$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

3 stars
3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
131 reviews
getaway trip

It was a good trip the hotel staff are really nice an very helpful the rooms r nice the only thing... See full review

  • butcher 1
  • Dec 10, 2013
Enjoyable Stay

Loved the location of this hotel. It was in close proximity to the beach, shopping, and other... See full review

  • Running The Roads
  • Jul 31, 2014
Freshly renovated rooms and free breakfast in Gulf Shores
Fresh off a 2008 renovation, Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores offers rooms for surprisingly low rates. Its Highway 59 location makes a convenient stopover for road-trippers (Interstates 10 and 65 are both accessible). And with the beach 3.5 miles away and numerous restaurants and attractions close by, the hotel also beckons for longer stays. Guests might, for example, go deep-sea fishing one day, and explore the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo the next. This property also has a few draws of its own -- namely, an on-site fitness center and an outdoor pool.
Highlights
  • All rooms and suites renovated in 2008
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and 24-hour coffee service
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • Three-and-a-half miles from the beach
Location
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores is conveniently located on Highway 59, 3.5 miles north of the Gulf Coast and next door to the Colonial Pinnacles shopping center. Myriad attractions lie within five minutes of the hotel, including Waterville U.S.A., the Alabama Gulf Shores Zoo, Gulf State Park, and the Wharf.
Rooms
All 64 rooms and suites of the Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores were renovated in 2008. Expect the rooms to be fresh and clean (light walls and linens, spotless bathrooms) and cozy, too (bay window seats in every room). All rooms come with free Wi-Fi, and suites feature additional amenities like sleeper sofas and wet bars.
Features
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores serves free continental breakfast every morning and complimentary coffee around the clock. Numerous restaurants lie within a mile of the hotel, from Longhorn Steakhouse to the famous LuLu's at Homeport Marina. The hotel has an outdoor pool and a fitness center on-site, with free weights, cardiovascular machines and a television. Equipped with a whiteboard, telephones and free Wi-Fi, the on-site meeting room can accommodate groups of up to 35. Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores has guest laundry facilities on-site.
Transportation
  • Mobile Regional Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Pinnacle shopping, dining and entertainment center (adjacent)
  • Craft Farms Arnold Palmer Golf Courses (adjacent)
  • LuLu's Restaurant and live music venue (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Track Amusement Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • The Wharf (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Fishing (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf Coast (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

Hotel Map

30.2931 -87.6833
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 131
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I love elevators
Orange Beach, AL
Aug 10, 2014

I would only stay here if you like bed bugs!

We had two rooms. The part of our group that stayed in the other room got bit by bed bugs. The hotel has two buildings. We were put on the second floor of the building that doesn't have an elevator! Gee that was fun hauling heavy luggage up and down the STAIRS. This is the ONLY hotel I have ever stayed at that had more than one floor without an elevator. Microtel needs to think about installing at least one because guests could have accidents dragging heaving luggage up and down the stairs. Two in our group had knee trouble and having to climb stairs aggravated their knees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jammer5635
Hattiesburg, MS
Jul 25, 2014

Worst Hotel Experience Ever !!!

This is by far the worst Hotel experience I have ever had the dissatisfaction at staying at. I was taking my girlfriend and her two young daughters to the beach in Gulf Shores. Upon checking in I was greeted by Nick and to his left was the so called manager Andrew. Nick checked me into room #262 and explained the way to get there. Upon opening room #262, my girlfriend accompanied by her two daughters got to see a naked male guest getting out of his shower. All I saw was a man’s rear. He was overly apologetic and embarrassed, but we were in his room. The desk clerk, Nick, in his infinite wisdom had given us someone else’s room key. Ours was supposed to be room #263. The so-called Hotel Manager Andrew offered no consolation except that they could contact O_ _ _ _ z since we didn’t book through them. The housekeeping staff did not change and wash our sheets every night. They simply just made the bed, because one of the girls had gotten strawberry poptart on the sheets and they lazily made the bed back up. The outside of the hotel was very appealing and clean. The rooms were small, cramped. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the tv was one of the large old style. The pool pic was highly distorted because it was a very small pool with no bathroom area in the middle of the lawn, so little kids had no where to use the bathroom, but probably in the pool. To top it off, it was rather embarrassing to explain to a five year old why she couldn’t play with her new gold wrapped balloon she had just found on the side of her bed, labeled as Magnum. This place need an Overhaul and I NEED a REFUND! $631.22

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend of mom of groom
New Orleans, LA
Apr 15, 2013

last minute wedding plans

We had read some negative reviews so we were a little leery when we first arrived.The hotel turned out to be satisfactory, thankfully. It was not fancy or plush but we didn't pay for fancy and plush. It was not squeaky clean but not filthy either. We actually checked for bed bugs, etc. because of the previously mentioned reviews. We had not asked about pet policy before booking but thought we remembered that they were pet accepting. When we told them we had pets, it was just a $25 pet fee., which was lower than any others we had come across.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lambert's

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeOh
Gulf Shores, AL
Aug 6, 2012

Musty room and bed sheets very stained

They room was very musty and damp. Also the sheets in the room were very stained. I am praying they were really washed and it was just stains anyway. NASTY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rebelmom
Thorsby, al
Jun 20, 2012

Quality not worth cost

Very misled on the website of this motel. No microwave in room, no coffee pot in the room (as stated on site)......all r in the lobby for everyone's use. In building where main lobby is no elevator.....ice machine on our floor was out of order the entire stay when go to other floor they were out! Room was ok clean just looked run down which makes it appear unclean! The stay was in good location and staff was friendly.....but overall I could've paid $100 more & stayed at a nice condo the cost was way to much for the quality of the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyddy
Shreveport, LA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Visitwith friends

It was okay. You get what you pay for. Would have liked refrigerator. No extra bathroom tissue. Almost ran out before we got more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to eat at Lamberts Home of the Throwed rolls. That is always our first stop.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warrior, AL
May 24, 2011

Very good location for price

We visited shops in the area as well as sites. Of course the beach was a daily visit for us. There was nothing missing in the room that we needed for our stay. I have been in nicer places as far as decorations but no nicer in cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Please visit the Oyster House for excellent fresh fish and trimmings.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
albany la
May 16, 2011

The bad and the ugly

The hotel was clean, but it was a horrible stay. The manager was not very friendly. We had problems checking in and had to wait an hour before we could get someone there. Our jewelry was stolen out of our room. They denied it and was not very helpful. The only good part of the hotel was the cleanliness of the room and the guy at the front desk named nicholas, he was very friendly and helpful. He made the stay enjoyable. There is a lot to do around there just stay somewhere else. The free breakfast was horrible and stale. The free wifi didn't work the entire time we spent there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lamberts: awesome!!!!

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stressed workaholic
Monyg,.Al
Apr 11, 2011

Rooms okay,BUT!!

This was a getaway from stress weekend. And thoughthe ck-in was not totally stress free, things did get better furhter into wkend. [...]. The first thing you notice was the DIRTY carpet in the hallway and trash elevators. Then upon arrival in room there was NO SOAP to wash your hands after using the toilet and the washcloths were dirty!! Very disappointed with that. I did get replacement washcloths when I contacted the front desk. And when we went to dinner and came back someone had picked up the trash in the elevator, but NOT vaccumed.I had a queen suite and though the room was clean and a decent size,the bed WAS NOT COMFORTABLE. The continental breakfast was good variety of finger foods and the 24hr coffee was a definite plus(much better quaility than that in the rooms). No.1 question: Would I stay again or recommend it? Only after checking other facilities first for comparable rates & service and found them lacking or too expensive. Then I'd at least be prepared about what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tangers outlet. lots of places to shop and some fairly decent prices. A word of advice go to the food court before you start shopping and get the availble coupons. They had books for $5 & a free sheet w/4-10to20% coupons on it. But I didn't find out til After I'd been to 3 stores.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ga
Apr 25, 2010

Gulf Shores Microtel

No problems. Friendly staff at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Big "O's" resturant...great food nice porch to look out.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search