$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
View map of 2024 4th Avenue South, 2024 4TH AVENUE SOUTH, Birmingham, AL 35233

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
21 reviews
Great stay!

We loved every moment of it! If your looking for comfort, professionalism, and class this is a... See full review

  • Out o Towners
  • Jul 14, 2014
Fantastic Stay

Everthing was great couldn't have asked for a better visit See full review

  • Bodhizoffa
  • Jun 30, 2014
Down-home comforts and conveniences at downtown hotel

Welcome to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown by Marriott, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free Wi-Fi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Complimentary use of heated indoor pool and Stay Fit fitness center with Life Fitness cardiovascular equipment
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Discounted on-site parking
  • Transportation available to area hospitals
Rooms
The 150 rooms in SpringHill Suites Birmingham all feature signature Grand beds and 42-inch flat-screen televisions that easily integrate with other communications devices and laptops. Large work desks with Plug Panel and two phones (one cordless) keep business travelers connected. Rooms at the SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown are generously outfitted with a Cozy Corner sleeper sofa, separate living space, radio with MP-3 player connection, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, makeup/shaving mirror, coffee-maker and mini refrigerator. Bathrooms boast granite countertops and Aquafresh Extreme Clean amenities.
Features
Guests of the SpringHill Suites Birmingham have all-hours access to tasty meals at the Guest Kitchen, which serves made-to-order meals and a complimentary continental breakfast daily. The Bakery Cafe in the lobby serves Starbucks coffees, premium beer and wine and features a "grab 'n go" case of snacks, sandwiches and bottled water.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Attractions
  • McWane Science Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Center (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Highland Park Golf Course (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Birmingham Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
Business
  • Complimentary in-room Internet service
  • Offers 1,600 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 150
  • A 24-hour business center with free computers and printers

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 25, 2011

Nice Room awfuil lobby

The room was amazing. The lobby is plain and boring. Great Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Mar 11, 2011

Modern hotel, not great location

Good hotel if you don't mind walking around, but I wouldn't recommend this city to visit. Nothing to do except eat...we wish we would have skipped this city and spent more time in Savannah. Hotel was very nice, just a bit of walk (about a mile) to "Five Points" where all the restaurants were. Heated indoor pool (not heated enough for me), but no jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

House of Pancakes for breakfast. Rather pricey for breakfast ($15 per person), but the food and coffee were really good. I got the Pecan Waffle; delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
havana, fl
Dec 6, 2010

birmingham deeper still conference

the hotel was lovely. perfect location to downtown. just what we were looking for. it was easy to get into and out of and was quiet and comfortable.i was surprised upon checkout to find that i was charged for the complimentary breakfast as well as the parking garage. it seems it was my responsibility to tell them it was complimentary rather than swiping my room key as instructed. because i had my printout from [...], i was able to have that charge removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel offered map of dining places within 12 blocks. many of the places were no longer open and dining in the area was very limited. should be updated. there was, however, dining in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 16, 2010

Hyatt Place Downtown Birmingham

The room was wonderful, very clean, nice amenities, however the service was very slow. I'm not saying that the employees didn't want to help, they did. But there simply weren't enough of them. The front desk clerks also had to take drink orders, deal with customer service issues, make pastries, etc...it simply overwhelmed them. Management needs to consider adding an additional person per shift...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you plan ahead, you will have to drive some distance to find anything interesting to do unless you are a golf fanatic or history buff...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodberry
Business
Baltimore
Oct 10, 2010

average

For such a "fancy place" I would have expected airport transportation, such as a shuttle bus. The cab fare was $20!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin forthefunofit!
Business
Dallas TX
Jun 14, 2010

Love this Hotel!

I had a great stay at Hyatt Place! The staff was great, and the room looked JUST LIKE the images on the web. Very modern and chic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2010

Clean Rooms, Good Location

I was in Birmingham on business and found the location to be within a mile of my meeting. The Hyatt Plus has 24 hour drinks / snacks that are accessible. No need for exact change. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was comfortable, roomy, and most importantly clean. The room had several places to setup a laptop for working. Nice television and plenty of plugs for phone charges, etc... I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay, clean room, and relatively close to downtown Birmingham, Alabama.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have a good menu that is served 24 hours a day. This is very convenient if you don't want to go out or are tired from traveling. Breakfast was very good as well. A buffet of various fruits, breads, cereals, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMH
Business
Naperville, IL
Apr 6, 2010

Hyatt Birmingham

Hotel was clean, conveniently located in downtown Birmingham off I65, had a great morning continental breakfast with many choices and a good sized pool for swimming. Our family of 5 was perfectly situated with the 2 queens and couch; the television/couch area was a nice addition. We traveled less than two miles to a great dining area (as directed by the staff). Just what we needed for a one night stay righ toff the highway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheer Traveler
Business
Bruceton, TN
Mar 14, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We were there for a Cheer competition, it said Downtown so we expected a better neighborhood but it was very rundown. We picked it because it had an indoor pool but the website had no photos so we were disappointed in the size of it once we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, Al
Nov 2, 2009

Classic Weekend Was Good

The staff was very friendly and nice. The only thing that i had to say was the cleaning staff was a little bit slow (in my opinion) but they quickly cleaned our room once we asked someone about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the hotel is on the south end of town so there is plenty to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top