$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

3 stars
301 GOVERNMENT STREET, MOBILE, AL 36602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
27 reviews
Weekend get away

Could not ask for a better place to stay. The staff went out of their way to help you. Will stay... See full review

  • Perry2u
  • Sep 23, 2013
Great Hotel; Great Location

This hotel was perfect for my stay in downtown Mobile. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and... See full review

  • hdbox
  • Mar 19, 2013
Come experience the newly renovated Holiday Inn Mobile Downtown Historic District located in the heart of the Government and Entertainment District . Situated just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB) , our hotel is also eight blocks from the Mobile Bay Convention Center . Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular local attractions. Next door to our hotel you'll find the Mobile Carnival Museum and within a few blocks is the Gulf Coast Exploreum Science Center and IMAX Theater. The USS Alabama is a short drive and other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel include the Mobile Zoo, Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses such as Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail Magnolia Grove Golf Course . We are located just steps from historic Dauphin Street which features dozens of shops, popular clubs, restaurants, and galleries. Many businesses and facilities are within close proximity including Austal USA, the Brookley Aeuroplex Signal Shipyard, and BAE Systems. Within blocks of the hotel, the GulfQuest National Maritime Museum is set to open in Spring of 2014.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.6892 -88.044
Nearby airports
Mobile Regional Airport, (MOB), 14.00, MI; Pensacola Regional, (PNS), 50.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Mobile Alabama Cruise Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Ladd Peebles Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Mitchell Center: 1,995.6 mi

Dining

Spot of Tea
Casual cafe.
Heroes Sports Bar
Sports Bar and restaurant.
Skyview Lounge
This casual, rooftop lounge overlooks the beautiful Mobile Bay and offers a wide variety of great drink specials.
Heros
Local sports bar serving local southern foods

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Overall score

3.8 / 5
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
Work Hotel Home
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2012

Service makes a difference

From the warm greeting when I checked in, to the special accommodation when the shuttle was busy, every employee was willing to assist and provide solutions during my stay. The room was comfortable with a beautiful view of the city. There is a nice skybar also with pretty views of downtown and the port. Words of experience for future travelers: Coffee drinkers: there isn't a flavored creamer anywhere in the hotel. (Let's keep asking management to at least offer them for sale in the little shop.) There is a nice lobby to relax in, and all the equipment was working in the gym. The hotel shuttle is supposed to be available for a 13 mile radius only. It's about $45 to get to the airport. Just a few minutes away are several good seafood restaurants. Tacky Jack's was a good choice for casual food and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the causeway for multiple dinner choices on the water.

Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
amanda travels a lot
chicago
Jun 11, 2012

convenient spot for events

very helpful, friendly staff. when it was raining they used the hotel shuttle to get me to an event within walking distance. my room was quiet with a nice view. lovely lobby. overall really great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

serda's coffee

Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
Saxdude
Business
Alabama
Apr 15, 2012

Good for my purpose of business trip. Good location

Easy check-in and out. Our room was not made up our last day there which was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
digit
alabama
Jan 10, 2012

awsome one-night stay

We stayed on new years eve to celebrate with friends. I could not have asked for better. Also the skylounge is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

3
LadyAustin
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Staff Needs Improvement

The staff needs to work on their customer service. At check in the clerk at the desk just seemed like he wanted to be anywhere but where he was. He was not welcoming at all. At check out a different clerk proceded to argue with me over who I had booked the hotel through even though I had the printed out receipt with me. You don't argue with your customer and the condescending tone that he took was so awful. It's a good location, good price, but until the staff greatly improves I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Nashville
Dec 4, 2010

Just Fine

The hotel couldn't get any better for a Holiday Inn. I didn't expect too much so it lived up to my expectations. The staff was super friendly and helpful and I enjoyed my stay overall. They didn't even charge me for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

5
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Birmingham, AL
Nov 30, 2010

great choice

We go to Mobile annually to enjoy the seafood and do some sightseeing, including Biloxi. This hotel is excellently located both for Mobile and access to the freeway system. The hotel staff was friendly, the restaurant served good food, and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spot of Tea is a great choice for any meal. The food is excellent, and the staff is attentive.

Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

2
NorCalTraveller
Sonoma, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Pretty Good

My girlfriend and I were looking at homes in the area with hopes of relocating one day and we chose the Holiday Inn for our stay over night. We've stayed and Holiday Inns before and were fairly impressed with everything, but this time we were less than overwhelmed by our stay. The staff was efficient, though not overly friendly (very business like). Although its location is perfect for touring the historic downtown district, I will not return to this particular hotel for three reasons: (1) the rather unenthusiastic staff, (2) the bedding was very uncomfortable, and (3) for the amount of money you spend for your stay, there will be a $7 charge to park your car. I will not be returning to this particular hotel upon my return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to Daupine Street and the historic center of town. If you're planning on staying at this particular property, I suggest you enroll (for free) in their "Premier Club" to avoid parking charges.

Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Pensacola, Florida
Jun 2, 2010

Holiday Inn DT Mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Orleans, La
Apr 26, 2010

Weeken out

This was an impressive Holiday Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and inviting. My only complaint is that friends book the same hotel much cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn MOBILE-DWTN/HIST. DISTRICT

Reviewer score

4
Paula and Kris
St.Bernard, La
Apr 21, 2010

Couples Retreat

The Holiday Inn is in the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. with a great sidewalk cafe just a block away you can enjoy breakfast near the park. The atmosphere at the Skybar was great and the service was good. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpfull and always smiling they get an A+ for hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top