$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

2 stars
2244 Ross Clark Circle, Dothan, AL 36301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
17 reviews
Nice Room

Very nice room, clean and neat, staff were not all that personable, but friendly enough, nice carb... See full review

  • Some Beach
  • Jul 9, 2013
Hotel fine, [...]

This hotel was great and all was good [...] and could have saved more than $30 with a travel coupon... See full review

  • AmyJC
  • Apr 25, 2010
Base your next fun-filled vacation out of this Howard Johnson Inn Dothan hotel. Take the family to Adventureland Theme Park for mini-golf, go-karts and batting cages. During the warmer months, cool off at Water World Water Park less than five miles from this lodging. Tour the beautiful Dothan Area Botanical Gardens, or the old farmhouse at Landmark Park. Walk to Rodeo Mexican Restaurant for a delicious dinner. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine breakfast, stay up to date with a complimentary newspaper, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and enjoy the outdoor gazebo and barbeque grills, complimentary outdoor parking, and guest laundry facilities. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. For additional comfort, book a hot-tub suite, smoke-free or handicapped-accessible room also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

31.1917 -85.4049
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Dothan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyJC
Business
Navarre, Florida
Apr 25, 2010

Hotel fine, [...]

This hotel was great and all was good [...] and could have saved more than $30 with a travel coupon I picked up at the rest area! So the only price assurance I got was paying way more than I needed to for this room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Antique Mall just down the road called Land of Cotton. A great way to wind down and spend some time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DadTJ
Business
Maryland
Sep 24, 2013

Motel6 half the price and twice as nice

Towels were different types/colors. TV old and didn't work without remote - odd. Overall clean just needs some serious updating. Motel 6 down the street and closer to town on 31.99. Stay there first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
craneman mp
Business
dothan,al
Sep 20, 2013

working

it was good for work but they need to do some updates or come down on the price a littlw

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Some Beach
Business
Minnesota
Jul 9, 2013

Nice Room

Very nice room, clean and neat, staff were not all that personable, but friendly enough, nice carb filled continental breakfast - but were out of coffee. :( Still, definitely a place I'd stay again if in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Harley-Davidson dealer just down the road, nice place to visit and nice staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr.. Shortcut
Business
Florida
Dec 12, 2012

Good but...

Well appointed room in away from highway noise, and the overall appearance was very good. Two drawbacks: The worst was a very strong mildew odor in the bathroom. Second was no housekeeping provided while I was out. I had to get my own towels and what not from the service cart outside. One minor item, when asked for additional coffee for the in room coffee maker, I received 3 packs of creamer. Check the bathroom first before unpacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going from this hotel or general location east toward Ashford, use Prevatt Road to connect from Ross Clark Circle as a short cut to highway 84. One light, one stop sign, near zero traffic, and you save about 4 miles of driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snowbabies
Business
Florida
Jul 16, 2012

Quick visit

Got in later than I expected due to the tropical storm, but the staff was friendly, courteous and acted like it was perfectly normal. The room was clean and crisp! The coffee maker didn't work, but that was ok, because there was always coffee in the lobby. When I left, I told the front desk and they were very apologetic. Planning another quick trip there soon, will probably stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the center of town, everything you need is withing the circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snowbabies
Business
Florida
Jun 30, 2012

Second night

Clean room, friendly staff. Breakfast was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snowbabies
Business
Florida
Jun 30, 2012

Good place to stay for a couple days

The hotel was clean, the staff courteous. Often, however, there was no one at the front desk, and no way to alert them that I was there. THey were never far, though.Overall, my experience was great. I'll stay there again when I return to Dothan in July.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First Class Quality Inn & Suites
Business
Monroe, LA
Mar 7, 2011

Horrible Hotel!!

Hotel did not honor reservation and tried "bait and switch" to gain a $10 per day surcharge. Two rooms we were shown had filthy bathrooms (fecal matter in one). [...]You must not ever stay at this hotel!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dothan,AL
Feb 5, 2011

South Travel

Adequate accommodations and friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Dothan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Army pilot's girl
Business
Fountain, CO
Jul 23, 2010

Needs Extreme improvement

I booked a non-smoking room with a king bed. When I checked in I received a double room with the explination that it was all that was left. What is the point of making a reservation for a specific room type if you just get whats left? I make the reservations nearly 2 weeks before my arrival. After the first two nights and a complaint to their coorprate office, they did move me to the smallest and smellyist king room they had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top