The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
52 reviews
An excellent place to stay

The hotel is an older property but updated very nicely. The entire staff was polite and... See full review

  • Gudaka
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great Historic Hotel in Five Points

We loved the 'retro' feel of this hotel. The location is perfect. Walk out the front door into the... See full review

  • Rev Dale
  • Dec 9, 2013
Funky downtown hotel offers sophisticated simplicity and modest prices
With its Deco decor, nicely appointed rooms and pared-down amenities, Hotel Highland at Five Points South is a unique and affordable launch pad for guests visiting the university, and those who want to take advantage of the culture, dining and nightlife of Birmingham. Having once been the site of the celebrated Pickwick Club and later the Pickwick Hotel and Suites, the Hotel Highland at Five Points South adds a modern twist to a classic.
Highlights
  • Located in the heart of Five Points
  • Pets under 15 pounds are welcome (nonrefundable fee applies)
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Nonsmoking hotel
Rooms
Hotel Highland at Five Points South has 63 guest rooms (28 are suites) that all feature Brazilian hardwood furnishings and linens. An LCD high-definition television and complimentary DSL lead the list of technology features in each room. Each room at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South is outfitted with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, coffee-maker and minibar (fees apply). Suites boast luxurious Egyptian linens, wet bar, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Features
Guests of the Hotel Highland at Five Points South can enjoy an extended, complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. At the end of the day, relax over a cocktail in the H Martini Bar, a brightly colored lobby lounge that is a fashionable meeting place in downtown. The vibrant Five Points restaurant and nightlife scene are at the doorstep of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4.4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Five Points South (at the door)
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • McWane Science Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Music Center (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • In-room DSL
  • Business center with computer and printer
  • Copy and fax service available from front desk staff

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Hotel Map

33.5017 -86.797
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth Int, (BHM), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, 20th St South

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
memainor
Dalton, GA
Apr 25, 2009

Nice Stay

Enjoyed our stay but Birmingham needs some serious city planning for the streets. Very difficult to navigate. Hotel Highland was very nice. [...] is still working there and found her to be very nice. The entire staff was very friendly and the lady at the martini bar treated us to a free drink....something nice she came up with. Would visit this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 22, 2008

In the middle of it all!

On a recent business trip I stayed at the Hotel Highland. I loved the renovated old hotel with its modern updates and relaxing atmosphere. It was comfortable and clean. I was within walking distance to everything I needed: restaurants and shops. I enjoyed the friendliness of the hotet clerk, martini bar bartender and the valet attendant. They all made my stay more enjoyable. I will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks has outdoor seating...very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 1, 2008

Very stylish

Hotel Highland at Five Points was a very stylish boutique-type hotel. The decor was sophisticated, modern art-deco. The furnishings were very comfortable. The bathroom was great - shower, towels and the stuff they give you for free. The staff at check-in, the lobby bar, and others were warm and helpful. The area is near several good restaurants, a Starbucks and bookstore. I was delighted with the whole experience, since I like urban hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Fargo
Sep 13, 2008

Very Impressed

The room was better than we imagined, the linens and furnishing were wonderful. Valet parking was great and picking up the car the next morning was no problem. The staff makes sure that your stay is the best it can be. I would tell anyone that this is the place to stay in Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It is an easy walk to some of the best architecture and most fun places to sit and have a drink or dinner. Ruby Tuesdays is a place that is a must because of the friendly people that work there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Miami
Sep 12, 2008

Great Location

If you are looking for a hotel with great dining options nearby this is a very good spot. The rooms are not huge, but, comfortable. The bed was quite nice. There are parts of the building, such as the elevator, and plumbing, that leave much to be desired... The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alpharetta, GA
Jul 28, 2008

Great Location and Great Hotel

The Hotel Highland was wonderful. Located in a very eclectic part of Birmingham, it was very easy to walk (about a half a block) to some wonderful restaurants. The staff was friendly and very insightful on the area. The rooms are very nice and even has an ipod alarm clock and a flat screen tv. The only negative i can saw about the hotel is there wasn't a pool (or at least we couldn't find it) But the fitness room and easy parking on the back side of the hotel was easy in-and-out with just your room key. Overall, great hotel, great staff, and great location. A must stay if ever in Birmingham!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from The Original House of Pancakes to Jim and Nick's Barbque. We counted at least 7 restaurants within about 100 yards from the hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Miami
Jun 6, 2008

Great Location and staff... Hotel Mainenance leaving much to be desired

As stated in the title, I really liked the location and staff. I did have an ongoing problem with the plumbing in the shower, in which my first two days were spent taking scalding hot showers, the last two talking freezing cold showers. The problem was finally fixed by changing a relic of an adapter in the shower plumbing. The other thing that really bothers me is the high rate charge for parking. In all fairness, I have seen this in one other Birmingham hotel, but, come on...$18 per night..when a hotel, in my mind, should have parking..... That being said, I would stay in this hotel again....complain about the parking charge though..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 16, 2007

WILD BUT GORGEOUS

We arrived at 12:30am on a Sunday morning and could not believe the activity going on outside this hotel. This was a big party area and there was no parking on the street. We did the valet parking. It was like a different world when you went in. BEAUTIFUL!! The staff was wonderful and our room was so nice. The entire hotel was art deco from the 1920's. Very different and very nice. Just seemed out of place. The beds were very comfortable. Neat hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Great Value

Very cheap and very nice--and in the best location in Birmingham. Only negative--the martini bar didn't yet have a liquor license. A pretty big drawback for a martini bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of local dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ulrica Grey
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 6, 2007

Great location and decor

Beautiful & modern, the Hotel Highland is right in the heart of the vibrant Five Points neighborhood in Birmingham. While the hotel doesn't offer in-room dining, the friendly staff can guide you to one of many excellent restaurants within walking distance. Great for business travel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fine and casual dining, as well as taverns, are within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top