$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 337 E Beach Boulevard, P O Box 398, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
53 reviews
holiday getaway

Hotel is in a great location. The staff was wonderful. We had a great beachside room. The pancake... See full review

  • Johnetta J.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Birthday getaway

My husband and I had a great time at this hotel. It was my birthday and we wanted to relax on the... See full review

  • stiles family
  • Aug 21, 2014
Is fun, surf and sun all calling your name? You'll be near beaches, warm rays and exciting attractions when staying at this Gulf Shores, AL hotel. You'll hear the serene sounds of the waves while staying at the BEST WESTERN on the Beach, as we're located right on the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico - the surrounding beaches were voted as one of the top three beaches in the world by Southern Living, and also named by NRDC (National Resources Defense Council) as one of only thirteen Super Star Beaches in the nation. In addition Gulf Shores has recently been awarded by Family Fun Magazine as one of the top 10 tourist towns in the U.S., named in the top 10 best beaches for towns and families by Parents Magazine, one of the top 5 "Best Gulf Coast Beaches" by Travel Channel, and an environmental action group rated 200 of the top beach destinations in the U.S. where Gulf Shores and Gulf State Park were among only 13 that received a 5 star rating! During your stay, you can easily enjoy water sports, deep sea fishing and golfing. If you're looking for some retail therapy that won't break the bank, Tanger Outlet Mall is only ten miles away. Make that family trip one to remember - with Waterville USA Water Park, The Hangout, and Zooland Animal Park all within a mile of this Gulf Shores hotel, you'll never be far from adventure and excitement. Gulf State Park, Orange Beach Marina, Lake Shelby, Perdido Bay, Bon Secour Bay & Wildlife Refuge, The Track, Adventure Island, Tanger Outlet Mall, Mobile Bay, and Pensacola Greyhound Racetrack are also nearby. Those looking to discover new things can visit Baldwin Heritage Museum, Pensacola Naval Air Station & Museum, Explorium and Fort Morgan Historical Museum. The relaxation and excitement continues on the property with our two hot tubs, beach access, a kiddie pool, an indoor heated pool, an outdoor beachfront pool and Island Pancake House Restaurant. Get even more value out of your stay with free parking. Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN on the Beach Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,BATHTB,OCEAN,NSMK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,KITCHENETTE,OCEANFRONT
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
2 KING BEDS
2 KING BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEAN FRONT
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,JETTED TUB,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,STREET VIEW,STUDIO,KICHENETTE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Island Pancake House
Island Pancake House, on premises, American,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetravelers
Business
gulf shores Al
Dec 10, 2012

vac ca king

Right on the beach, well kept hotel, very reasonable. We will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DonErnJoa
Business
Texas
Mar 7, 2013

Restful Stop

Spotlessly clean room, comfortable beds. Bathroom very small but acceptable and very clean.Loved the charm of this older hotel. Room had balcony and beach view-beautiful. Can't beat the location-right on the beach! Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel restaurant had a delicious breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mikees Seafood

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keg32
Business
Decatur,Al
Nov 1, 2013

Our stay

We were very pleased with the motel. The room was big and the beds were great, they felt like pillowtop matresses were on them. The motel was right on the beach. The staff was friendly.We ate at the resturant one morning and while my husband said his food was good, mine wasn't as good as it could have been as part of it was undercooked. Also it was overpriced.The only thing that could have been better was if I had been able to get a sea view rather then a street view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Dealmaker
Business
Crossville, Alabama
Oct 28, 2009

Best Value on the Beach!!

Superb On the Sand Location. Clean Rooms, Excellent Pancake Breakfast, Value here on Gulf, Trust this One.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Off Season, Limited Activities for Kids.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 25, 2008

On the beach

The Best Western on the beach was a nice place to stay on the beach. The room had a full size bed and a king size bed in our room, which my son loved since he normally sleeps in a twin. Our room had a complete kitchen with stove, microwave, and refrigerator, but we opt to eat out during our stay. I really didn't want to cook. We did enjoying dining at the pancake house, which was located in our hotel. There was also a heated pool(inside) and an outside pool, but we opt for the beach ( being spring break and all). My son enjoy crab hunting at night along the beach. The location is great- walking distance to many restaurants and gift shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 15, 2007

Very Cozy Room

Check-in was quick and easy and the whole family loved the room as soon as we walked in. We all commented on how cozy and clean the room was and we loved the view of the ocean! It was not a good day for the beach so we all enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. It turned out to be a very relaxing birthday weekend for me! I have recommended the hotel to several of my friends and family and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The ocean view room is definitely worth the few dollars extra!

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2007

very couple getaway friendly

The room had a private balcony with beach front view and only a few yards from the beach. The bathroom was kind of small but very clean. The hotel and the town itself seemed to be more couple and family oriented than a party town for young kids, which is hard to find on the coast these days. The beach was not pack to the point you could not enjoy yourself or the company you were with. Rooms were very accessible and staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The town seemed to be trying to stay away from drawing in the young party crowds which was very nice, so shopping and dining were a little spread out. But there was very good seafood places to eat, within walking distance

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 8, 2008

Great place to stay

The Best Western on the Beach, Gulf Shores, Alabama is a very nice and convenient place to stay. My boyfriend and I needed a weekend getaway during the winter so we decided to go to the beach, mainly because it's not a far drive and it wouldn't be crowded. The hotel was convenient to dining and shopping. It was very clean plus our room had a balcony, which I really enjoyed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a variety of outlet mall is just a few minutes away.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Randolph, IA
Nov 3, 2008

Excellent Hotel for Price

The Best Western on the Beach was very nice for the price. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. We were close to shopping and places to eat. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several souvenir shops within walking distance.

Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2008

Great Access To The Beach

We enjoyed our stay very much at this hotel and would stay there again. It was right on the beach which we really liked. The room was large and very clean. The beach wasn't really crowded. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony. Our only problem with the hotel was the Pancake Restaurant. We went down for breakfast and turned in our order. We waited for over 30 minutes and still no food. We were then informed that there was a party of 18 ahead of us and there was only one cook in the back. We finally ended up getting up and leaving. Other than that our stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There were several souvenier shops close by that we enjoyed shopping in.

Back to menu Return to top