$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

3 stars
1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
An excellent place to stay

The hotel is an older property but updated very nicely. The entire staff was polite and... See full review

  • Gudaka
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great Historic Hotel in Five Points

We loved the 'retro' feel of this hotel. The location is perfect. Walk out the front door into the... See full review

  • Rev Dale
  • Dec 9, 2013
Funky downtown hotel offers sophisticated simplicity and modest prices
With its Deco decor, nicely appointed rooms and pared-down amenities, Hotel Highland at Five Points South is a unique and affordable launch pad for guests visiting the university, and those who want to take advantage of the culture, dining and nightlife of Birmingham. Having once been the site of the celebrated Pickwick Club and later the Pickwick Hotel and Suites, the Hotel Highland at Five Points South adds a modern twist to a classic.
Highlights
  • Located in the heart of Five Points
  • Pets under 15 pounds are welcome (nonrefundable fee applies)
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Nonsmoking hotel
Rooms
Hotel Highland at Five Points South has 63 guest rooms (28 are suites) that all feature Brazilian hardwood furnishings and linens. An LCD high-definition television and complimentary DSL lead the list of technology features in each room. Each room at the Hotel Highland at Five Points South is outfitted with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, coffee-maker and minibar (fees apply). Suites boast luxurious Egyptian linens, wet bar, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Features
Guests of the Hotel Highland at Five Points South can enjoy an extended, complimentary continental breakfast served each morning. At the end of the day, relax over a cocktail in the H Martini Bar, a brightly colored lobby lounge that is a fashionable meeting place in downtown. The vibrant Five Points restaurant and nightlife scene are at the doorstep of the hotel.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4.4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Five Points South (at the door)
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • McWane Science Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Verizon Wireless Music Center (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
Business
  • In-room DSL
  • Business center with computer and printer
  • Copy and fax service available from front desk staff

Hotel Map

33.5017 -86.797
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth Int, (BHM), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, 20th St South

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simba
Birmingham, AL
Oct 21, 2012

Hotel Highland@ 5pts

Hotel was nicely designed and pretty comfortable but had a lingering dank smell. The bathroom sink had drainage problems and the room also lacked desired amenities like a refrigerator and microwave. Also room keys had to be taken to the front desk to be recalibrated every 24 hours because they would stop working. On a positive note the hotel is in a nice location, walking distance from several restaurants/bars and a couple of dance clubs. Overall the hotel did not meet my expectations taking into account the expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
p35flash
Tuscaloosa Alabama
Aug 21, 2012

Hotel is great: location could be better.

This hotel is really good. The staff is friendly. It has a really good free breakfast in the morning. The only bad part is the location. Five Points just has to many street bums hanging around. The city needs to do something about that. Really, that issue is not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MAW7734
Huntsville, Al
Aug 13, 2012

Weekend Getaway

We went for a weekend mini va-ca. Service was great from the valet, to the front desk abd bar. Super location. Good breakfast. will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBH5150
Florence,Alabama
Aug 7, 2012

Great Stay!

When I arrived I was greeted by the lady at the front desk who was very accomodating and friendly. She told me about all of the restaurants and bars located around the hotel and the service was just excellent! I was very impressed with the hotel overall. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable! The hotel bar was amazing and very interesting. The bartender was very friendly. I read reviews about the hotel before going and I found out about the parking deck behind the hotel which was only $4 a day compared to valet parking which would have been $14 so that was a plus. The elevator was broken from the parking deck but that was not an issue only having to walk down two flights of stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Birmingham. The five points area is a great place to stay! I will definitely be back as soon as I can! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the parking deck behind the hotel. It is only $4 dollars a day and you just take the stairs and you come right out behind the hotel very accessible!

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malaka
calif
Aug 7, 2012

getway

Fabulous very nice hotel and staff. The area needs too be patrol by police. Lots of bums in the area close by. But lotts of good places to eat and walk. And so many cool shops around. Highland package store has the best selection of wine and beer. Love the hotel they bring you ice. I will visit agin Thank you % point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsLluvia
Chicago
Aug 5, 2012

Wonderful Stay

I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It really exceeded my expectations and with the value and location, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants are plentiful in this area.

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
runjumpcoach
Business
Kennesaw Ga
May 28, 2012

Quiet deal

The bed was fantastic, slept like a Rock? The staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SamNova
Hattiesburg, MS, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great Stay

Staff was friendly and informative, from the front desk to the room attendants. Location is ideal if you are there for 5-points restaurants or bars but still convenient to the medical community and university as well. Rooms are not huge but are spacious and really well appointed......and include free WiFi, which has become a bit of a perk these days. We will not consider staying anywhere else on our next visit, regardless of the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fuego Cantina, it looks a little sketchy where food is concerned but the tacos are top notch and travel well (We got ours to go.).

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Strom404
Atlanta
Nov 1, 2011

Not a Boutique Hotel

Room smelled of cleaning agents my wife had a head ache every time we walked into the room. We knew it was the room because she would feel ok 2 hours after leaving room. Ice machines on all floors were out of order. Call quest services for ice they never showed up . I went down to the bar to get it my self. The WIFI never worked. We have stayed in Boutique Hotels all over the world, this is not the experience we were looking for on our 2nd wedding anniversary .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Fon Fon and Bottaga both EXCELLENT

Review of The Hotel Highland at Five Points Sou, an Ascend Collection hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenbean
Jackson, MS, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Perfect location and beautifully redone old hotel

Staff was great, rooms were great, and the location was awesome. The free breakfast was like every free breakfast at a hotel, which isn't great. But, there was a pancake restaurant across the street. I would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top