$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Escapes to The Shores

3 stars
24060 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
79 reviews
Great Location

The location is perfect just walk out to the beach. The hotel pool was great for the kids since the... See full review

  • Tammyandkids
  • Mar 24, 2014
Wonderful trip

We were very pleased with the accommodations at this resort. The staff was fairly unhelpful and... See full review

  • hearts alabama
  • Apr 7, 2014
Swank new condos on a sugar white beach, minutes from Gulf State Park
One of the newer additions to the Orange Beach area, Escapes! to The Shores opened in 2008. The condominium resort fuses the conveniences of a hotel (front desk, on-site fitness center) with the luxuries of home (a kitchen or kitchenette in every unit, grills down by the beach). Guests choose from three room types -- one-bedroom studio, two-bedroom condo or three-bedroom condo -- and enjoy access to the on-site swimming pools (one inside, one out), whirlpool, sauna, steam room and beach. The resort sits on the Emerald Coast, steps from the Gulf.
Highlights
  • Beachfront property overlooking the Gulf of Mexico
  • Two swimming pools and a whirlpool
  • Sauna and steam room onsite, plus a state-of-the-art fitness center
Location
Escapes! to The Shores sits right on the beach, just outside Gulf State Park and about halfway between Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. Pensacola is a 45-minute drive away, and various attractions lie within easy reach, including the National Museum of Naval Aviation (23 miles) and Fort Morgan (25 miles).
Rooms
Escapes! to The Shores offers three types of units: one-bedroom studio, two-bedroom condominium and three-bedroom condominium. All feature modern comforts (granite countertops, flat-screen TVs) and the latter two come with spacious balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
Features
Escapes! to The Shores has two swimming pools: one indoors and one out. Guests may also soak in the on-site whirlpool. Shiny new grills adorn the outdoor patio at the resort and are available for guest use. Escapes! to The Shores also boasts a state-of-the-art fitness center, plus a sauna and steam room.
Transportation
  • Jack Edwards Airport (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Pensacola Regional Airport (31 mi/49.9 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (70 mi/112.7 km)
Attractions
  • Gulf of Mexico (0 mi/0 km)
  • Gulf State Park (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast & Visitors Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • The Wharf (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Craft Farms (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • National Museum of Naval Aviation (22.7 mi/36.5 km)
  • Fort Morgan (25.1 mi/40.4 km)
Policies and fees
  • Please note that the minimum age required at check-in is 21. Guests unaccompanied by an individual 25 years or older are required to pay a damage deposit of $500 USD. This deposit is fully refundable at check-out upon inspection of the room.
  • Office hours are as follows: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Sunday through Friday, and 8 a.m.- 8 p.m. Saturday.
  • Please note, pets are not allowed on the property.
  • No boats, trailers or RVs may be parked at the resort.
  • Early check-outs will not result in partial refunds. Check-in is at 4 p.m. and check-out is at 10 a.m. Please check-in at lobby on level 3. If you are checking in after hours or find our offices closed, please call 1-251-979-5040 as prominently posted on our office door.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Escapes to The Shores also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Escapes to The Shores Rooms

1 bedroom/1 bathroom studio
One bedroom units are compact, and do not include balconies or have an ocean view, but are a great choice for the value-conscious traveler who prefers to spend most of their time at the pools or on the beach. These rooms are fantastic but do not have a view of the Gulf.
2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo
Spacious and ultra luxurious, these fully appointed vacation homes include granite countertops, flat screen TV in living and bedrooms, DVD, broadband, 4 head showers, large balconies facing the Gulf, washer and dryers, and more.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Escapes to The Shores

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tercow
Business
Alabama
Dec 31, 2013

Family visit

Visiting extended family with adult daughter. Surprised that unit in ill-repair. Needed paint, new linens, extreme cleaning, drywall repair (holes made with door knob). Furniture had "body odor" and comforters on beds were worn and appeared dirty. Washed extra linens in the closet for use. This was a repeat visit to Escapes and our first experience was quite different. We plan another family trip to Orange Beach/Gulf Shores but will not stay at Escapes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Flippers a nice dinning experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Girly Arkansas Girl
Business
Arkansas
May 8, 2014

NO BALCONY AS PROMISED. OBZ DID NOT MAKE IT RIGHT!

First thing I asked for when booking my room from Obz was a balcony and 2 beds. When we arrived we didn't get a balcony. We had one bed and a fold out couch. I was hoping the resort would give us the room we were promised but was unable to. We were told that it happen's all the time to people booking thur obz My sister met a guy on the beach and the same thing happened to him and his family. Doesn't look good for you company Obz. Over all it was a nice Resort but we will not being using Obz to book our next Girls Trip to the Beach that's for sure. ( Wasn't impressed by Marcell your customer service rep). Security at the hotel said they stayed until 1am and then after that your on your own. Not really something 4 women want to here really. No shower curtains in our room. Was told we could purchase some and they would pay us back for them. lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HoBa
Business
Rockville, MD
Feb 28, 2011

Never again!

All the 1 Bedroom Studios have no window to the outside. It is really dark and no good place for young children. The hotel management was absolutly no help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KY
Aug 3, 2009

THe sleep impossible vacation!

i bedroom ended up being interior studio - that was doable however the furniture in the living area was so small that my 150 lb husband and I could not sit comfortably on the couch as it was so shallow; the AC unit was extremely noisy which made it very, very difficult to sleep. The 2-3 bedrooms may have been better but I cannot recc the 1 bedroom units.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wharf Lazy River

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dragongirl
Business
Huntsville, Al
Aug 25, 2011

Lacking Something

The room is very spacious, and initially clean. However, the room is never cleaned while being occupied, not even to empty the trash. Air conditioning unit is VERY loud and tends to wake you up at night. Need to come into the 21st century and get WiFi. Had eithernet cord offered, but the cord is only about a foot long so have to crouch by the outlet in order to use your laptop. Location was wonderful, right on the beach. Hotel was obviously very nice when first opened, but the maintenance has not been kept up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mak C63
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 7, 2012

Good location and amenities

Stayed 2 nights. Not a place to stay longer because condo walls are thin and there are lots of noisy kids around.. Also, rooms are not especially clean. Very expensive for the quality level

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Louisiana Lagniappe restaurant and Shrimp shack have excellent quality food and good happy hour specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denise beach lover
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
May 17, 2013

Beautiful beach, room not so nice

This resort was located on the beautiful Orange Beach in Alabama, but our room was in need of maintenance. Carpet in bedroom was dirty with many stains. The walls in the 1 bedroom unit were all marked with scuffs and fingerprints, there was a hole in the closet door and fridge had strong odor of chemical cleaner. Also, wi fi was not working. None of these problems were corrected after we reported them to staff. Management told us that they were in process of making changes to maintenance and management of this resort. Resort did have easy access to the beautiful white sand beach and was convenient to many good restaurants. Would highly recommend resort if problems are corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to excellent dining, great golf courses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tammy Noble
Business
Arab, Alabama
May 8, 2014

Not as expected

The over all hotel itself isn't bad, but they draw you in for features that once you arrive, you realize they haven't kept up and no longer works. The outdoor fireplace has been broken for months, per the manager & they just can't find parts. Hmm... Really? The refrigerator had to be fixed because it was warm & the air conditioning got fixed but stopped again after running for about 23 hours. Now, I WILL say, the technicians were FABULOUS! They came within minutes of being called & were so nice & helpful! They even followed up after a couple of hours to check on the progress of their fixes! Bless them for it seems they work day & night (the AC man came at midnight when we couldn't take the heat any longer & called). BUT, the management and desk staffed seemed irritated to be bothered with our needing help and even when we wanted to pay to upgrade our room, they didn't take the time to look before dismissing us. I won't return nor stay at another Escapes establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You MUST try the Orange Beach Parasailing & dine at the GULF ISLAND GRILL & Café GRAZIE!! So Wonderful!! <3

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jul 7, 2009

Great place, but probably won't return

This place is very nice. Our room (a one-bedroom) was beautiful and the perfect size for our family of 3. We loved the pools, both indoor and outdoor, and enjoyed the proximity to the beach. I was worried that the room would be dark with only one window facing the interior hall. However, directly in front of the window, across the hall, was a window facing the outside. That helped give us a "view" and some natural light. We were on the 6th floor. However, we will not return. The AC is located in the bedroom and it made an AWFUL noise every time it went on and off. While the AC was on, it did make normal AC noise, and that did not bother us. But, every time it came on or off, it made an awful drilling-like noise. Because of this, we will not return. Maybe other units do not have this noise, but it is not worth the risk for us. There are plenty of other places in the area to try. If you take away the AC noise, we would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Escapes to The Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta ga
May 27, 2009

Cave Dwelling

We visit Orange Beach, yearly, this was just a quick 2 night drop by, we were looking for cheap room on beach. We did not book beach front. Rooms window, looked onto interior hallway.View thru hall was to outside window, looking onto 2nd floor of parking deck. The hall light shown thru window all night, could not block out. Air conditioner unit was located in closet of bedroom area, extremely noisy. Was listed as a 1 bedroom condo, it was the guest suite of a larger condo, and shared a common entry with them. Each time they went in and out, we got to here the entry door slam shut.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top