$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
2024 4th Avenue South, 2024 4TH AVENUE SOUTH, Birmingham, AL 35233
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
19 reviews
Great stay!

We loved every moment of it! If your looking for comfort, professionalism, and class this is a... See full review

  • Out o Towners
  • Jul 14, 2014
Downtown Business Hotel

A standard moderately-priced downtown business hotel that is elevated by an OUTSTANDING staff.... See full review

  • Giant Angstrom
  • Oct 13, 2012
Down-home comforts and conveniences at downtown hotel

Welcome to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown by Marriott, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary use of heated indoor pool and Stay Fit fitness center with Life Fitness cardiovascular equipment
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Discounted on-site parking
  • Transportation available to area hospitals
Rooms
The 150 rooms in SpringHill Suites Birmingham all feature signature Grand beds and 42-inch flat-screen televisions that easily integrate with other communications devices and laptops. Large work desks with Plug Panel and two phones (one cordless) keep business travelers connected. Rooms at the SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown are generously outfitted with a Cozy Corner sleeper sofa, separate living space, radio with MP-3 player connection, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, makeup/shaving mirror, coffee-maker and mini refrigerator. Bathrooms boast granite countertops and Aquafresh Extreme Clean amenities.
Features
Guests of the SpringHill Suites Birmingham have all-hours access to tasty meals at the Guest Kitchen, which serves made-to-order meals and a complimentary continental breakfast daily. The Bakery Cafe in the lobby serves Starbucks coffees, premium beer and wine and features a "grab 'n go" case of snacks, sandwiches and bottled water.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Attractions
  • McWane Science Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Center (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Highland Park Golf Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Birmingham Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Complimentary in-room Internet service
  • Offers 1,600 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 150
  • A 24-hour business center with free computers and printers

Hotel Map

33.5093 -86.8017
Area served
Downtown Birmingham
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport, (BHM), 7.20, MI, SW; Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 150.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giant Angstrom
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 13, 2012

Downtown Business Hotel

A standard moderately-priced downtown business hotel that is elevated by an OUTSTANDING staff. Rooms were recently remodeled as well - very confortable and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
havana, fl
Dec 6, 2010

birmingham deeper still conference

the hotel was lovely. perfect location to downtown. just what we were looking for. it was easy to get into and out of and was quiet and comfortable.i was surprised upon checkout to find that i was charged for the complimentary breakfast as well as the parking garage. it seems it was my responsibility to tell them it was complimentary rather than swiping my room key as instructed. because i had my printout from [...], i was able to have that charge removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel offered map of dining places within 12 blocks. many of the places were no longer open and dining in the area was very limited. should be updated. there was, however, dining in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, ms
Oct 27, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

other than bad location, everything was outstanding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Out o Towners
Business
Huntsville, al
Jul 14, 2014

Great stay!

We loved every moment of it! If your looking for comfort, professionalism, and class this is a great place to stay. It was very accommodating, and check in was easy and quick!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No room service at this hotel. So make sure you make arrangements.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler434242
Business
Missouri
May 16, 2012

Great hotel

clean and cozy. Great location especially if you are going to UAB medical center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walker Retreat
Business
Millbrook, Alabama
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

Our stay was very relaxing and quiet. The tve reception was not that great but other than that we enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WEEKEND NO PLAY
Business
HUNTSVILLE AL
Mar 28, 2013

GOOD BUSINESS TRIP

VERY GOOD EXCEPT PARKING COST $10 PER DAY NO COVERED WAY TO GET TO PARKING DECK WE GOT DRENCHED IN RAIN WAS NOT EXPECTED. COST OF PARKING WAS NOT DISCLOSED IN BOOKING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClockingTheMiles
Business
Atlanta
Apr 6, 2013

Good value for dollar...but find your own free/lower cost parking

Be sure you have the right location...the property is relatively new - and my GPS system couldn't find it, and sent me to a sister location. That aside, the property is brilliant. Nice staff, things are working and looking new and fresh. I think (assume) I got upgraded simply because I got lost and had to call a few times, to get proper directions, to the correct property. Only complaints is that the don't tell you that parking is an additional cost - ignore that and get free parking weekends on the street (I found a space across the street - during St. Patty's Day weekend) The breakfast is nothing to write home about. Would def come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't believe the hype about using the parking garage across the street for parking with the hotel. You can probably find street parking for a better value (meter)...or for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin forthefunofit!
Business
Dallas TX
Jun 14, 2010

Love this Hotel!

I had a great stay at Hyatt Place! The staff was great, and the room looked JUST LIKE the images on the web. Very modern and chic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMH
Business
Naperville, IL
Apr 6, 2010

Hyatt Birmingham

Hotel was clean, conveniently located in downtown Birmingham off I65, had a great morning continental breakfast with many choices and a good sized pool for swimming. Our family of 5 was perfectly situated with the 2 queens and couch; the television/couch area was a nice addition. We traveled less than two miles to a great dining area (as directed by the staff). Just what we needed for a one night stay righ toff the highway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top