$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2015 Check-out: Feb 24, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

3 stars
3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
132 reviews
getaway trip

It was a good trip the hotel staff are really nice an very helpful the rooms r nice the only thing... See full review

  • butcher 1
  • Dec 10, 2013
Enjoyable Stay

Loved the location of this hotel. It was in close proximity to the beach, shopping, and other... See full review

  • Running The Roads
  • Jul 31, 2014
Freshly renovated rooms and free breakfast in Gulf Shores
Fresh off a 2008 renovation, Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores offers rooms for surprisingly low rates. Its Highway 59 location makes a convenient stopover for road-trippers (Interstates 10 and 65 are both accessible). And with the beach 3.5 miles away and numerous restaurants and attractions close by, the hotel also beckons for longer stays. Guests might, for example, go deep-sea fishing one day, and explore the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo the next. This property also has a few draws of its own -- namely, an on-site fitness center and an outdoor pool.
Highlights
  • All rooms and suites renovated in 2008
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and 24-hour coffee service
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • Three-and-a-half miles from the beach
Location
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores is conveniently located on Highway 59, 3.5 miles north of the Gulf Coast and next door to the Colonial Pinnacles shopping center. Myriad attractions lie within five minutes of the hotel, including Waterville U.S.A., the Alabama Gulf Shores Zoo, Gulf State Park, and the Wharf.
Rooms
All 64 rooms and suites of the Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores were renovated in 2008. Expect the rooms to be fresh and clean (light walls and linens, spotless bathrooms) and cozy, too (bay window seats in every room). All rooms come with free Wi-Fi, and suites feature additional amenities like sleeper sofas and wet bars.
Features
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores serves free continental breakfast every morning and complimentary coffee around the clock. Numerous restaurants lie within a mile of the hotel, from Longhorn Steakhouse to the famous LuLu's at Homeport Marina. The hotel has an outdoor pool and a fitness center on-site, with free weights, cardiovascular machines and a television. Equipped with a whiteboard, telephones and free Wi-Fi, the on-site meeting room can accommodate groups of up to 35. Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores has guest laundry facilities on-site.
Transportation
  • Mobile Regional Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Pinnacle shopping, dining and entertainment center (adjacent)
  • Craft Farms Arnold Palmer Golf Courses (adjacent)
  • LuLu's Restaurant and live music venue (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Track Amusement Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • The Wharf (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Fishing (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf Coast (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DTown, Al
Mar 7, 2010

Average at best

Rooms were very small and not that well arranged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MONTGOMERY, AL
Feb 21, 2010

BATES MOTEL

This hotel is nothing like the picture on the website. The room was smaller then my bathroom. There was a bad odor in and out of the room. Too much noise all around the room. I had not sleep, I felt like I was at the Bates Motel, waiting for someone to come into my room to scare me. I hated my stay. I wish I could get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adult pluripotent stem cell doc
Business
Macon, GA
Dec 1, 2009

Unbeatable location for the Price

Stayed in new section. Sheets were so soft, between flannel and regular, easily 1300-1500 thread count per square inch. Made for restful sleep. Good location - halfway between beaches and shopping malls. Previously, stayed with in-laws because of cost. Much better at Microtel Inn Gulf Shores, more freedom to do what we wanted to do when we wanted to do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Still not up to snuff after last two hurricanes, but coming around slowly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alabama
Nov 10, 2009

small but great!

i have stayed at this microtel before and will stay here again- the rooms are small of course but they are neat and clean and priced right so that makes them perfect in my book. had a great time :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Sep 4, 2009

Clean accomodations

This hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, and it was convenient to shopping and the beach. I rented what was supposed to be a suite which usually has a seperate sitting area. The suite did not have any sitting area. They had taken out the table and chairs, and closet area, added a wardrobe cabinet, put the TV on top of the wardrobe near the ceiling, added a fridge and microwave and a window seat(a cushion over the air conditioner). This so called suite was a dissapointment for the money. I was greatful for a clean comfortable bed. Make sure you don't forget shampoo. This room comes with no frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A dining experience for seafood will be aprx. 3 Miles back toward the beach. Lulu's is great for sandwiches or lunch which is a little less than a mile and on the intercostal waterway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ttds
Business
Slidell, la
Sep 2, 2009

Great staff

The staff was Great,,, Rooms are littte small but not bad for the money.. Wish the coffe in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roe
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 31, 2009

I thought it was overpriced.

Hotel was overpriced for the small room. There were no extras, such as shampoo, lotions or a coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
saggagyal
Business
Birmingham, AL
Aug 25, 2009

Good Value for the Price

At check-in, the CSR told us that we were only booked for one night and that we would have to go through Orbitz to straighten out the situation. It appeared to me that she just hadn't read the itinary carefully because she then quickly blamed the error on a new person who entered the information. We also had to ask for another set of towels even though they had the correct number of people that would be staying in the room. The room itself was a little small, but that's not a big deal. Other than this, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in Gulf Shores. The staff were polite and friendly. Not only would I recommend this hotel to my family and friends, but I would stay here again, if ever in the area. We searched extensively and this hotel seemed to be the best value for the money. Shopping (Tangier Outlet) was within a few miles. A lot of stores to choose from, therefore something for everyone. We went to the beach, also within a few miles, and swam in the pool which was clean and maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine at Doc's Seafood Shack and Oyster Bar(just over the bridge on the left heading toward the beach). Patrons of Microtel Inn & Suites get 10% off their bill. (Just tell the waitress). As a bonus, the food is absolutely delicious, it's reasonably priced and you get your fill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T white
Business
Memphis, Tn
Aug 23, 2009

Everyone was helpful. great stay !

We went to the beach, water parks, and near by shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
meridian,ms
Aug 9, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

This is a great place for a great price especially if your on a budget. It is only three miles from the beach and five miles from the Tanger Outlet Mall. The room was really nice and clean. THe only complaint i had was the noise. The people in the next room were loud and you could hear anything that was going on out in the hallway.But it will not keep me from coming back again. We really had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5 minute drive to the Tanger outlet mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top