$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

BEST WESTERN on the Beach

3 stars
337 E Beach Boulevard, P O Box 398, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Our stay

We were very pleased with the motel. The room was big and the beds were great, they felt like... See full review

  • Keg32
  • Nov 1, 2013
Restful Stop

Spotlessly clean room, comfortable beds. Bathroom very small but acceptable and very clean.Loved... See full review

  • DonErnJoa
  • Mar 7, 2013
Rooms with a view: Beachfront lodging in Gulf Shores, Ala.
As the only major chain hotel on the Gulf Shores coast, Best Western on the Beach lets guests stay by the water without blowing their vacation budget. The AAA Two Diamond retreat overlooks the Gulf of Mexico from the edge of a white-sand beach, and offers rooms with street or ocean views (all come with private balconies). Guests can rent beach chairs and umbrellas during the warmer months, and the indoor heated pool stays open year-round. Gulf waters aside, other nearby attractions include Waterville U.S.A., Sunland Amusement Park and Lake Shelby.
Highlights
  • Prime beachfront location
  • Indoor heated pool and two hot tubs
  • On-site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch
  • Private balconies for every room
Location
Best Western on the Beach sits on the white-sand coast of Gulf Shores, Ala., about 10 miles south of downtown Foley and a mile from Gulf State Park.
Rooms
All guest rooms and suites at Best Western on the Beach come with private balconies and street or Gulf of Mexico views. Guests can also count on a microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi.
Features
Best Western on the Beach is a AAA Two Diamond hotel. The on-site restaurant, Island Pancake House, serves American fare for breakfast and lunch (think sandwiches, burgers, omelets, and, of course, pancakes). The hotel has an indoor heated pool with two hot tubs. There is also an outdoor, kid-friendly pool. During the warm season, lifeguards watch over the beach area and Best Western on the Beach guests can rent chairs and umbrellas.
Transportation
  • Pensacola Regional Airport (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (60 mi/96.6 km)
Attractions
  • Gulf Coast (0 mi/0 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. Water and Amusement Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sunland Amusement Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Zooland Animal Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Shelby (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Gulf State Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Range Beach Marina (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Zeke's Marina (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Center (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • On-site public computer and printer, located in the lobby
  • Complimentary fax and copy services available (inquire at the front desk)

BEST WESTERN on the Beach Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,BATHTB,OCEAN,NSMK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,KITCHENETTE,OCEANFRONT
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
2 KING BEDS
2 KING BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEAN FRONT
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,JETTED TUB,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,STREET VIEW,STUDIO,KICHENETTE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

30.2493 -87.6817
Area served
Foley, Mobile, Pensacola
Nearby airports
(PNS), 40.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Dining

Island Pancake House
Island Pancake House, on premises, American,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 18, 2008

Great Access To The Beach

We enjoyed our stay very much at this hotel and would stay there again. It was right on the beach which we really liked. The room was large and very clean. The beach wasn't really crowded. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony. Our only problem with the hotel was the Pancake Restaurant. We went down for breakfast and turned in our order. We waited for over 30 minutes and still no food. We were then informed that there was a party of 18 ahead of us and there was only one cook in the back. We finally ended up getting up and leaving. Other than that our stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There were several souvenier shops close by that we enjoyed shopping in.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 25, 2008

On the beach

The Best Western on the beach was a nice place to stay on the beach. The room had a full size bed and a king size bed in our room, which my son loved since he normally sleeps in a twin. Our room had a complete kitchen with stove, microwave, and refrigerator, but we opt to eat out during our stay. I really didn't want to cook. We did enjoying dining at the pancake house, which was located in our hotel. There was also a heated pool(inside) and an outside pool, but we opt for the beach ( being spring break and all). My son enjoy crab hunting at night along the beach. The location is great- walking distance to many restaurants and gift shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, TN
Sep 20, 2009

2 day beach getaway

Had to go to gulf shores for court so needed a nice and not to expensive hotel on the beach. First thing I liked the most was the clean rooms and of course beachfront view. The beds were amazingly comfortable. Slept like a baby. Cleaning staff made sure to come by every morning to see if we needed our rooms clean. Best Western is also in a great location. Walking distance to everything nearby. Only thing I didnt like was the elevators were slow and one day for a few hours the water was shut off other than that everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 15, 2007

Very Cozy Room

Check-in was quick and easy and the whole family loved the room as soon as we walked in. We all commented on how cozy and clean the room was and we loved the view of the ocean! It was not a good day for the beach so we all enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. It turned out to be a very relaxing birthday weekend for me! I have recommended the hotel to several of my friends and family and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The ocean view room is definitely worth the few dollars extra!

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Dealmaker
Crossville, Alabama
Oct 28, 2009

Best Value on the Beach!!

Superb On the Sand Location. Clean Rooms, Excellent Pancake Breakfast, Value here on Gulf, Trust this One.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Off Season, Limited Activities for Kids.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keg32
Decatur,Al
Nov 1, 2013

Our stay

We were very pleased with the motel. The room was big and the beds were great, they felt like pillowtop matresses were on them. The motel was right on the beach. The staff was friendly.We ate at the resturant one morning and while my husband said his food was good, mine wasn't as good as it could have been as part of it was undercooked. Also it was overpriced.The only thing that could have been better was if I had been able to get a sea view rather then a street view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 8, 2008

Great place to stay

The Best Western on the Beach, Gulf Shores, Alabama is a very nice and convenient place to stay. My boyfriend and I needed a weekend getaway during the winter so we decided to go to the beach, mainly because it's not a far drive and it wouldn't be crowded. The hotel was convenient to dining and shopping. It was very clean plus our room had a balcony, which I really enjoyed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a variety of outlet mall is just a few minutes away.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Dealmaker
Crossville, Alabama
Oct 28, 2009

Best Value on the Beach!!

Superb On the Sand Location. Clean Rooms, Excellent Pancake Breakfast, Value here on Gulf, Trust this One.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Off Season, Limited Activities for Kids.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DonErnJoa
Texas
Mar 7, 2013

Restful Stop

Spotlessly clean room, comfortable beds. Bathroom very small but acceptable and very clean.Loved the charm of this older hotel. Room had balcony and beach view-beautiful. Can't beat the location-right on the beach! Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel restaurant had a delicious breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mikees Seafood

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Randolph, IA
Nov 3, 2008

Excellent Hotel for Price

The Best Western on the Beach was very nice for the price. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. We were close to shopping and places to eat. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several souvenir shops within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top