$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

BEST WESTERN on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 337 E Beach Boulevard, P O Box 398, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IndplsMom
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 25, 2012

On the beach, but not the best

Incentives: Cheaper hotel if you look at it being ON the beach with indoor pool and hot tub. Beds were comfortable. Problems: Our first room didn't have hot water. Our "2 queen beds was actually one queen and one full size. The elevator frequently went out. The receptionist was rude the first night, but became more hospitable. On site food was good (loved the grits). Indoor pool was freezing; hot tub barely circulated water and basically felt like a warm bath. Kitchens did not have plates, silverwear, pots or anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was great, despite poor service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PietroM
Business
JAX
Dec 19, 2012

At the beach

I was just driving through town. Needed a place for the night. Their elevator was out for the wing that I was in. The bed was clean and quite comfortable. Although I was not there for the beach on this trip I definitely would this place to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetravelers
Business
gulf shores Al
Dec 10, 2012

vac ca king

Right on the beach, well kept hotel, very reasonable. We will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Imjenbunny
Business
Gulfport, Mississippi
Nov 29, 2012

Budget hotel

I last minute decided to go out of town. I booked this trin in gulf shores because it was on lulu like a hour and a half away. I brought my 3 year old niece with me and thought an indoor pool was great! The pool was still freezing but we just used the hot tub anyway and that was fine. This hotel is clearly old. I saw them renovating some stuff but throwing a coat of paint isn't really renovating the rest. Our bath tub was awful you couldn't sit in it. Try telling a three year old no you have to take a shower because the bath tub isn't suitable to sit in. The staff wasn't awful but I asked a lady at the front desk where is a good place to eat 2 of the 3 places she said were closed down. The hotel was in a good location but I imagine during peak times the price is higher and I would sleep in a tent before I would pay much more than $50 for a room there. Above all it was average not cleaned well hotel. And the water made my skin break out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

King Neptunes on 59 was the best food I had. Everything in gulf shores is over priced but I felt these people knew how to actually cook seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quietmeadows
Business
Port Huron, MI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Whow! A great experience at Gulf Shores Alabama.

We stayed at the Best Western on the Beach at Gulf Shores, Alabama. We had a room with a balcony facing the white sand beach and incredably clean water. I was so impressed having heard all the horror stories about the Oil Spill. Our room and hotel were older, but very clean. The staff were delightful and the food was great at the Pancake House on site. There were lots of shopping and eat joints within walking distance. Our car made everything accessable including Historic Forts, Homes and Antique Shops to Water Slides and the Little Zoo That Could from Animal Planet. Great vacation for a great price! We'll be back. Michigan Couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Order information from the Chamber of Commerce at least 2 weeks before you plan to book your trip. This gives you ideas of the things you'd like to do. After you have a general idea of what you'd like to spend your vaction doing, THEN book your flight, hotel and car at least 2 months ahead of your vacation to get the best deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bulldog mamma
Business
Greenbrier, AR 72058, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Fun Birthday Stay

IT was really perfect for just a weekend stay. I loved being able to get coffee at the Pancake house at no charge (a big surprize!!) and having the kichenette was GREAT!! loved being able to walk to the shops and little eating places on the beach!! The staff at the front desk were nice but not anything out of the ordinary but the staff at the Pancake house and the cleaning crew were very sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

LuLu's was a good atmosphere but this stay I was disappointed in the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momdivine
Business
McCalla, AL, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Gulf Shores Trip

My husband and I rarely get out of town and this was such a great trip! We loved being right on the beach. The Island Pancake house was a bit over priced in our opinion. $40.00 for breakfast is a bit much. they did allow us to share a breakfast and the pancakes were great. My husbad wants to come back. So convinenent to everything. We walked everywhere ! We will go back. Thanks Sandy Campbell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Steamer Grill yummy!!! Will defintley go back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cotrai the Wife
Business
Auburn, AL
Dec 28, 2010

Christmas Vacation

Me and my husband had a great stay here. The hotel location was great and our view was great. Even though the weather was cooler during our stay, we still enjoyed ourselves. We love that the hotel has a small kitchen and a balcany. Wanted to swim in the pool and jaccuzi but we would have to walk outside to get to it in the other buidling and it was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Dec 14, 2010

OK hotel

When to Gulf Shores for my Birthday, Got the suite at the hotel. The room could have used some updating...It wasn't extremly bad, but could have been clean a little more and kind of outdated. Staff was really nice. And the breakfast house is extremly OVERPRICED!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salem AL
Oct 31, 2010

Gulf Shores

Enjoyed access to the beach and nearby seafood restaurants. Took car ferry to Dauphin Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top