$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

3 stars
View map of 3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
meridian,ms
Aug 9, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

This is a great place for a great price especially if your on a budget. It is only three miles from the beach and five miles from the Tanger Outlet Mall. The room was really nice and clean. THe only complaint i had was the noise. The people in the next room were loud and you could hear anything that was going on out in the hallway.But it will not keep me from coming back again. We really had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5 minute drive to the Tanger outlet mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BRANDON MS.
Aug 3, 2009

AVERAGE hotel...

(3) false fire alarms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TOTO Tugg
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 2, 2009

Great Getaway

My friends and I went to Gulf Shores from Mobile for a concert at the Hangout. We just needed somewhere close to stay so we could relax before that night and get ready but also so we didn't have to drive back so late at night. We also wanted somewhere affordable that was close to the beach but also close to the shopping outlets. The location was perfect. It was like 5 min away from everything. Upon check in there was plenty of staff to keep the flow going and they were very friendly. They explained the basic rules and asked if we needed directions to any of our destinations. Being from the area I didn't but I can see how if you are from out of town that would be very helpful. The room was very nice and very clean. They have access to the external doors only by room key card and that was great to see also. When we got back to the room at 3:00 am we needed some extra blankets and they were right there within 4 min. I go to concerts down there all the time and will be staying there every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a mall, Pelican Place, that is just down the street that has some great shops and great dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkadelphia, AR
Jul 28, 2009

Clean place to stay!

The hotel was fine. My next visit to the area I will pay the extra and stay right on the beach. I want to stay a week next time!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I found a short cut to the newly opened State Park beach. Take the first left after crossing the bridge and then a right at the light take a sharp curve to the left and follow the road to the light and straight through is the pier and beach!!!! Beats the stop and go of the strip!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Matrix
Business
Crowley, Texas
Jul 28, 2009

Great Location excellent price

The location was great! In the morning we would go to the beach and in the afternoon we would go to the Tanger outlet in Foley to shop. There were a lot of little kids staying, I think for a little league baseball tournament. It was a little noisy with kids running up and down the hallways. Overall it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resturaunts were pretty crowded. You need to get there early 5ish or after 8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pot2052000
Business
rienzi, ms.
Jul 21, 2009

good location for the price

check in was not smooth i am glad i took my confrimation letter from orbitz web sight. once we got through that things started to smooth out. probaly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Iberia, LA
Jul 20, 2009

Great Location for the Beach Bum!

GREAT LOCATION! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very small, but the bed was pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
louies mom
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Jul 9, 2009

the good , the bad

We were there last year and had the impression, the hotel was more clean the last time. The floor in the elevator was dirty for days, our room was not really clean when we moved in. Bed was not made the following day, they just changed towles. [...] from the reception was very profesionell with our complaines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hangout is a great location to dine and have some fun. Live music is also provided. It is direct at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandyle10
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jul 6, 2009

You will not be disappointed!

I will be honest, I was less than excited about the fact that I would not be walking out my door and stepping onto the beach. I have always stayed in a gulf front unit. Looking back now at all the times I payed hundreds upon hundreds of extra dollars just so I could open my door and see the ocean, I feel like a FOOL! The Microtel is 5 minutes from the water! The location is PERFECT. The service I received from the staff is the kind I would only have expected to receive from a hotel with a 5 diamond rating. We arrived on Friday July 3rd and [...] greeted us at the front desk with a big smile, friendly, warm attitude, called me by my name and was ready to accommodate. WOW! I was shocked. I was expecting the type of front desk hotel attendant I had encountered so many times in the past which was the lethargic, unenthusiastic, grouchy lady that looked unkept and didn't seem to care if I was there or not. [...] was far from anything I had ever encountered at a 2 star hotel. I was very impressed and feeling like this might not be such a bad stay after all. Saturday morning we went down for the complementary breakfast and again I was shocked. The variety and presentation was once again something I would not have expected from a 2 star hotel. I had cereal with low-fat milk, orange juice, a banana nut muffin and an apple. PERFECT in my book of breakfasts. I was fueled and ready to hit the beach! While my friends and I were playing in the sun, eating fresh seafood and shopping, [...] was cleaning our room at the Microtel. My friends and I range in ages from 24 to 30 years and sadly we are a bit on the messy side. When we returned back to our room and I walked in our room I was yet again, shocked. [...] had cleaned up all of our messes including the bathroom sink which was left with covered with various toiletries scattered from beginning to end. [...] removed everything off the counter, cleaned the counter then returned each item lined-up one after the other, organized by height. The beds were made with fresh linens, the bathroom was filled with fresh linens and the clothes we left laying all over the place had been folded and stacked neatly on the dresser. I WAS SPEECHLESS. I went downstairs to thank her in person and she said "Oh honey your so welcome, that's my job and I like doing it the best I can." I am a paralegal and I work with and around people that spend years becoming trained and certified in high paying positions and I have never heard that from any of my colleagues. I was very impressed with the Microtel in Foley Alabama and I will never again pay the extra $$$ to stay directly on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlet mall in Foley is the best shopping you can get anywhere in the U.S.!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison,ms
Jul 6, 2009

Great location!

Great location! We stayed in the new hotel and it was very nice and clean! Small pool though and just an average breakfast bar, other than that we really enjoyed staying here while in gulfshores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved tanger outlet mall!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top