$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

3 stars
3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
132 reviews
getaway trip

It was a good trip the hotel staff are really nice an very helpful the rooms r nice the only thing... See full review

  • butcher 1
  • Dec 10, 2013
Enjoyable Stay

Loved the location of this hotel. It was in close proximity to the beach, shopping, and other... See full review

  • Running The Roads
  • Jul 31, 2014
Freshly renovated rooms and free breakfast in Gulf Shores
Fresh off a 2008 renovation, Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores offers rooms for surprisingly low rates. Its Highway 59 location makes a convenient stopover for road-trippers (Interstates 10 and 65 are both accessible). And with the beach 3.5 miles away and numerous restaurants and attractions close by, the hotel also beckons for longer stays. Guests might, for example, go deep-sea fishing one day, and explore the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo the next. This property also has a few draws of its own -- namely, an on-site fitness center and an outdoor pool.
Highlights
  • All rooms and suites renovated in 2008
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and 24-hour coffee service
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
  • Three-and-a-half miles from the beach
Location
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores is conveniently located on Highway 59, 3.5 miles north of the Gulf Coast and next door to the Colonial Pinnacles shopping center. Myriad attractions lie within five minutes of the hotel, including Waterville U.S.A., the Alabama Gulf Shores Zoo, Gulf State Park, and the Wharf.
Rooms
All 64 rooms and suites of the Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores were renovated in 2008. Expect the rooms to be fresh and clean (light walls and linens, spotless bathrooms) and cozy, too (bay window seats in every room). All rooms come with free Wi-Fi, and suites feature additional amenities like sleeper sofas and wet bars.
Features
Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores serves free continental breakfast every morning and complimentary coffee around the clock. Numerous restaurants lie within a mile of the hotel, from Longhorn Steakhouse to the famous LuLu's at Homeport Marina. The hotel has an outdoor pool and a fitness center on-site, with free weights, cardiovascular machines and a television. Equipped with a whiteboard, telephones and free Wi-Fi, the on-site meeting room can accommodate groups of up to 35. Microtel Inn And Suites Gulf Shores has guest laundry facilities on-site.
Transportation
  • Mobile Regional Airport (34.6 mi/55.7 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Pinnacle shopping, dining and entertainment center (adjacent)
  • Craft Farms Arnold Palmer Golf Courses (adjacent)
  • LuLu's Restaurant and live music venue (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Track Amusement Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • The Wharf (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Fishing (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Gulf Coast (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warrior, AL
May 24, 2011

Very good location for price

We visited shops in the area as well as sites. Of course the beach was a daily visit for us. There was nothing missing in the room that we needed for our stay. I have been in nicer places as far as decorations but no nicer in cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Please visit the Oyster House for excellent fresh fish and trimmings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany la
May 16, 2011

The bad and the ugly

The hotel was clean, but it was a horrible stay. The manager was not very friendly. We had problems checking in and had to wait an hour before we could get someone there. Our jewelry was stolen out of our room. They denied it and was not very helpful. The only good part of the hotel was the cleanliness of the room and the guy at the front desk named nicholas, he was very friendly and helpful. He made the stay enjoyable. There is a lot to do around there just stay somewhere else. The free breakfast was horrible and stale. The free wifi didn't work the entire time we spent there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lamberts: awesome!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Right Way
Business
Tuscaloosa, ALR
May 15, 2011

Family getway

The beach was a short drive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Apr 25, 2011

Great place!

The microtel was in a great location. Convenient to shopping, attractions, and the beach. Only one night was a little rowdy but in our room the noise level was not a problem. Out only complaint was that maid service began around 930am. They were very nice and courteous, just a little early for our vacation schedule. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stressed workaholic
Business
Monyg,.Al
Apr 11, 2011

Rooms okay,BUT!!

This was a getaway from stress weekend. And thoughthe ck-in was not totally stress free, things did get better furhter into wkend. [...]. The first thing you notice was the DIRTY carpet in the hallway and trash elevators. Then upon arrival in room there was NO SOAP to wash your hands after using the toilet and the washcloths were dirty!! Very disappointed with that. I did get replacement washcloths when I contacted the front desk. And when we went to dinner and came back someone had picked up the trash in the elevator, but NOT vaccumed.I had a queen suite and though the room was clean and a decent size,the bed WAS NOT COMFORTABLE. The continental breakfast was good variety of finger foods and the 24hr coffee was a definite plus(much better quaility than that in the rooms). No.1 question: Would I stay again or recommend it? Only after checking other facilities first for comparable rates & service and found them lacking or too expensive. Then I'd at least be prepared about what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tangers outlet. lots of places to shop and some fairly decent prices. A word of advice go to the food court before you start shopping and get the availble coupons. They had books for $5 & a free sheet w/4-10to20% coupons on it. But I didn't find out til After I'd been to 3 stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 11, 2011

A Casual Review

This was a fishing trip. The hotel physically was not in the best interest of a fisherman. The rooms were small and with no elevator, most of my fishing equipment has to remain in my vehicle which was not a good idea. I was located on the second floor which led me to this decision. An item left in me vehicle was a better chance than having a bad back trying to carry bulky heavy items to the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This location put me within short striking distance of the places I wanted to fish. With the price of petrol over $3 per gallon, I did get some savings by only having to fill up once during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Apr 8, 2011

familytime

Hotel was clean. Breakfast was not good. Pool was closed for repairs. Not good for two kids wanting to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson,ms
Apr 1, 2011

gulf shores

While there has been some renovations done, the entire hotel is not renovated as the website would lead you to believe. The employees were nice, the free breakfast was ok. We had to get moved to the renovated part which was just slightly better than the non-renovated part. Overall, the trip was good.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Mar 24, 2011

Just OK!

The bed spreads looked liked they had recently been laid on. We were in the building behind the main one, there were missing items for breakfast like juice the first morning then nothing at all, not even coffee the 2nd morning. I arrived early around 1PM and tried to check in but was told to come back at 3PM so there was a line out the door when it was time to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great beach, very clean white sand with easy access from public parking area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southaven, MS
Mar 13, 2011

Tolerable, but Not Great

First when we get to the hotel we walk in with our bags to check in and are told we are in the 2nd building. We have to take our bags back to the car and pull around to the other building. When we get to the room it wasnt what we had booked, 1 Queen bed, it was 2 Queen beds, which I suppose is an upgrade but still incorrect. The bathroom had soap, but no shampoo or conditioner, the shower pressure was terrible, the toilet lid was broken, and the towels felt like sand paper. The room itself wasnt bad and it was a good price, but it just should have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top