$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Rime Garden Inn and Suites

3 stars
5320 Beacon Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
72 reviews
A True Blessing!

We were really blessed to have the opportunity to stay at this hotel! The suite was very clean, the... See full review

  • Reverend H.
  • Oct 21, 2013
unforgetble bussiness trip.

I feel very comfortable ,safe and happy in this hotel. The suite is a good size, clean and cozy... See full review

  • vikina
  • Apr 11, 2014
The Rime Garden Inn & Suites campus-style environment is relaxing and invigorating; High-Speed Internet, Complimentary Breakfast Buffet & 24-hr shuttle transportation are just a few of our plentiful amenities. The property is within walking distance of shopping and a beautiful park with tennis courts, walking track, playground, and pavilion. We offer membership to an off-site full service gym. The Rime Garden Inn and Suites offers full service meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 200 people. Let the hotel's professional sales and catering staff assist you in planning a successful event. A stay with The Rime Garden Inn and Suites puts you minutes away from the Birmingham airport, EWTN, malls, Birmingham Motor sports Park and all of Birmingham. A credit card or cash deposit must be presented at check-in for incidental charges.

Hotel Map

33.5306 -86.6967
Area served
Interstate 20 exit 133, Kilgore-Memorial Dr. Conveniently located only 1 mile from Interstates 59 & 459. Just 3 miles from Birmingham International Airport. 1 mile from EWTN studio. Walking distance from a park with walking track and pavillion.
Nearby airports
Birmingham International Airport (BMH). 24 hour shuttle service. Park & Fly package available-free parking.
Area description
The Rime Garden Inn and Suites is located in East Birmingham/Irondale near the Eternal Word Television Network (EWTN), Birmingham Race Course and Barber Motor Sports Park. Across the street from Beacon Park. Conveniently access all of Birmingham from our property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rime Garden Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Rime Garden Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Suite
This spacious suite offers 2 Double Beds with high-speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, microwave / stove, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, kitchen, private patio or balcony, and guest laundry.
King Suite
This spacious suite offers 1 King Bed with high-speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, microwave / stove, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, kitchen, private patio or balcony, and guest laundry.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 6.8 mi
  • Legion Field: 8.5 mi

Dining

Magnolia Grille
The Magnolia Grille serves our complimentary, hot breakfast buffet daily. Breakfast is served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am Monday-Friday and 7:00 am to 10:00 am Saturday and Sunday. Dinner hours are from 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm Tuesday-Saturday. Room service is available during dinner hours.
Area Dining
Restaurants within 2 miles of the property: Irondale Whistlestop Cafe, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Logan's, Hamburger Heaven, Villa Fiesta, Golden Rule BBQ, Subway, McDonald's, Krystal, Arby's, Wendy's, Taco Bell, and more
Magnolia Lounge
A relaxing setting to enjoy an evening cocktail or cheer on your favorite team. The Magnolia Lounge is open 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm Tuesday-Saturday.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Rime Garden Inn & Suites offers full service meeting facilities that can accomodate 10 to 200 people. Whether you require assistance in planning a business meeting or social function, our sales and catering staff is available to help make it a success. Meeting facilities include 5 Garden Suites, Triple Crown Room, and Magnolia Grille & Lounge

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
May 3, 2011

Clean and neat

Arrived to find a neatly appointed hotel room with a mini kitchen unit. Seems the building is a converted set of condos. Would not have been my first choice but was very pleasantly surprised, and I would consider staying here again, especially if here for several days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BAY AREA
May 3, 2011

terrible odor

Nice size kitchen, livingroom, dining room and bedroom. Stains on the carpet and on the furniture. The bathroom was very small and hard to manuever in. The hot water didn't last past one shower. The bedroom reeked of urine! I booked a king size bed and received a room with 2 double beds. The hot breakfast was nice but not worth the other issues. I appreciated the free internet. The workers were really pleasant and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
birmingham, al
May 2, 2011

Not what I was expecting

I had my 12th birthday at this hotel and I am 25 now and nothing has changed since then. The room smelled funny liked moth balls and there was a perminate stain in the bath tub so I was scared to shower without shoes on there wasn't any soap or any toiletries in the room. The bedding didnt seem to clean either and I realized the bedding probably hasn't been changed either because there was a condom under the mattress so the bedding couldn't have been new. I wouldn't visit this hotel again unless it was free. Also they said check in was at 3pm I arrived at that time and had to wait another 20mins before getting checked in. The lady at the front desk wasn't rude to me but was very rude using profanity towards another customer and that wasn't very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Really close fast food resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Cnada
Jan 17, 2011

It should be not more thn ONE STAR.

The service was very poor. I phoned for coffee and tea as was told me both will be in the room soon but none came to the room. I have to go to the front desk to get and was told no tea but only coffee, which was away from the room. Very little hot water, was taking showers and the hot water finished in between, have to come out, waited 20 minutes then hot water came and finished showers same thingh everyday . The manager does everything, cooking in the restaurant, run the shuttle service, looked after the hot breakfast which was in fact cold as burners were off, bartender etc. Food was not prepared well as the charges were. No plaza/ shops nearby so had to eat in the restaurant with very few items. Will never go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Must rent a car as nothing is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jan 11, 2011

Rime Garden Inn Review

Due to the weather, the hotel was very accomodating. The personnel was very friendly and professional. Because of the weather, stayed another night. Comfort and convenient. Transportation was very convenient and timely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bamavic
Business
Demopolis, AL
Dec 6, 2010

Good stay

Quiet, easy access, freindly staff. Rooms are large, suite type with full kitchen. Reasonably clean. My only complaint was a long wait at the airport for a return ride back on the limo but I have not had this problem in two previous stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria a fairly reasonable drive from hotel, airport is only about 5 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
birmingham, al
Nov 15, 2010

ok

room was clean! room was more like apartment, there were no dishes or pans in kitchen. furniture was real outdated. had a balcony that was nice. i liked the room because it was quit and felt safe there. It was worth the money.. more privacy than a normal hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham,Al
Nov 15, 2010

Wonderful

I really enjoied my stay here. It was very nice and clean. And I loved that it had a den and kitchen and a door too the bathroom. It was very nice and Im likely too stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
25 year road warrior
Business
Chantilly, VA
Oct 14, 2010

OK if you have Low Expectations

For the price, it is clean and serviceable. Just don't expect much. If you are looking for the service that you could get from a Holiday Inn Express or a Hampton Inn, go to those places. But if you want some space (the rooms are one bedroom apartments)and don't want to pay much, then this is a fair deal. The place has not seen an upgrade since it was built (about 1980?) and really could use some love. But at the rate you can adjust. This could be a strong bargain if you have a long term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great BBQ place that is a short drive, 20 minute walk - "Golden Rule BBQ" - great service and a great deal. Most of the rest of the offerings are fast food. It is reported that there are only 4 - 5 "sit-down" places within a mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson, ms
Jul 29, 2010

never again, will i be staying there.

overall, it is a beautiful hotel. problems were i payed for double beds and only got a king size one, there were not enough towels, and you have to go to the lobby for internet service; i wanted to use my laptop in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top