$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN on the Beach

3 stars
337 E Beach Boulevard, P O Box 398, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
48 reviews
Our stay

We were very pleased with the motel. The room was big and the beds were great, they felt like... See full review

  • Keg32
  • Nov 1, 2013
Birthday getaway

My husband and I had a great time at this hotel. It was my birthday and we wanted to relax on the... See full review

  • stiles family
  • Aug 21, 2014
Rooms with a view: Beachfront lodging in Gulf Shores, Ala.
As the only major chain hotel on the Gulf Shores coast, Best Western on the Beach lets guests stay by the water without blowing their vacation budget. The AAA Two Diamond retreat overlooks the Gulf of Mexico from the edge of a white-sand beach, and offers rooms with street or ocean views (all come with private balconies). Guests can rent beach chairs and umbrellas during the warmer months, and the indoor heated pool stays open year-round. Gulf waters aside, other nearby attractions include Waterville U.S.A., Sunland Amusement Park and Lake Shelby.
Highlights
  • Prime beachfront location
  • Indoor heated pool and two hot tubs
  • On-site restaurant serves breakfast and lunch
  • Private balconies for every room
Location
Best Western on the Beach sits on the white-sand coast of Gulf Shores, Ala., about 10 miles south of downtown Foley and a mile from Gulf State Park.
Rooms
All guest rooms and suites at Best Western on the Beach come with private balconies and street or Gulf of Mexico views. Guests can also count on a microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi.
Features
Best Western on the Beach is a AAA Two Diamond hotel. The on-site restaurant, Island Pancake House, serves American fare for breakfast and lunch (think sandwiches, burgers, omelets, and, of course, pancakes). The hotel has an indoor heated pool with two hot tubs. There is also an outdoor, kid-friendly pool. During the warm season, lifeguards watch over the beach area and Best Western on the Beach guests can rent chairs and umbrellas.
Transportation
  • Pensacola Regional Airport (40 mi/64.4 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (60 mi/96.6 km)
Attractions
  • Gulf Coast (0 mi/0 km)
  • Waterville U.S.A. Water and Amusement Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Sunland Amusement Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Zooland Animal Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lake Shelby (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Gulf State Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Range Beach Marina (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Zeke's Marina (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Center (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • On-site public computer and printer, located in the lobby
  • Complimentary fax and copy services available (inquire at the front desk)

BEST WESTERN on the Beach Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LIMITED VIEW,MICROVW,REFRIG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,BATHTB,OCEAN,NSMK
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,KITCHENETTE,OCEANFRONT
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,STREET VIEW,KITCHENETTE
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
2 KING BEDS
2 KING BEDS,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEANFRONT,MICROFRIDGE
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,OCEAN FRONT
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANFRONT,JETTED TUB,MICRFG
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,STREET VIEW,STUDIO,KICHENETTE

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Island Pancake House
Island Pancake House, on premises, American,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Imjenbunny
Business
Gulfport, Mississippi
Nov 29, 2012

Budget hotel

I last minute decided to go out of town. I booked this trin in gulf shores because it was on lulu like a hour and a half away. I brought my 3 year old niece with me and thought an indoor pool was great! The pool was still freezing but we just used the hot tub anyway and that was fine. This hotel is clearly old. I saw them renovating some stuff but throwing a coat of paint isn't really renovating the rest. Our bath tub was awful you couldn't sit in it. Try telling a three year old no you have to take a shower because the bath tub isn't suitable to sit in. The staff wasn't awful but I asked a lady at the front desk where is a good place to eat 2 of the 3 places she said were closed down. The hotel was in a good location but I imagine during peak times the price is higher and I would sleep in a tent before I would pay much more than $50 for a room there. Above all it was average not cleaned well hotel. And the water made my skin break out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

King Neptunes on 59 was the best food I had. Everything in gulf shores is over priced but I felt these people knew how to actually cook seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quietmeadows
Business
Port Huron, MI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Whow! A great experience at Gulf Shores Alabama.

We stayed at the Best Western on the Beach at Gulf Shores, Alabama. We had a room with a balcony facing the white sand beach and incredably clean water. I was so impressed having heard all the horror stories about the Oil Spill. Our room and hotel were older, but very clean. The staff were delightful and the food was great at the Pancake House on site. There were lots of shopping and eat joints within walking distance. Our car made everything accessable including Historic Forts, Homes and Antique Shops to Water Slides and the Little Zoo That Could from Animal Planet. Great vacation for a great price! We'll be back. Michigan Couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Order information from the Chamber of Commerce at least 2 weeks before you plan to book your trip. This gives you ideas of the things you'd like to do. After you have a general idea of what you'd like to spend your vaction doing, THEN book your flight, hotel and car at least 2 months ahead of your vacation to get the best deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bulldog mamma
Business
Greenbrier, AR 72058, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Fun Birthday Stay

IT was really perfect for just a weekend stay. I loved being able to get coffee at the Pancake house at no charge (a big surprize!!) and having the kichenette was GREAT!! loved being able to walk to the shops and little eating places on the beach!! The staff at the front desk were nice but not anything out of the ordinary but the staff at the Pancake house and the cleaning crew were very sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LuLu's was a good atmosphere but this stay I was disappointed in the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momdivine
Business
McCalla, AL, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Gulf Shores Trip

My husband and I rarely get out of town and this was such a great trip! We loved being right on the beach. The Island Pancake house was a bit over priced in our opinion. $40.00 for breakfast is a bit much. they did allow us to share a breakfast and the pancakes were great. My husbad wants to come back. So convinenent to everything. We walked everywhere ! We will go back. Thanks Sandy Campbell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Steamer Grill yummy!!! Will defintley go back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cotrai the Wife
Business
Auburn, AL
Dec 28, 2010

Christmas Vacation

Me and my husband had a great stay here. The hotel location was great and our view was great. Even though the weather was cooler during our stay, we still enjoyed ourselves. We love that the hotel has a small kitchen and a balcany. Wanted to swim in the pool and jaccuzi but we would have to walk outside to get to it in the other buidling and it was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Dec 14, 2010

OK hotel

When to Gulf Shores for my Birthday, Got the suite at the hotel. The room could have used some updating...It wasn't extremly bad, but could have been clean a little more and kind of outdated. Staff was really nice. And the breakfast house is extremly OVERPRICED!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem AL
Oct 31, 2010

Gulf Shores

Enjoyed access to the beach and nearby seafood restaurants. Took car ferry to Dauphin Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 13, 2010

Great time in Gulf Shores Alabama!

We stayed there for the Buffett concert. Great location and the beach was great and the water was wonderful. Beautiful!!! The hotel charged us again for the room after we prepaid online. We realized this after getting home. We had to call them and they said it would take several days to issue the credit. They actually charged us less and it was also less than the price they quoted when we called them direct!! Strange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Apr 10, 2010

Family vacation

Room service would be nice, I would have used it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Throw the Roll Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlmco19
Business
Snead,AL
Feb 20, 2010

Best Western On The Beach Gulf Shores Al

Very quite laid back, nice veiw from balconies and resturant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mikee's Seafood Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top