$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
An excellent place to stay

The hotel is an older property but updated very nicely. The entire staff was polite and... See full review

  • Gudaka
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great Historic Hotel in Five Points

We loved the 'retro' feel of this hotel. The location is perfect. Walk out the front door into the... See full review

  • Rev Dale
  • Dec 9, 2013
Funky downtown hotel offers sophisticated simplicity and modest prices
With its Deco decor, nicely appointed rooms and pared-down amenities, Hotel Highland at Five Points South is a unique and affordable launch pad for guests visiting the university, and those who want to take advantage of the culture, dining and nightlife of Birmingham. Having once been the site of the celebrated Pickwick Club and later the Pickwick Hotel and Suites, the Hotel Highland at Five Points South adds a modern twist to a classic.
Highlights
  • Located in the heart of Five Points
  • Pets under 15 pounds are welcome (nonrefundable fee applies)
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Nonsmoking hotel
Rooms
Hotel Highland at Five Points South has 63 guest rooms (28 are suites) that all feature Brazilian hardwood furnishings and linens. An LCD high-definition television and complimentary DSL lead the list of technology features in each room. Each room at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South is outfitted with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, coffee-maker and minibar (fees apply). Suites boast luxurious Egyptian linens, wet bar, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Features
Guests of the Hotel Highland at Five Points South can enjoy an extended, complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. At the end of the day, relax over a cocktail in the H Martini Bar, a brightly colored lobby lounge that is a fashionable meeting place in downtown. The vibrant Five Points restaurant and nightlife scene are at the doorstep of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4.4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Five Points South (at the door)
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • McWane Science Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Music Center (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • In-room DSL
  • Business center with computer and printer
  • Copy and fax service available from front desk staff

Hotel Map

33.5017 -86.797
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth Int, (BHM), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, 20th St South

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Strom404
Atlanta
Nov 1, 2011

Not a Boutique Hotel

Room smelled of cleaning agents my wife had a head ache every time we walked into the room. We knew it was the room because she would feel ok 2 hours after leaving room. Ice machines on all floors were out of order. Call quest services for ice they never showed up . I went down to the bar to get it my self. The WIFI never worked. We have stayed in Boutique Hotels all over the world, this is not the experience we were looking for on our 2nd wedding anniversary .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Fon Fon and Bottaga both EXCELLENT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KH-Scubabum
Dallas, TX
Feb 5, 2011

So so

I like old hotels, and this one definitely meets that criteria. It has been updated however the décor chosen does not work very well, everything seems out of place. My room on the third floor had two broken lamps, lipstick on the "sanitized glasses", mildew clearly visible in the bathroom. They have a live band on Friday nights which you can hear from the third floor, though it is not too bad. Most importantly, the bed was well above average, so I would very likely stay there again. Sadly the neglect issues have become the norm for hotels these days. Also, the Continental breakfast met the minimum standard, coffee was lousy, plan on going out for breakfast you will only have to walk one block to a Starbucks or local pancake joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants nearby, and most importantly a Starbucks within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 2010

The bad, ugly and dirty!!!

The room was clean. We had to request a remote for the tv, that took over two hours, they forgot our request. The outside area surrounding the hotel and the parking area provided by the hotel, was very very dirty and the overall appearance of the neighborhood was bleak!!! It was advertised as the historic area and where it was happening and it was quite the opposite. Oh, they partied in the bar, in the lobby and outside the hotel. Definitely not a family place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa, ez traveler
Huntville, AL
Feb 8, 2010

Good Location-Quaint Hotel

This was my first trip to Birmingham and we went to see the Brad Paisley concert at the BJCC.The location was great and the staff was very helpfull in finding the conventon center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simba
Birmingham, AL
Oct 21, 2012

Hotel Highland@ 5pts

Hotel was nicely designed and pretty comfortable but had a lingering dank smell. The bathroom sink had drainage problems and the room also lacked desired amenities like a refrigerator and microwave. Also room keys had to be taken to the front desk to be recalibrated every 24 hours because they would stop working. On a positive note the hotel is in a nice location, walking distance from several restaurants/bars and a couple of dance clubs. Overall the hotel did not meet my expectations taking into account the expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dante Hicks
Huntsville, AL
Oct 11, 2009

Good but can use some improvements

Cool, interesting hotel at great 5 Points location. Internet connection (wireless) was very unreliable on this trip (previous trip it was ok). Parking at $18/day is high plus you have to use a valet (tips). I would still stay at this hotel though. Staff is friendly, decor is cool, and at night they have live music in their lounge. For some reason however, at 10:30 PM, some loud music comes from some source (nearby clubs?) and is a little annoying when trying to sleep but the windows do block out a good deal of it. Their breakfast is decent too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 21, 2009

Nothing special

This hotel was not that great at all, the location was bad. There were homeless people walking around the building I did not feel safe walking to local restaurants nearby. The exercise equipment is old and outdated. I would recommend staying at a national chain such as Marriott etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntsville, AL
Dec 31, 2010

1 night stay

Wife and I used this hotel because it is located close to a special restaurant we occasionally go for dinner. It is not in the best area of Birmingham...I was hit on for money while getting out of my car. The common areas of the hotel are in need of attention. Although the hotel is old, the room was very good...art decco style. No heat control in the room which is a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highland's Bar and Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2009

Charming

A nice little metropolitan boutique hotel in Lil' Ol' Birmingham. Walking distance to great dining. Friendly staff, the room was a little on the small side, but still bigger than a New York hotel at 1/3rd the price. Went there for a quick overnight getaway, and this place fit the bill to a tee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There's a parking lot immediately behind the hotel. If you're planning to spend the evening around five points, then 4 bucks in their lot beats the valet - but no "in and out" as that's 4 bucks a pop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjpackers1
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Jul 2, 2014

Loved It

Basically, I would rate this as an average hotel. It had everything I expected. It was clean, comfortable. I did not ask for much, but I did get everything I asked. So, it will certainly not disappoint you in this regard. What makes it special? The location! If you want to have a good time in Birmingham, stay here! You can walk to Frank Stitt's restaurants, get a bit sloppy, walk home safely, and enjoy a comfortable bed. When you get to your room, they have king-sized beds in spacious rooms with city views. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frank Stitt's Chez Fon Fon right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search