$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Rime Garden Inn and Suites

3 stars
5320 Beacon Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
69 reviews
A True Blessing!

We were really blessed to have the opportunity to stay at this hotel! The suite was very clean, the... See full review

  • Reverend H.
  • Oct 21, 2013
unforgetble bussiness trip.

I feel very comfortable ,safe and happy in this hotel. The suite is a good size, clean and cozy... See full review

  • vikina
  • Apr 11, 2014
The Rime Garden Inn & Suites campus-style environment is relaxing and invigorating; High-Speed Internet, Complimentary Breakfast Buffet & 24-hr shuttle transportation are just a few of our plentiful amenities. The property is within walking distance of shopping and a beautiful park with tennis courts, walking track, playground, and pavilion. We offer membership to an off-site full service gym. The Rime Garden Inn and Suites offers full service meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 200 people. Let the hotel's professional sales and catering staff assist you in planning a successful event. A stay with The Rime Garden Inn and Suites puts you minutes away from the Birmingham airport, EWTN, malls, Birmingham Motor sports Park and all of Birmingham. A credit card or cash deposit must be presented at check-in for incidental charges.

Hotel Map

33.5306 -86.6967
Area served
Interstate 20 exit 133, Kilgore-Memorial Dr. Conveniently located only 1 mile from Interstates 59 & 459. Just 3 miles from Birmingham International Airport. 1 mile from EWTN studio. Walking distance from a park with walking track and pavillion.
Nearby airports
Birmingham International Airport (BMH). 24 hour shuttle service. Park & Fly package available-free parking.
Area description
The Rime Garden Inn and Suites is located in East Birmingham/Irondale near the Eternal Word Television Network (EWTN), Birmingham Race Course and Barber Motor Sports Park. Across the street from Beacon Park. Conveniently access all of Birmingham from our property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rime Garden Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Rime Garden Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Suite
This spacious suite offers 2 Double Beds with high-speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, microwave / stove, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, kitchen, private patio or balcony, and guest laundry.
King Suite
This spacious suite offers 1 King Bed with high-speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, microwave / stove, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, kitchen, private patio or balcony, and guest laundry.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 6.8 mi
  • Legion Field: 8.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Rime Garden Inn & Suites offers full service meeting facilities that can accomodate 10 to 200 people. Whether you require assistance in planning a business meeting or social function, our sales and catering staff is available to help make it a success. Meeting facilities include 5 Garden Suites, Triple Crown Room, and Magnolia Grille & Lounge

Dining

Magnolia Grille
The Magnolia Grille serves our complimentary, hot breakfast buffet daily. Breakfast is served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am Monday-Friday and 7:00 am to 10:00 am Saturday and Sunday. Dinner hours are from 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm Tuesday-Saturday. Room service is available during dinner hours.
Area Dining
Restaurants within 2 miles of the property: Irondale Whistlestop Cafe, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Logan's, Hamburger Heaven, Villa Fiesta, Golden Rule BBQ, Subway, McDonald's, Krystal, Arby's, Wendy's, Taco Bell, and more
Magnolia Lounge
A relaxing setting to enjoy an evening cocktail or cheer on your favorite team. The Magnolia Lounge is open 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm Tuesday-Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 69
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mystique
Cleveland, OH
Mar 17, 2014

just ok

The room is simple, old furniture ; could use some updating like fresh paint, new smoke alarms, remodeled bathroom, ...truthfully the price should've been cheaper for what u get but the staff was very accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jane P
gilbert, AZ
Dec 22, 2013

ICK!

Wow, you may have lost a customer in us big O....we've always trusted you to give us good options and this place shouldn't even be listed in anything including the word 'hotel' or 'accommodations'....we ate the reservation fee and cost of the place...walked in, walked out. Drove all night to our next destination city rather than stay here...old, dumpy, dirty apartment complex with a duct-taped entry gate bar and no outside lighting. Run, don't walk away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sissy88
Summertown TN
Dec 1, 2013

would stay again

Excellent value......room was old but the staff was great and the bed was clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BB Spruiell
birmingham, al
Aug 23, 2013

HORRIBLE!

When you walk in the lobby/office, its pretty and nice. Looks like it was just renovated. However, the room is old, dirty, and the bed is uncomfortable. The rooms are set up like an apartment so this place is really only good if you need a lot of room. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you're broke and have a large family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nascar Talladega
Jasper, AL
May 8, 2012

weekend getaway

The carpet looked dirty and worn a couple wholes in carpet in the closet. The couch was showing some signs of fraying on the cushions edge. The beds were comfortable. There was no shampoo or conditioner for hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
birmingham, al
May 2, 2011

Not what I was expecting

I had my 12th birthday at this hotel and I am 25 now and nothing has changed since then. The room smelled funny liked moth balls and there was a perminate stain in the bath tub so I was scared to shower without shoes on there wasn't any soap or any toiletries in the room. The bedding didnt seem to clean either and I realized the bedding probably hasn't been changed either because there was a condom under the mattress so the bedding couldn't have been new. I wouldn't visit this hotel again unless it was free. Also they said check in was at 3pm I arrived at that time and had to wait another 20mins before getting checked in. The lady at the front desk wasn't rude to me but was very rude using profanity towards another customer and that wasn't very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Really close fast food resturants

Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Cnada
Jan 17, 2011

It should be not more thn ONE STAR.

The service was very poor. I phoned for coffee and tea as was told me both will be in the room soon but none came to the room. I have to go to the front desk to get and was told no tea but only coffee, which was away from the room. Very little hot water, was taking showers and the hot water finished in between, have to come out, waited 20 minutes then hot water came and finished showers same thingh everyday . The manager does everything, cooking in the restaurant, run the shuttle service, looked after the hot breakfast which was in fact cold as burners were off, bartender etc. Food was not prepared well as the charges were. No plaza/ shops nearby so had to eat in the restaurant with very few items. Will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Must rent a car as nothing is close by.

Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raycash
Leeds,Al
Feb 15, 2010

good location for the price

I enjoyed my stay at the Rime garden inn except the fact that the heating unit didn,t warm up my room too good.I was cold during my entire stay. i enyoyed the complimentary breakfast but the sorry heating system ruined my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not stay in the winter unless you like a cold room.

Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
dfw
Jul 28, 2009

ok, it has begun to run down over the ye

When I last stayed there it was a memory that generated a desire for a return trip. Now it is the same as it was 7 yrs ago, no updates or changes. No kitchen ammenities, or bath ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sonomaeditor
Santa Rosa
Jun 19, 2009

REALLY SUBSTANDARD

Hey, this place welcomes pets! We thought that was great. But the price to be paid was an unrelenting cat urine stench that permeated the entire main building, especially the lobby. We arrived after dinner on a 95-degree day, and our room was sweltering. Took about an hour to cool it down. The carpet and the furnishings were at least 15 to 20 years old, and had really taken a serious beating. The kitchen was pretty much nonfunctional, and the countertops were chipped, cracked, falling apart. Don't know how long it had been since that bedspread had been laundered... Ugh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search