$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

3 stars
3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
122 reviews
getaway trip

It was a good trip the hotel staff are really nice an very helpful the rooms r nice the only thing... See full review

  • butcher 1
  • Dec 10, 2013
Greatness!

This hotel was a definitely for travels. Loved the setup. The staff was efficient. It's only a few... See full review

  • 20Something Traveller
  • Feb 4, 2013
Freshly renovated rooms and free breakfast in Gulf Shores
Fresh off a 2008 renovation, Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores offers rooms for surprisingly low rates. Its Highway 59 location makes a convenient stopover for road-trippers (Interstates 10 and 65 are both accessible). And with the beach 3.5 miles away and numerous restaurants and attractions close by, the hotel also beckons for longer stays. Guests might, for example, go deep-sea fishing one day, and explore the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo the next. This property also has a few draws of its own -- namely, an on-site fitness center and an outdoor pool.
Highlights
  • All rooms and suites renovated in 2008
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and 24-hour coffee service
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • Three-and-a-half miles from the beach
Location
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores is conveniently located on Highway 59, 3.5 miles north of the Gulf Coast and next door to the Colonial Pinnacles shopping center. Myriad attractions lie within five minutes of the hotel, including Waterville U.S.A., the Alabama Gulf Shores Zoo, Gulf State Park, and the Wharf.
Rooms
All 64 rooms and suites of the Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores were renovated in 2008. Expect the rooms to be fresh and clean (light walls and linens, spotless bathrooms) and cozy, too (bay window seats in every room). All rooms come with free Wi-Fi, and suites feature additional amenities like sleeper sofas and wet bars.
Features
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores serves free continental breakfast every morning and complimentary coffee around the clock. Numerous restaurants lie within a mile of the hotel, from Longhorn Steakhouse to the famous LuLu's at Homeport Marina. The hotel has an outdoor pool and a fitness center on-site, with free weights, cardiovascular machines and a television. Equipped with a whiteboard, telephones and free Wi-Fi, the on-site meeting room can accommodate groups of up to 35. Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores has guest laundry facilities on-site.
Transportation
  • Mobile Regional Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Pinnacle shopping, dining and entertainment center (adjacent)
  • Craft Farms Arnold Palmer Golf Courses (adjacent)
  • LuLu's Restaurant and live music venue (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Track Amusement Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • The Wharf (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Fishing (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf Coast (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

30.2931 -87.6833
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Overall score

3.1 / 5
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
BRANDON MS.
Aug 3, 2009

AVERAGE hotel...

(3) false fire alarms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
TOTO Tugg
Mobile, AL
Aug 2, 2009

Great Getaway

My friends and I went to Gulf Shores from Mobile for a concert at the Hangout. We just needed somewhere close to stay so we could relax before that night and get ready but also so we didn't have to drive back so late at night. We also wanted somewhere affordable that was close to the beach but also close to the shopping outlets. The location was perfect. It was like 5 min away from everything. Upon check in there was plenty of staff to keep the flow going and they were very friendly. They explained the basic rules and asked if we needed directions to any of our destinations. Being from the area I didn't but I can see how if you are from out of town that would be very helpful. The room was very nice and very clean. They have access to the external doors only by room key card and that was great to see also. When we got back to the room at 3:00 am we needed some extra blankets and they were right there within 4 min. I go to concerts down there all the time and will be staying there every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a mall, Pelican Place, that is just down the street that has some great shops and great dining.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Arkadelphia, AR
Jul 28, 2009

Clean place to stay!

The hotel was fine. My next visit to the area I will pay the extra and stay right on the beach. I want to stay a week next time!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I found a short cut to the newly opened State Park beach. Take the first left after crossing the bridge and then a right at the light take a sharp curve to the left and follow the road to the light and straight through is the pier and beach!!!! Beats the stop and go of the strip!!!!!

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
Mr. Matrix
Crowley, Texas
Jul 28, 2009

Great Location excellent price

The location was great! In the morning we would go to the beach and in the afternoon we would go to the Tanger outlet in Foley to shop. There were a lot of little kids staying, I think for a little league baseball tournament. It was a little noisy with kids running up and down the hallways. Overall it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resturaunts were pretty crowded. You need to get there early 5ish or after 8.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
pot2052000
rienzi, ms.
Jul 21, 2009

good location for the price

check in was not smooth i am glad i took my confrimation letter from orbitz web sight. once we got through that things started to smooth out. probaly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New Iberia, LA
Jul 20, 2009

Great Location for the Beach Bum!

GREAT LOCATION! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very small, but the bed was pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
louies mom
Tuscaloosa, AL
Jul 9, 2009

the good , the bad

We were there last year and had the impression, the hotel was more clean the last time. The floor in the elevator was dirty for days, our room was not really clean when we moved in. Bed was not made the following day, they just changed towles. [...] from the reception was very profesionell with our complaines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hangout is a great location to dine and have some fun. Live music is also provided. It is direct at the beach.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
Brandyle10
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 6, 2009

You will not be disappointed!

I will be honest, I was less than excited about the fact that I would not be walking out my door and stepping onto the beach. I have always stayed in a gulf front unit. Looking back now at all the times I payed hundreds upon hundreds of extra dollars just so I could open my door and see the ocean, I feel like a FOOL! The Microtel is 5 minutes from the water! The location is PERFECT. The service I received from the staff is the kind I would only have expected to receive from a hotel with a 5 diamond rating. We arrived on Friday July 3rd and [...] greeted us at the front desk with a big smile, friendly, warm attitude, called me by my name and was ready to accommodate. WOW! I was shocked. I was expecting the type of front desk hotel attendant I had encountered so many times in the past which was the lethargic, unenthusiastic, grouchy lady that looked unkept and didn't seem to care if I was there or not. [...] was far from anything I had ever encountered at a 2 star hotel. I was very impressed and feeling like this might not be such a bad stay after all. Saturday morning we went down for the complementary breakfast and again I was shocked. The variety and presentation was once again something I would not have expected from a 2 star hotel. I had cereal with low-fat milk, orange juice, a banana nut muffin and an apple. PERFECT in my book of breakfasts. I was fueled and ready to hit the beach! While my friends and I were playing in the sun, eating fresh seafood and shopping, [...] was cleaning our room at the Microtel. My friends and I range in ages from 24 to 30 years and sadly we are a bit on the messy side. When we returned back to our room and I walked in our room I was yet again, shocked. [...] had cleaned up all of our messes including the bathroom sink which was left with covered with various toiletries scattered from beginning to end. [...] removed everything off the counter, cleaned the counter then returned each item lined-up one after the other, organized by height. The beds were made with fresh linens, the bathroom was filled with fresh linens and the clothes we left laying all over the place had been folded and stacked neatly on the dresser. I WAS SPEECHLESS. I went downstairs to thank her in person and she said "Oh honey your so welcome, that's my job and I like doing it the best I can." I am a paralegal and I work with and around people that spend years becoming trained and certified in high paying positions and I have never heard that from any of my colleagues. I was very impressed with the Microtel in Foley Alabama and I will never again pay the extra $$$ to stay directly on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlet mall in Foley is the best shopping you can get anywhere in the U.S.!

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Madison,ms
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

Great location! We stayed in the new hotel and it was very nice and clean! Small pool though and just an average breakfast bar, other than that we really enjoyed staying here while in gulfshores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved tanger outlet mall!!

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
Happy On The Beach
Birmingham, AL
Jul 5, 2009

Great Value

I chose this hotel because it was close to the beach. The rooms were clean and the beds were extra soft. The carpet in the hallways needed to be vacummed more often. Word of advice--if you stay at this hotel please request the newer wing in the back. The older portion of the hotel is not as clean. The pool is tiny and there are no balconies in the rooms. Overall, the hotel is a very good choice, and is not too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top