$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

3 stars
2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North, Birmingham, AL 35203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
43 reviews
Great Stay!

I accidentally messed up my reservation and it was taken care of by the hotel without a problem. I... See full review

  • mwoods57
  • Jul 31, 2014
Business Perfect

Very efficient staff. Business friendly environment. See full review

  • devans
  • Mar 24, 2014
Updated convention center hotel is the meeting place in Birmingham
Located in the heart of the central business district of Birmingham, the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel features a fitness center, an indoor pool and easy access to the nearby entertainment district of Five Points. One of Alabama's best-known convention hotels, the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel is connected to the convention center and hooked up for business, with numerous corporate and government offices less than one mile away.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby
  • Heated indoor pool and fitness center
  • Connected to Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Complex
  • A 100 percent smoke-free facility
  • Allow pets of up to 80 pounds (no deposit with credit card)
Rooms
The Sheraton Birmingham Hotel offers 757 rooms and suites that all feature signature Sweet Sleeper Beds, with pillowtop mattresses and luxurious duvets. Rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, makeup/shaving mirror, coffee-maker, safe and flat-screen television. Bathrooms boast signature amenities. Choose from a balcony or atrium view at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel.
Features
Guests of the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel never need to leave the premises. The Atrium Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, and Casey's Sports Bar and Grill serves up dishes like burgers and ribs for lunch, and dinner. Enjoy cocktails with colleagues in the lobby at Moretti's and on the way out the door in the morning, La Tazza has coffee and a quick bite. Guests can also exercise at the on-site fitness facility, or go for a swim in the indoor heated pool.
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (4 mi/6.4km)
Attractions
  • Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • McWane Science Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Five Points South Historic District (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Birmingham Zoo (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Oxmoor Valley (14 mi/22.5km)
Business
  • In-room Internet service (daily fee applies)
  • Offers 315,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and dedicated executive meeting specialist on staff
  • Sheraton Link 24-hour business center with free Internet, boarding pass printing, faxing and copies
  • Skyway access to Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Complex

Hotel Map

33.5249 -86.8106
Area served
Birmingham, Homewood, Hoover, Mountain Brook, Vestavia
Nearby airports
Bessemer Airport, (EKY), 10.00, MI; Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport, (BHM), 4.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Birmingham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Sheraton Birmingham Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric from Lima
Business
Lima, OH, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Exceeded all expectations

I only have positive thoughts related to this fine hotel. I wish that there would have more restaurants within walking distance but it was built to be next to the convention center so I understand that logic and don't fault the hotel. The airport shuttle was timely and dependable. It was the staff I encountered that were all so helpful and courteous that stand out though. A great hotel for anyone visiting Birmingham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scranton, SC
Jan 4, 2010

Ain't what its cracked up to be

Went there for the bowl game. Was charged $15per day for internet.$20 per day for parking.$1.93 per cup of coffee. Nestle bottled water was $2.50. Rm was ok bed was comfortable. Ants in the bathroom, no pressure, stained carpet. Delevery folks could not go past lobby. Valet was constantly late or not available. This place will nickle and dime you all day everyday. 26 dollars for buffet dinner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Dont stay here, it will be a nightmare to you if you are use to having internet and parking at your hotel.

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jodybo
Lebanon,tn
May 2, 2009

Room stunk like it had water damage and

Very bad experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Jul 7, 2010

holiday Weekend

The bathroom wasn't very clean. They advertised new renovation, but this wasn't impressive. We found food on the floor after checking in. Also, you had to pay for internet services with wifi only in certain areas of the lobby. Also, room very humid with the air conditioner on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CarolinagirlFlying
Business
Charlotte nc
Jan 27, 2014

If you like freezing, this is your hotel

I stayed here 1/24/2014. With my job, I stay at a LOT of hotels, but I've never had one with a regulator on the thermostat set that low,. The room was cold, they wouldn't provide a space heater and I requested 2 blankets that were never delivered. Also, the shower provides water warm enough to not be cold but not very hot. After 5 minutes, the warm water ran out and there was only cold. If it weren't for the fact that my company contracts with them, I would NEVER stay here again. I will do everything I can to avoid staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom visiting family
Nuevo, CA
Jan 25, 2010

So So Quality

With this hotel being so close to the convention center...I thought they would at least offer free internet service-NO. Very limited on the TV channels. Shower/tub was poorly patched...chipped and looked old. Housekeeping did not visit our room the first day- and on our final morning they were knocking to come in- why did they not wait till check out at 11AM! How rude! Front desk was really friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yellow
Birmingham AL
Aug 8, 2010

Hotel Stay @ Sheraton

the staff was very helpful and very customer friendly, however the carpets outside of the rooms were stained and dirty looking, also having no microwaves nor refridgerators in the rooms was a huge disappointment. Paula Abdullah

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the public trolley system was very useful

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 13, 2010

Birmingham review

No parking valet at front of hotel, had to find a place to park about 2 blocks away.....front desk was understaffed.....waited 20 minutes to check in around midnight......no service at breakfast the next morning, no one there to seat me and there was no self-seating sign, so didn't know what to do... then my coffee and small OJ cost me $9.00 before I even ordered anything else.....toilet in my room kept running all night, something is wrong with it, had to shut my bathroom door to sleep, lightswitch on lamp above nightstand would not turn off, so had to unplug it. Other than above, visit was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Jun 20, 2011

Nope

Highway outside my window. I'm on the 12th floor and it is still incredibly loud. It seems like the issue is that I got the room through a popular internet site. So even though it is a Monday and the hotel is way under capacity (confirmed by various staff) I got a noisy bad room in their tower building. . I will not be staying here again on my return trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 1, 2009

needs some work!

Lovely room, trouble with air conditioning, room not replenished with coffee [did ask that bed not be made and towels not be replaces, but no other clean up was done.] Told shuttle left at 4:00 AM on Sunday and when I arrived at 3:50 no one in lobby, then finally told no shuttle till 5:00 AM for 6:00 flight. Finally got shuttle but was in tears by then! Disappointed by this Sheraton, Chicago Sheraton stay was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Nice Hotel - No so nice location

The hotel rooms and lobby have been renovated and are really nice but the hallways are a mess. The carpet is badly stained and smells terrible. There also seems to be no air conditioning in the hallway. We ordered room service several times. It was prompt, the staff courteous and the food was good, though pricey. The main problem with this hotel is that there is absolutely no dining or shopping within walking distance. The hotel has basically two restaurants. We only ate at one of them, but it was good. We went out one night to try something new and the concierge told us that there just weren't any restaurants in the area. We asked him to get us a cab and he just shook his head at us. You can get a cab but you need reservations for that. He suggested we take the DART - a trolley that runs downtown - to get to the 5 points district which has several restaurants. It costs a quarter and runs every 30 minutes so we tried it out. That worked out OK, but not what we would have chosen to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a car, this is not a good place to stay. There are many fine attractions in Birmingham, but none except the art museum and convention center that are close enough to walk.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search