$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
An excellent place to stay

The hotel is an older property but updated very nicely. The entire staff was polite and... See full review

  • Gudaka
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great Historic Hotel in Five Points

We loved the 'retro' feel of this hotel. The location is perfect. Walk out the front door into the... See full review

  • Rev Dale
  • Dec 9, 2013
Funky downtown hotel offers sophisticated simplicity and modest prices
With its Deco decor, nicely appointed rooms and pared-down amenities, Hotel Highland at Five Points South is a unique and affordable launch pad for guests visiting the university, and those who want to take advantage of the culture, dining and nightlife of Birmingham. Having once been the site of the celebrated Pickwick Club and later the Pickwick Hotel and Suites, the Hotel Highland at Five Points South adds a modern twist to a classic.
Highlights
  • Located in the heart of Five Points
  • Pets under 15 pounds are welcome (nonrefundable fee applies)
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Nonsmoking hotel
Rooms
Hotel Highland at Five Points South has 63 guest rooms (28 are suites) that all feature Brazilian hardwood furnishings and linens. An LCD high-definition television and complimentary DSL lead the list of technology features in each room. Each room at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South is outfitted with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, coffee-maker and minibar (fees apply). Suites boast luxurious Egyptian linens, wet bar, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Features
Guests of the Hotel Highland at Five Points South can enjoy an extended, complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. At the end of the day, relax over a cocktail in the H Martini Bar, a brightly colored lobby lounge that is a fashionable meeting place in downtown. The vibrant Five Points restaurant and nightlife scene are at the doorstep of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4.4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Five Points South (at the door)
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • McWane Science Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Music Center (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • In-room DSL
  • Business center with computer and printer
  • Copy and fax service available from front desk staff

Hotel Map

33.5017 -86.797
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth Int, (BHM), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, 20th St South

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 52
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timd8y
Business
New York
Jun 8, 2014

Hotel Highland

Convenience of location in a little gem of an area in Birmingham. Very good restaurants withing walking distance. The staff of the hotel really works hard to make sure everything is perfect for your stay. Helpful, friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timd8y
Business
New York
Sep 19, 2013

Quiet Gem

Excellent care of guests given by staff. Warm, friendly and professional. Rooms are nice, beds comfortable facilities immaculate. Within a couple of blocks of good restaurants and night life. Small and exclusive feeling to the whole place along with the staff, makes you feel like you have a quiet, undiscovered gem for your stay in Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
runjumpcoach
Business
Kennesaw Ga
May 28, 2012

Quiet deal

The bed was fantastic, slept like a Rock? The staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angleles, CA
Aug 27, 2010

Good Value in Birmingham

I especially enjoyed checking out the Vulcan Park, not too far from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dreamland... Not bad, but doesn't hold a candle to many other southern BBQ places.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superfastcarter's
Business
pensacola.florida
Oct 11, 2009

great art deco,pleasantly surprised.

we were pleasantly surprised with the art deco style, they had a nice bar with karoke,great continental breakfast. Superb location downtown Birmingham,Ala. We never knew this part of town existed. We would certainly come back again ,to bad this trip was so short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 21, 2009

Nothing special

This hotel was not that great at all, the location was bad. There were homeless people walking around the building I did not feel safe walking to local restaurants nearby. The exercise equipment is old and outdated. I would recommend staying at a national chain such as Marriott etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 22, 2008

In the middle of it all!

On a recent business trip I stayed at the Hotel Highland. I loved the renovated old hotel with its modern updates and relaxing atmosphere. It was comfortable and clean. I was within walking distance to everything I needed: restaurants and shops. I enjoyed the friendliness of the hotet clerk, martini bar bartender and the valet attendant. They all made my stay more enjoyable. I will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks has outdoor seating...very nice.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 1, 2008

Very stylish

Hotel Highland at Five Points was a very stylish boutique-type hotel. The decor was sophisticated, modern art-deco. The furnishings were very comfortable. The bathroom was great - shower, towels and the stuff they give you for free. The staff at check-in, the lobby bar, and others were warm and helpful. The area is near several good restaurants, a Starbucks and bookstore. I was delighted with the whole experience, since I like urban hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Miami
Sep 12, 2008

Great Location

If you are looking for a hotel with great dining options nearby this is a very good spot. The rooms are not huge, but, comfortable. The bed was quite nice. There are parts of the building, such as the elevator, and plumbing, that leave much to be desired... The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Miami
Jun 6, 2008

Great Location and staff... Hotel Mainenance leaving much to be desired

As stated in the title, I really liked the location and staff. I did have an ongoing problem with the plumbing in the shower, in which my first two days were spent taking scalding hot showers, the last two talking freezing cold showers. The problem was finally fixed by changing a relic of an adapter in the shower plumbing. The other thing that really bothers me is the high rate charge for parking. In all fairness, I have seen this in one other Birmingham hotel, but, come on...$18 per night..when a hotel, in my mind, should have parking..... That being said, I would stay in this hotel again....complain about the parking charge though..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search