$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North, 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North, Birmingham, AL 35203

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Oct 24, 2009

good location but needs a little TLC

The hotel location was great for attending convention center. The staff were very friendly and professional. Security is very good. The downsides were that the hotel seemed like it needed some TLC. The carpets and some walls had numerous stains once you got outside of the main lobby. They looked very worn. The hallways to my room had trash on the floor from used utensils to paper to dental floss. The TV and coffee pot in my room were not working. Overall the location, service, and security were great but the hotel quality is not what is typical of a Sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Austin, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Nice Hotel - No so nice location

The hotel rooms and lobby have been renovated and are really nice but the hallways are a mess. The carpet is badly stained and smells terrible. There also seems to be no air conditioning in the hallway. We ordered room service several times. It was prompt, the staff courteous and the food was good, though pricey. The main problem with this hotel is that there is absolutely no dining or shopping within walking distance. The hotel has basically two restaurants. We only ate at one of them, but it was good. We went out one night to try something new and the concierge told us that there just weren't any restaurants in the area. We asked him to get us a cab and he just shook his head at us. You can get a cab but you need reservations for that. He suggested we take the DART - a trolley that runs downtown - to get to the 5 points district which has several restaurants. It costs a quarter and runs every 30 minutes so we tried it out. That worked out OK, but not what we would have chosen to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a car, this is not a good place to stay. There are many fine attractions in Birmingham, but none except the art museum and convention center that are close enough to walk.

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Huntsville, AL
Jul 6, 2010

Love the Sheraton - hate the elevators!

The room was nice with a great view and very clean. Unfortunately, the elevators were slow and I had a problem with my room key and the maids did not speak English which posed a problem when I first arrived and I was having difficulty getting into my room. Other than that and the cleaning crew was very loud Sunday morning. It did take over 15 minutes to get into an elevator and another 10 to get to the lobby. Love the hotel - hate the elevator. Stay on a lower level and take the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Clarksville Tn
Jan 31, 2011

Not impressed

I have to say I was disappointed in the hotel. It was more expensive than past hotels we stayed in but not as nice. I feel for the price you're paying they should at least have complimentary coffee. We didn't have a refrigerator in the room. The food in the restaurant was quite expensive. This hotel is more for people going to conventions than for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekender grl
Family
Brandon, ms
Nov 6, 2012

Close to BJCC

Walking distance from BJCC and to beautiful fountains downtown. Inside pool was closed for repairs so that was a minus. Overall good service and amazingly comfy beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Kind of pricey..

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Player J
Couples
Northport, Al
Nov 20, 2013

Given double beds instead of King as requested..

Only disappointment, did not have a King size bed as requested and confirmed beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 13, 2007

OK

CONSTRUCTION WAS GOIMG ON IN HOTEL. DIDN'T GET OUR NEWSPAPER. LOCATION IS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

LOCATION NEXT TO CIVIC CENTER AND JUST OFF INTERSTATE IS GREAT

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chude
Single
dublin, Ireland
Apr 7, 2010

great place

the hotel was great but the pool was small and has no free parking as in other sheraton hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

it was great.

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 7, 2008

Close to airport

Food and drink were very expensive, and there were few other options for eating out. No free internet access in the rooms, which is a little cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn to like Subway sandwiches, as that is the closest food option outside of the hotel.

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mobile, AL
Feb 11, 2010

Elegant and Refined

The Sheraton was beautiful, convenient (other than concert traffic when I arrived) and INCREDIBLY elegant. The rooms are expensive feeling- but in a simple, refined way that comes off as classy without feeling elitist. Staff was absolutely excellent including the valet service which was wonderful when I left some things in my car I ended up needing late at night. No problems with noise, etc and the hotel (being as expensive as it is) feels absolutely safe and secure. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is surprising that meals are not in any way included in the expensive rates- but I wasn't there for the food to begin with. The ONLY problem I had was that water in the ENTIRE HOTEL went out for about two and a half hours the night I was there around midnight. All in all, I will definitely be staying at the Sheraton next time I come back to Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top