steam room and beach. The resort sits on the Emerald Coast, steps from the Gulf.
Highlights
  • Beachfront property overlooking the Gulf of Mexico
  • Two swimming pools and a whirlpool
  • Sauna and steam room onsite, plus a state-of-the-art fitness center
Location
Escapes! to The Shores sits right on the beach, just outside Gulf State Park and about halfway between Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. Pensacola is a 45-minute drive away, and various attractions lie within easy reach, including the National Museum of Naval Aviation (23 miles) and Fort Morgan (25 miles).
Rooms
Escapes! to The Shores offers three types of units: one-bedroom studio, two-bedroom condominium and three-bedroom condominium. All feature modern comforts (granite countertops, flat-screen TVs) and the latter two come with spacious balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
Features
Escapes! to The Shores has two swimming pools: one indoors and one out. Guests may also soak in the on-site whirlpool. Shiny new grills adorn the outdoor patio at the resort and are available for guest use. Escapes! to The Shores also boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center, plus a sauna and steam room.
Transportation
  • Jack Edwards Airport (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Pensacola Regional Airport (31 mi/49.9 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (70 mi/112.7 km)
Attractions
  • Gulf of Mexico (0 mi/0 km)
  • Gulf State Park (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast & Visitors Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • The Wharf (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Craft Farms (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • National Museum of Naval Aviation (22.7 mi/36.5 km)
  • Fort Morgan (25.1 mi/40.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • Please note that the minimum age required at check-in is 21. Guests unaccompanied by an individual 25 years or older are required to pay a damage deposit of $500 USD. This deposit is fully refundable at check-out upon inspection of the room.
  • Office hours are as follows: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Sunday through Friday, and 8 a.m.- 8 p.m. Saturday.
  • Please note, pets are not allowed on the property.
  • No boats, trailers or RVs may be parked at the resort.
  • Early check-outs will not result in partial refunds. Check-in is at 4 p.m. and check-out is at 10 a.m. Please check-in at lobby on level 3. If you are checking in after hours or find our offices closed, please call 1-251-979-5040 as prominently posted on our office door.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Escapes to The Shores also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Escapes to The Shores Rooms

1 bedroom/1 bathroom studio
One bedroom units are compact, and do not include balconies or have an ocean view, but are a great choice for the value-conscious traveler who prefers to spend most of their time at the pools or on the beach. These rooms are fantastic but do not have a view of the Gulf.
2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo
Spacious and ultra luxurious, these fully appointed vacation homes include granite countertops, flat screen TV in living and bedrooms, DVD, broadband, 4 head showers, large balconies facing the Gulf, washer and dryers, and more.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Escapes to The Shores

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 79
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tammy Noble
Business
Arab, Alabama
May 8, 2014

Not as expected

The over all hotel itself isn't bad, but they draw you in for features that once you arrive, you realize they haven't kept up and no longer works. The outdoor fireplace has been broken for months, per the manager & they just can't find parts. Hmm... Really? The refrigerator had to be fixed because it was warm & the air conditioning got fixed but stopped again after running for about 23 hours. Now, I WILL say, the technicians were FABULOUS! They came within minutes of being called & were so nice & helpful! They even followed up after a couple of hours to check on the progress of their fixes! Bless them for it seems they work day & night (the AC man came at midnight when we couldn't take the heat any longer & called). BUT, the management and desk staffed seemed irritated to be bothered with our needing help and even when we wanted to pay to upgrade our room, they didn't take the time to look before dismissing us. I won't return nor stay at another Escapes establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You MUST try the Orange Beach Parasailing & dine at the GULF ISLAND GRILL & Café GRAZIE!! So Wonderful!! <3

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denise beach lover
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
May 17, 2013

Beautiful beach, room not so nice

This resort was located on the beautiful Orange Beach in Alabama, but our room was in need of maintenance. Carpet in bedroom was dirty with many stains. The walls in the 1 bedroom unit were all marked with scuffs and fingerprints, there was a hole in the closet door and fridge had strong odor of chemical cleaner. Also, wi fi was not working. None of these problems were corrected after we reported them to staff. Management told us that they were in process of making changes to maintenance and management of this resort. Resort did have easy access to the beautiful white sand beach and was convenient to many good restaurants. Would highly recommend resort if problems are corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to excellent dining, great golf courses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mak C63
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 7, 2012

Good location and amenities

Stayed 2 nights. Not a place to stay longer because condo walls are thin and there are lots of noisy kids around.. Also, rooms are not especially clean. Very expensive for the quality level

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Louisiana Lagniappe restaurant and Shrimp shack have excellent quality food and good happy hour specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brdy
Business
Columbus, GA
Nov 26, 2011

Just book the Two Bedroom

The difference is not to be believed. You will not want to go ANYWHERE. We stayed here last trip and, to be different, booked another new hotel. We thought better of it, remembering the wonderful kitchen, and cancelled the other. Was not sorry. We cooked our own T-giving dinner and felt a world away from the rat-race. Peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trisha1214
Business
Fairhope, AL, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Beautiful views

The room was enormous. Great views from the balcony of the Gulf. It would have been a perfect weekend get away if we would have had access to any of the amenities. The hot tub, sauna, steam room were all of limits because of maintenance, repairs. It smelled so bad we couldn't use the pool either! It would have been nice to have been told ahead about the closing since this was one of the main reasons we picked this place. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some great dining options that don't break the bank nearby. Steamer restaurant at the marina was great and the prices were unbeatable. Duck diner near the wharf was a perfect breakfast spot, a little pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MOST SATISFIED
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Very satisfied customer!!!!

This was the top of the line condo. We will definately tell our friends and family about our stay and will definately come again. The room was very upscale and very clean and comfortable. This was one of the most relaxing vacations that my husband and I have been on and with the white sand beaches you can't get any better than this. LOVED IT :) Did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike427
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Relaxing Getaway

My wife and I stayed here and all we wanted to do was relax on the beach and thats what we got. The workout facilities were above par for hotels as well, steam room, sauna, and hot tub, great bonuses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tefman
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 28, 2011

My time of my life!!!!

The room was spotless and very modern and comfortable. The staff was very nice and wen out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The view of the beach was amazing!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange Beach, Al
Jun 29, 2010

Escapes to the Shores, Orange Beach, AL

The only complaint I have is that the description said we had an Ocean view. We did not have an ocean view, the only window we had was out into the hallway. When we asked the hotel staff about this issue we were told oh you must have one of our studio rooms, they are all like that. They also told us we could upgrade our room but there would be a charge. Other than being lied to on the description and the hotel trying to charge us to upgrade our room to what it should have been in the first place, We had a very nice trip. Also ice machine is located on the ground floor. very inconvienient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Only food after 11pm is Waffle House of The Keg.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
6th Anniversary Couple
Business
Thibodaux, LA
Jun 7, 2010

Great getaway - will plan to go again!

We were looking for a getaway to just relax and do nothing - this provided it. We were able to check in early, walk on the beach and lay by the pool and on the beach and when afternoon showers rolled in, we were able to read on the balcony - it was wonderful! It was not overly crowded and all staff were friendly and helpful. I definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great restaurant directly across from the condo - it was a great night out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top