$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
An excellent place to stay

The hotel is an older property but updated very nicely. The entire staff was polite and... See full review

  • Gudaka
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great Historic Hotel in Five Points

We loved the 'retro' feel of this hotel. The location is perfect. Walk out the front door into the... See full review

  • Rev Dale
  • Dec 9, 2013
Funky downtown hotel offers sophisticated simplicity and modest prices
With its Deco decor, nicely appointed rooms and pared-down amenities, Hotel Highland at Five Points South is a unique and affordable launch pad for guests visiting the university, and those who want to take advantage of the culture, dining and nightlife of Birmingham. Having once been the site of the celebrated Pickwick Club and later the Pickwick Hotel and Suites, the Hotel Highland at Five Points South adds a modern twist to a classic.
Highlights
  • Located in the heart of Five Points
  • Pets under 15 pounds are welcome (nonrefundable fee applies)
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Nonsmoking hotel
Rooms
Hotel Highland at Five Points South has 63 guest rooms (28 are suites) that all feature Brazilian hardwood furnishings and linens. An LCD high-definition television and complimentary DSL lead the list of technology features in each room. Each room at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South is outfitted with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, coffee-maker and minibar (fees apply). Suites boast luxurious Egyptian linens, wet bar, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Features
Guests of the Hotel Highland at Five Points South can enjoy an extended, complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. At the end of the day, relax over a cocktail in the H Martini Bar, a brightly colored lobby lounge that is a fashionable meeting place in downtown. The vibrant Five Points restaurant and nightlife scene are at the doorstep of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4.4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Five Points South (at the door)
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • McWane Science Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Music Center (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • In-room DSL
  • Business center with computer and printer
  • Copy and fax service available from front desk staff

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.5017 -86.797
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth Int, (BHM), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, 20th St South

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ole Bo
Mobile, AL
Sep 14, 2009

The Highland

The valet was a nice guy and the front desk clerk ([...]) was cool too. They suggested a great place to eat and were really friendly. They asked about our visit and what we were there for and really seemed to be quite genuine. The Highland Hotel has the most comfortable beds and pillows on the planet! The faucets were a little hard to get used to, but otherwise an awesome place with great local food and places to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surin West is just around the corner. It's a Thai restaurant and sushi bar. The absolute best sushi ever! The service is awesome and friendly. Very upscale restaurant with awesome prices. Don't miss it!

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 27, 2009

Charming

A nice little metropolitan boutique hotel in Lil' Ol' Birmingham. Walking distance to great dining. Friendly staff, the room was a little on the small side, but still bigger than a New York hotel at 1/3rd the price. Went there for a quick overnight getaway, and this place fit the bill to a tee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There's a parking lot immediately behind the hotel. If you're planning to spend the evening around five points, then 4 bucks in their lot beats the valet - but no "in and out" as that's 4 bucks a pop.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p35flash
Tuscaloosa Alabama
Aug 21, 2012

Hotel is great: location could be better.

This hotel is really good. The staff is friendly. It has a really good free breakfast in the morning. The only bad part is the location. Five Points just has to many street bums hanging around. The city needs to do something about that. Really, that issue is not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBH5150
Florence,Alabama
Aug 7, 2012

Great Stay!

When I arrived I was greeted by the lady at the front desk who was very accomodating and friendly. She told me about all of the restaurants and bars located around the hotel and the service was just excellent! I was very impressed with the hotel overall. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable! The hotel bar was amazing and very interesting. The bartender was very friendly. I read reviews about the hotel before going and I found out about the parking deck behind the hotel which was only $4 a day compared to valet parking which would have been $14 so that was a plus. The elevator was broken from the parking deck but that was not an issue only having to walk down two flights of stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Birmingham. The five points area is a great place to stay! I will definitely be back as soon as I can! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the parking deck behind the hotel. It is only $4 dollars a day and you just take the stairs and you come right out behind the hotel very accessible!

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
memainor
Dalton, GA
Apr 25, 2009

Nice Stay

Enjoyed our stay but Birmingham needs some serious city planning for the streets. Very difficult to navigate. Hotel Highland was very nice. [...] is still working there and found her to be very nice. The entire staff was very friendly and the lady at the martini bar treated us to a free drink....something nice she came up with. Would visit this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SamNova
Hattiesburg, MS, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great Stay

Staff was friendly and informative, from the front desk to the room attendants. Location is ideal if you are there for 5-points restaurants or bars but still convenient to the medical community and university as well. Rooms are not huge but are spacious and really well appointed......and include free WiFi, which has become a bit of a perk these days. We will not consider staying anywhere else on our next visit, regardless of the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fuego Cantina, it looks a little sketchy where food is concerned but the tacos are top notch and travel well (We got ours to go.).

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 17, 2007

A bit of local history

The Hotel Highland at Five Points was a very comfortable hotel to stay in. You can tell it is a historical building but the renovations bring it up to more modern standards. Hotel elevator and forced Valet parking were my only hesitations at the hotel. Best part was the bed, Very comfortable! The staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and welcome. I would stay at the hotel again when I am in Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several local places to dine around the hotel including a bar & grill on the corner and a chinese resturaunt across the street.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ole Bo
Mobile, AL
Sep 14, 2009

The Highland

The valet was a nice guy and the front desk clerk ([...]) was cool too. They suggested a great place to eat and were really friendly. They asked about our visit and what we were there for and really seemed to be quite genuine. The Highland Hotel has the most comfortable beds and pillows on the planet! The faucets were a little hard to get used to, but otherwise an awesome place with great local food and places to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surin West is just around the corner. It's a Thai restaurant and sushi bar. The absolute best sushi ever! The service is awesome and friendly. Very upscale restaurant with awesome prices. Don't miss it!

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Jun 10, 2009

Highland Hotel

The parking garage is next door to the hotel, and without a room key you have to go all the way around the block to the front door, unless you're willing to pay for the valet parking. Since it was raining hard this was a real pain. The thermostat in the room was set on 50F and the room was like an icebox. Other than that we had a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel for a fun weekend or longer. There are plenty of good restaurants and bars within a block of the hotel so once we got parked we didn't use the car for 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jim and Nicks Barbecue is less than a block away and has excellent food, beer and a great atmosphere. Five Points Grill is next door to the hotel but is way overpriced for the food they serve.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superfastcarter's
Business
pensacola.florida
Oct 11, 2009

great art deco,pleasantly surprised.

we were pleasantly surprised with the art deco style, they had a nice bar with karoke,great continental breakfast. Superb location downtown Birmingham,Ala. We never knew this part of town existed. We would certainly come back again ,to bad this trip was so short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top