$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 23, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

BEST WESTERN on the Beach

3 stars
337 E Beach Boulevard, P O Box 398, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
49 reviews
Our stay

We were very pleased with the motel. The room was big and the beds were great, they felt like... See full review

  • Keg32
  • Nov 1, 2013
Birthday getaway

My husband and I had a great time at this hotel. It was my birthday and we wanted to relax on the... See full review

  • stiles family
  • Aug 21, 2014
Rooms with a view: Beachfront lodging in Gulf Shores, Ala.
As the only major chain hotel on the Gulf Shores coast, Best Western on the Beach lets guests stay by the water without blowing their vacation budget. The AAA Two Diamond retreat overlooks the Gulf of Mexico from the edge of a white-sand beach, and offers rooms with street or ocean views (all come with private balconies). Guests can rent beach chairs and umbrellas during the warmer months, and the indoor heated pool stays open year-round. Gulf waters aside, other nearby attractions include Waterville U.S.A., Sunland Amusement Park and Lake Shelby.
Highlights
  • Prime beachfront location
  • Indoor heated pool and two hot tubs
  • On-site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch
  • Private balconies for every room
Location
Best Western on the Beach sits on the white-sand coast of Gulf Shores, Ala., about 10 miles south of downtown Foley and a mile from Gulf State Park.
Rooms
All guest rooms and suites at Best Western on the Beach come with private balconies and street or Gulf of Mexico views. Guests can also count on a microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi.
Features
Best Western on the Beach is a AAA Two Diamond hotel. The on-site restaurant, Island Pancake House, serves American fare for breakfast and lunch (think sandwiches, burgers, omelets, and, of course, pancakes). The hotel has an indoor heated pool with two hot tubs. There is also an outdoor, kid-friendly pool. During the warm season, lifeguards watch over the beach area and Best Western on the Beach guests can rent chairs and umbrellas.
Transportation
  • Pensacola Regional Airport (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (60 mi/96.6 km)
Attractions
  • Gulf Coast (0 mi/0 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. Water and Amusement Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sunland Amusement Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Zooland Animal Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Shelby (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Gulf State Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Range Beach Marina (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Zeke's Marina (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Center (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • On-site public computer and printer, located in the lobby
  • Complimentary fax and copy services available (inquire at the front desk)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN on the Beach also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN on the Beach Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,BATHTB,OCEAN,NSMK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,KITCHENETTE,OCEANFRONT
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
2 KING BEDS
2 KING BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEAN FRONT
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,JETTED TUB,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,STREET VIEW,STUDIO,KICHENETTE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Island Pancake House
Island Pancake House, on premises, American,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery Alabama
Sep 11, 2009

Way below avarage

They were very accomodating but the hotel needs to be blown up and start again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jun 12, 2009

BEWARE!! DO NOT STAY HERE

The staff was horrible. They do not know what customer service is. My family was put in a smoking room, after requesting non-smoking. My son had a Asthma attack because of the smoke and unhealthy room conditions. We had to go to the ER and then home so we could be close to his doctor in the AM. The General Manager did not care at all. They not only would not credit us the stay of give us a credit, but we're nasty on top of it. The GM told us he was the "VP" of this Best Western?! He then said he would give us a $50 credit because we were nice and did not yell at him? He said if we yelled at him he would give us nothing. And I ask....WHO IS THE CUSTOMER???!!! We will never stay there again, I am a Hilton/Marriot brand customer all the way now. A better hotel would have given us a credit, the whole experience ruined our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ellisville, ms
Sep 8, 2009

Not the best place to stay on the beach

The hotel is located at a great place on the beach, the rooms were ok for the price but as one other person had said, tou can just about count the layers of paint peeling off the walls, some of the staff would not even speak when spoken too. Unlike most hotels on the beach, they have no boardwalk so when you rinse the sand off your feet returning from the beach, it is useless cause you must step right back into it and take it back to your room. And what little walk they do have is covered in app. 2 feet in sand.I just think that it would pay to have some much needed upgrades done to assure return guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure that if you travel with kids to visit the tracks park.Very fun, for the whole family

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Dec 14, 2010

OK hotel

When to Gulf Shores for my Birthday, Got the suite at the hotel. The room could have used some updating...It wasn't extremly bad, but could have been clean a little more and kind of outdated. Staff was really nice. And the breakfast house is extremly OVERPRICED!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon,Ms.
Dec 2, 2009

A big surprise

My wife and I were planning to cook our thanksgiving diner at the hotel,what a surprise ,no stove,no pots,no pans,nothing to eat or cook with. My understanding of a kitchenette is to be furnished with the above. We had plans to stay 4 nights, we stayed 1,and left at 5:30 am the next morning. The staff was really nice and helpful, it was just not what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cookeville, TN
Oct 3, 2008

Not so great

The room was ok, but poor quality furnishings and upkeep. The bath room was so small, my husband could not move around. (He is tall but not big.) The room had a kitchenette, but no dishes, utensils or pots and pans. We waited over an hour before anyone even noticed we were seated at our table in the resurant.--Than was after being ignored in line to be seated. We were about to leave when the man behind us got angry--we were seated right away after that, but the angry man and his party was waited on long before we were. I will go to Gulf Shores again, but will not stay at this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Xmrchndize
Business
Houma, LA
Jun 15, 2009

Great getaway!

We had a great time in Gulf Shores. The hotel is clean and the staff were very friendly. You could tell the hurricans have taken a toll on the hotel. We didn't go to the beach to spend all of our time in the hotel anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bulldog mamma
Business
Greenbrier, AR 72058, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Fun Birthday Stay

IT was really perfect for just a weekend stay. I loved being able to get coffee at the Pancake house at no charge (a big surprize!!) and having the kichenette was GREAT!! loved being able to walk to the shops and little eating places on the beach!! The staff at the front desk were nice but not anything out of the ordinary but the staff at the Pancake house and the cleaning crew were very sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LuLu's was a good atmosphere but this stay I was disappointed in the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Imjenbunny
Business
Gulfport, Mississippi
Nov 29, 2012

Budget hotel

I last minute decided to go out of town. I booked this trin in gulf shores because it was on lulu like a hour and a half away. I brought my 3 year old niece with me and thought an indoor pool was great! The pool was still freezing but we just used the hot tub anyway and that was fine. This hotel is clearly old. I saw them renovating some stuff but throwing a coat of paint isn't really renovating the rest. Our bath tub was awful you couldn't sit in it. Try telling a three year old no you have to take a shower because the bath tub isn't suitable to sit in. The staff wasn't awful but I asked a lady at the front desk where is a good place to eat 2 of the 3 places she said were closed down. The hotel was in a good location but I imagine during peak times the price is higher and I would sleep in a tent before I would pay much more than $50 for a room there. Above all it was average not cleaned well hotel. And the water made my skin break out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

King Neptunes on 59 was the best food I had. Everything in gulf shores is over priced but I felt these people knew how to actually cook seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IndplsMom
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 25, 2012

On the beach, but not the best

Incentives: Cheaper hotel if you look at it being ON the beach with indoor pool and hot tub. Beds were comfortable. Problems: Our first room didn't have hot water. Our "2 queen beds was actually one queen and one full size. The elevator frequently went out. The receptionist was rude the first night, but became more hospitable. On site food was good (loved the grits). Indoor pool was freezing; hot tub barely circulated water and basically felt like a warm bath. Kitchens did not have plates, silverwear, pots or anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was great, despite poor service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top