$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

3 stars
View map of 3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donna the Explorer
Business
New Iberia, LA
Jun 10, 2011

Microtel Inn

The service at this hotel was awful. When we arrived at 12:30 in the morning we had no toilet tissue in our room and only two washcloths. There were four people in the room. The continental breakfast is cereal. That's it. The second day there was no milk for the cereal. There were also no coffee cups and coffee in the back building where we were staying. Most of the staff was not friendly at all. It looked like the elevator had not been vacuumed in a month. We could not even tell housekeeping had come except for the clean towels. We had made the beds before we left. I overheard many guest complaining about the same things. The best thing about this place was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warrior, AL
May 24, 2011

Very good location for price

We visited shops in the area as well as sites. Of course the beach was a daily visit for us. There was nothing missing in the room that we needed for our stay. I have been in nicer places as far as decorations but no nicer in cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Please visit the Oyster House for excellent fresh fish and trimmings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany la
May 16, 2011

The bad and the ugly

The hotel was clean, but it was a horrible stay. The manager was not very friendly. We had problems checking in and had to wait an hour before we could get someone there. Our jewelry was stolen out of our room. They denied it and was not very helpful. The only good part of the hotel was the cleanliness of the room and the guy at the front desk named nicholas, he was very friendly and helpful. He made the stay enjoyable. There is a lot to do around there just stay somewhere else. The free breakfast was horrible and stale. The free wifi didn't work the entire time we spent there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lamberts: awesome!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Right Way
Business
Tuscaloosa, ALR
May 15, 2011

Family getway

The beach was a short drive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Apr 25, 2011

Great place!

The microtel was in a great location. Convenient to shopping, attractions, and the beach. Only one night was a little rowdy but in our room the noise level was not a problem. Out only complaint was that maid service began around 930am. They were very nice and courteous, just a little early for our vacation schedule. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stressed workaholic
Business
Monyg,.Al
Apr 11, 2011

Rooms okay,BUT!!

This was a getaway from stress weekend. And thoughthe ck-in was not totally stress free, things did get better furhter into wkend. [...]. The first thing you notice was the DIRTY carpet in the hallway and trash elevators. Then upon arrival in room there was NO SOAP to wash your hands after using the toilet and the washcloths were dirty!! Very disappointed with that. I did get replacement washcloths when I contacted the front desk. And when we went to dinner and came back someone had picked up the trash in the elevator, but NOT vaccumed.I had a queen suite and though the room was clean and a decent size,the bed WAS NOT COMFORTABLE. The continental breakfast was good variety of finger foods and the 24hr coffee was a definite plus(much better quaility than that in the rooms). No.1 question: Would I stay again or recommend it? Only after checking other facilities first for comparable rates & service and found them lacking or too expensive. Then I'd at least be prepared about what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tangers outlet. lots of places to shop and some fairly decent prices. A word of advice go to the food court before you start shopping and get the availble coupons. They had books for $5 & a free sheet w/4-10to20% coupons on it. But I didn't find out til After I'd been to 3 stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 11, 2011

A Casual Review

This was a fishing trip. The hotel physically was not in the best interest of a fisherman. The rooms were small and with no elevator, most of my fishing equipment has to remain in my vehicle which was not a good idea. I was located on the second floor which led me to this decision. An item left in me vehicle was a better chance than having a bad back trying to carry bulky heavy items to the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This location put me within short striking distance of the places I wanted to fish. With the price of petrol over $3 per gallon, I did get some savings by only having to fill up once during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Apr 8, 2011

familytime

Hotel was clean. Breakfast was not good. Pool was closed for repairs. Not good for two kids wanting to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson,ms
Apr 1, 2011

gulf shores

While there has been some renovations done, the entire hotel is not renovated as the website would lead you to believe. The employees were nice, the free breakfast was ok. We had to get moved to the renovated part which was just slightly better than the non-renovated part. Overall, the trip was good.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Mar 24, 2011

Just OK!

The bed spreads looked liked they had recently been laid on. We were in the building behind the main one, there were missing items for breakfast like juice the first morning then nothing at all, not even coffee the 2nd morning. I arrived early around 1PM and tried to check in but was told to come back at 3PM so there was a line out the door when it was time to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great beach, very clean white sand with easy access from public parking area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top