$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
An excellent place to stay

The hotel is an older property but updated very nicely. The entire staff was polite and... See full review

  • Gudaka
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great Historic Hotel in Five Points

We loved the 'retro' feel of this hotel. The location is perfect. Walk out the front door into the... See full review

  • Rev Dale
  • Dec 9, 2013
Funky downtown hotel offers sophisticated simplicity and modest prices
With its Deco decor, nicely appointed rooms and pared-down amenities, Hotel Highland at Five Points South is a unique and affordable launch pad for guests visiting the university, and those who want to take advantage of the culture, dining and nightlife of Birmingham. Having once been the site of the celebrated Pickwick Club and later the Pickwick Hotel and Suites, the Hotel Highland at Five Points South adds a modern twist to a classic.
Highlights
  • Located in the heart of Five Points
  • Pets under 15 pounds are welcome (nonrefundable fee applies)
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Nonsmoking hotel
Rooms
Hotel Highland at Five Points South has 63 guest rooms (28 are suites) that all feature Brazilian hardwood furnishings and linens. An LCD high-definition television and complimentary DSL lead the list of technology features in each room. Each room at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South is outfitted with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, coffee-maker and minibar (fees apply). Suites boast luxurious Egyptian linens, wet bar, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Features
Guests of the Hotel Highland at Five Points South can enjoy an extended, complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. At the end of the day, relax over a cocktail in the H Martini Bar, a brightly colored lobby lounge that is a fashionable meeting place in downtown. The vibrant Five Points restaurant and nightlife scene are at the doorstep of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4.4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Five Points South (at the door)
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • McWane Science Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Music Center (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • In-room DSL
  • Business center with computer and printer
  • Copy and fax service available from front desk staff

Hotel Map

33.5017 -86.797
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth Int, (BHM), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, 20th St South

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenbean
Jackson, MS, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Perfect location and beautifully redone old hotel

Staff was great, rooms were great, and the location was awesome. The free breakfast was like every free breakfast at a hotel, which isn't great. But, there was a pancake restaurant across the street. I would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dog Rescue Traveler
Mobile, AL
May 15, 2010

Overall awesomeness would change 1 thing

Decor was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Mortimer
Opelika, AL
Mar 13, 2010

Hotel Highland at Five Points South

Hotel was nice and clean,the suite was comfortably sized, valet service was on point, location was convenient to the happenings of the town (i.e hospitals, restaurants, stores, malls and movie theatres. Overall pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice restaurant called The Mill is about 30 paces south of the hotel main entrance and there's a chinese restaurant across the street and a few more within two blocks.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Mortimer
Opelika, AL
Mar 13, 2010

Hotel Highland at Five Points South

Hotel was nice and clean,the suite was comfortably sized, valet service was on point, location was convenient to the happenings of the town (i.e hospitals, restaurants, stores, malls and movie theatres. Overall pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice restaurant called The Mill is about 30 paces south of the hotel main entrance and there's a chinese restaurant across the street and a few more within two blocks.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa, ez traveler
Huntville, AL
Feb 8, 2010

Good Location-Quaint Hotel

This was my first trip to Birmingham and we went to see the Brad Paisley concert at the BJCC.The location was great and the staff was very helpfull in finding the conventon center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa, ez traveler
Huntville, AL
Feb 8, 2010

Good Location-Quaint Hotel

This was my first trip to Birmingham and we went to see the Brad Paisley concert at the BJCC.The location was great and the staff was very helpfull in finding the conventon center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJADL
Grand Rapids, MI
Oct 18, 2009

great location to UAB, perfect for me

I went to visit my son who is attending UAB. I was orginally going to stay at the Medical Center Inn, but the reviews were bad-- Iam so glad I swithched to the Highland Hotel--very artistically charming and unpretencious. Location couldn't have been better for my needs. Lots of restuarants right out the door. There is however no free parking, so did most exploring by foot. Comfortable and safe stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I took a short drive to Vulcan Park--a nice view of the city. I also took the Dart-- a cute streetcar that has 3 routes to see downtown and other areas nearby for only 25 cents.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJADL
Grand Rapids, MI
Oct 18, 2009

great location to UAB, perfect for me

I went to visit my son who is attending UAB. I was orginally going to stay at the Medical Center Inn, but the reviews were bad-- Iam so glad I swithched to the Highland Hotel--very artistically charming and unpretencious. Location couldn't have been better for my needs. Lots of restuarants right out the door. There is however no free parking, so did most exploring by foot. Comfortable and safe stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I took a short drive to Vulcan Park--a nice view of the city. I also took the Dart-- a cute streetcar that has 3 routes to see downtown and other areas nearby for only 25 cents.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superfastcarter's
Business
pensacola.florida
Oct 11, 2009

great art deco,pleasantly surprised.

we were pleasantly surprised with the art deco style, they had a nice bar with karoke,great continental breakfast. Superb location downtown Birmingham,Ala. We never knew this part of town existed. We would certainly come back again ,to bad this trip was so short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dante Hicks
Huntsville, AL
Oct 11, 2009

Good but can use some improvements

Cool, interesting hotel at great 5 Points location. Internet connection (wireless) was very unreliable on this trip (previous trip it was ok). Parking at $18/day is high plus you have to use a valet (tips). I would still stay at this hotel though. Staff is friendly, decor is cool, and at night they have live music in their lounge. For some reason however, at 10:30 PM, some loud music comes from some source (nearby clubs?) and is a little annoying when trying to sleep but the windows do block out a good deal of it. Their breakfast is decent too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superfastcarter's
Business
pensacola.florida
Oct 11, 2009

great art deco,pleasantly surprised.

we were pleasantly surprised with the art deco style, they had a nice bar with karoke,great continental breakfast. Superb location downtown Birmingham,Ala. We never knew this part of town existed. We would certainly come back again ,to bad this trip was so short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top