$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2015 Check-out: Apr 18, 2015

The Westin Huntsville

4 stars
View map of 6800 Governors West, NW, 6800 Governors West, NW, Huntsville, AL 35806

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Huntsville

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Heyjude1316
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 4, 2013

Couple's Vacation

The staff was very friendly and the roomies amazing. I loved the dual head shower so nice on a cold weekend. I wish they offered more food options that weren't so expensive. But other than that the place was great. We loved that it is in bridgestreet which allowed us to walk to most attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is always a long wait at the restaurants in bridgestreet on fri and sat night so get there early or try to make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Another wrongfullyaccused
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 5, 2012

Another Wrongfully Accused? Is offending guests a new trend?

This Westin gets many things right, especially their banquet/meeting events. But they get so very much of it wrong. The staff is friendly, but they are not well-trained. Right after this location opened, I was quite impressed. (I do not impress easily.) The staff was trained well & the service was great. -I'm speaking from experience, as I used to spend a few nights here every 6 weeks or so. After 6 months, the service began to deteriorate, and now? Even the managers appear to be poorly trained, if they're trained at all. This applies to hotel and restaurant/bar/room service management. -Room Service, while polite, has been consistently poor since the beginning. I too, was accused of being too loud, at 9:00pm, which is when I first arrived and was simply talking to the person with me. And I may have been laughing as well. Oh dear! The accusations that followed were simply astounding. –If it wasn’t so absurd, it would be funny. So, I usually am not a complainer. I didn't even complain when I found out my favorite valet was attempting to teach a new valet to drive a stick shift in MY new sportscar. It was not a one-time event, as he later told me that this type of fun occured on several of my stays. So, lesson learned. I, like many people I know, will no longer enjoy the lovely service of valet parking. The hotels in downtown Huntsville might not have the nearby shopping, restaurants or a movie theater, but Big Spring Park is lovely and the hotels' have consistently nice and respectful staff members. And the Providence area has the restaurants and great service, but no beautiful park or the fun shopping. It’s really too bad about the Westin. I was looking forward to purchasing one of the gorgeous penthouse suites next spring, with my new business partners. But we’re now looking in other areas & I’m sure we’ll find something that is well-managed and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Connor's is an amazing steakhouse! They even crack your crablegs for you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FAH4
Business
Murphy, Texas
Jul 3, 2012

Beautiful Location

The hotel is difficult to reach as you have to go to the end of a shopping center and the navigation systems will get you lost. Once you are there it is all worth it. It is adjacent to a shopping center with everything you could want. Beautiful views of the mountains, and there is a nice pool. Complimentary Starbucks coffee in the dining room. Only complaint is that there are no vending machines on any floor so no convenient way to get soft drinks. The shopping center is on a man made canal with canoe and gondola rides. Just an incredible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Coopers is a Huntsville mecca and for good reason. Great food. You will need reservations in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuliaM
Business
Noble, IL
Jun 4, 2012

Great location! Great hotel!

Best place to stay in Huntsville! Great location, lots of nice shopping. Beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhmeg23
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Stellar in Many Ways

What a beuatiful hotel with an exceptionally clean room. The concierge and front desk staff were always helpful and available. KUDOS! The only negative to mention is that the restaurant staff often seemed overwhelmed and disattentive. There was an elderly woman at the cash register in the restaurant who was less than friendly. This is in stark contrast to services provided by other employees at the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Jun 14, 2011

Disappointing

This is the first time my wife and I traveled with her dog. The hotel says they are pet friendly, but you have to sign a paper that says you will not leave your dog in your room unattended. They also don't offer any dogsitting service, so you're SOL. Since you can't go eat, shop or go to the wedding we were there to attend and leave the dog in the room, we had to, at the last minute, find a daycare for the dog. Next time, I'll ask more questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville al
Apr 24, 2011

Awesome location

The hotel was really nice and in a very good location. Near 3 malls, one in walking distance. Tons of activities for the whole family in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BamaMatt
Business
Oxford, Al
Oct 21, 2010

Great Room and Stay

From the moment we pulled into The Westin parking lot we were in awe of the grand building and rooms. After walking into the hotel we were greeted with friendly faces and smiles. Our room was excellent, the beds and furniture were in excellent condition and the bathroom was immaculate. I don't think we could have asked for a better room or location to stay in during our visit to Huntsville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cantina Laredo cheese dip is spicy salsa and cheese dip are to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, AL
Aug 30, 2010

Night way in our own backyard

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at the Westin, Huntsville. The bellman was friendly and helpful, the check in process was speedy, the bed was great, room was quiet, and the towels plentiful and soft. The restaurant was oustanding at dinner and for the breakfast bar, too. Our mini-bar was not stocked and we did not have any information in the room about hotel services or a notepad for writing information down. In addition, there were several small issues that we brought to the manager's attention. They were VERY quickly addressed once noted. We sincerely appreciated their concern and their willingness to ensure that anything amiss would be corrected. That is what you expect from the the management of a 4 star hotel and they responded as hoped. In short, we had a great stay and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous great dining options in Bridgestreet. Don't overlook the Sage Grill. The martinis were just right and the fried pickles and roasted root vegetable sald a nice surprise. The shrimp and scallops with grits are a don't miss in our book.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Enterprise, AL
Aug 30, 2010

I had to pay for wi-fi

The location was perfect. Shopping and dining within a few feet of the hotel. The staff top-notch; however, they charge to use the internet. I have never seen such a thing like at any hotel. The hotel has a contemporary layout, but I did expect more for the price. Other than the inconveniene of being without my internet, my stay was quite enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost connected to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top