$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Rime Garden Inn and Suites

3 stars
5320 Beacon Drive, Birmingham, AL 35210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
69 reviews
A True Blessing!

We were really blessed to have the opportunity to stay at this hotel! The suite was very clean, the... See full review

  • Reverend H.
  • Oct 21, 2013
unforgetble bussiness trip.

I feel very comfortable ,safe and happy in this hotel. The suite is a good size, clean and cozy... See full review

  • vikina
  • Apr 11, 2014
The Rime Garden Inn & Suites campus-style environment is relaxing and invigorating; High-Speed Internet, Complimentary Breakfast Buffet & 24-hr shuttle transportation are just a few of our plentiful amenities. The property is within walking distance of shopping and a beautiful park with tennis courts, walking track, playground, and pavilion. We offer membership to an off-site full service gym. The Rime Garden Inn and Suites offers full service meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 200 people. Let the hotel's professional sales and catering staff assist you in planning a successful event. A stay with The Rime Garden Inn and Suites puts you minutes away from the Birmingham airport, EWTN, malls, Birmingham Motor sports Park and all of Birmingham. A credit card or cash deposit must be presented at check-in for incidental charges.

Hotel Map

33.5306 -86.6967
Area served
Interstate 20 exit 133, Kilgore-Memorial Dr. Conveniently located only 1 mile from Interstates 59 & 459. Just 3 miles from Birmingham International Airport. 1 mile from EWTN studio. Walking distance from a park with walking track and pavillion.
Nearby airports
Birmingham International Airport (BMH). 24 hour shuttle service. Park & Fly package available-free parking.
Area description
The Rime Garden Inn and Suites is located in East Birmingham/Irondale near the Eternal Word Television Network (EWTN), Birmingham Race Course and Barber Motor Sports Park. Across the street from Beacon Park. Conveniently access all of Birmingham from our property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rime Garden Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Rime Garden Inn and Suites Rooms

Double Suite
This spacious suite offers 2 Double Beds with high-speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, microwave / stove, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, kitchen, private patio or balcony, and guest laundry.
King Suite
This spacious suite offers 1 King Bed with high-speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, microwave / stove, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, kitchen, private patio or balcony, and guest laundry.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 6.8 mi
  • Legion Field: 8.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Rime Garden Inn & Suites offers full service meeting facilities that can accomodate 10 to 200 people. Whether you require assistance in planning a business meeting or social function, our sales and catering staff is available to help make it a success. Meeting facilities include 5 Garden Suites, Triple Crown Room, and Magnolia Grille & Lounge

Dining

Magnolia Grille
The Magnolia Grille serves our complimentary, hot breakfast buffet daily. Breakfast is served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am Monday-Friday and 7:00 am to 10:00 am Saturday and Sunday. Dinner hours are from 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm Tuesday-Saturday. Room service is available during dinner hours.
Area Dining
Restaurants within 2 miles of the property: Irondale Whistlestop Cafe, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Logan's, Hamburger Heaven, Villa Fiesta, Golden Rule BBQ, Subway, McDonald's, Krystal, Arby's, Wendy's, Taco Bell, and more
Magnolia Lounge
A relaxing setting to enjoy an evening cocktail or cheer on your favorite team. The Magnolia Lounge is open 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm Tuesday-Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eagles11
Pa
Apr 15, 2012

Close to the airport

We picked this hotel because it was close to the airport and provided free shuttle service . We had been on a campus visit to University of Alabama. We Checked in very late and left before 5:00am to catch a 6:00am. flight. The room was clean, would have liked to have taken advantage of the free buffet but it did not start before we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
never again ever
Pay Anywhere, Las Vegas, NV 89109, USA
Apr 3, 2012

rime garden inn

no shampoo. very dirty carpets. did not feel safe here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al the photographer
Business
Florida
Apr 3, 2012

Definitely a budget operation

No soap or shampoo. No silver or glass/china in the kitchen. The bar was seldom open. Other than a great location close to the airport, not much else to say positive about it. Furniture and room were tired and needed paint and repair. Televisions were two very small table sets. Clock radio didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Barber raceway about 6 miles away

Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 24, 2011

Not recommended

Stayed here overnight and left early to take a flight the next morning. Check-in was easy enough, but our room (101) was on the bottom floor of the building and was basically unlit outside, plus the (totally dark) stairwell smelled strongly of urine; not an attractive first impression! Inside the room, everything was clean, and to be fair, it did include a kitchenette with oven and refrigerator, but all the appliances were quite old and dated and there was no microwave. Don't even think about looking for flat-screen TVs here. Beds were acceptable, if not fancy, and at least the A/C worked well. However, there was almost nothing in the way of provided toiletries in the restroom (no shampoo, conditioner, etc). Unfortunately with our 7:00am flight the next morning, we had to leave before breakfast was available so I can't rate that. Wi-fi was only available in the lobby, near as I could tell; we certainly did not have access to it in our hotel room. There's a reason their website shows lots of pictures of their lobby and few pictures of the rooms... you can tell where they spent their money! In short, relative to the hotel we booked at our destination in Albuquerque NM, we got a far less satisfying, if slightly roomier, stay for MORE money - plus the hotel isn't as close to the airport as advertised, either. Avoid this place if you can find any alternatives; I know I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
May 19, 2011

A little seedy

The atmosphere is a little seedy and run-down. There was no soap or shampoo in the room. No coffee cups available at breakfast! or cream and sugar. The one bright point was the staff--very nice and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jupiter, FL
May 17, 2011

If you have babies, don't stay here

"I'm here, but I'm off the clock. The other girl will help you out" was the simple explanation provided by the receptionist standing behind the desk after 5 min of waiting. Breakfast was good, about the only saving grace of this place with [...] serving :). Rust stains in the tub and toilet made it look like it wasn't cleaned. Furniture was falling apart and worn. There were no bedskirts and the sheets did not fit. The kitchenette had no dishes. No soap or shampoo for the forgetful traveler. It's not a hotel, it's an apartment complex that rents out one bedroom units as hotel rooms, good for bigger families who don't mind living in these conditions.Would've been ok with this room as a college student, but then again, tent camping would've been more preferrable than this place.Would not recommend this to anyone with children or any person who wants to feel that the place they sleep in is 'clean.' Couldn't wait for morning to come so we could check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bigma2
Clanton, Al
May 7, 2011

Very nice accommodations

I booked with this hotel because it offered shuttle service to the airport. It was after I had made the reservation and paid for the room,that I read the reviews. I became somewhat apprehensive because there had been several bad reviews for the hotel. However I was extremely pleased with the room, cleanliness, and service of the staff. I highly recommend the Rime Garden Inn and Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
May 3, 2011

Clean and neat

Arrived to find a neatly appointed hotel room with a mini kitchen unit. Seems the building is a converted set of condos. Would not have been my first choice but was very pleasantly surprised, and I would consider staying here again, especially if here for several days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
BAY AREA
May 3, 2011

terrible odor

Nice size kitchen, livingroom, dining room and bedroom. Stains on the carpet and on the furniture. The bathroom was very small and hard to manuever in. The hot water didn't last past one shower. The bedroom reeked of urine! I booked a king size bed and received a room with 2 double beds. The hot breakfast was nice but not worth the other issues. I appreciated the free internet. The workers were really pleasant and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Rime Garden Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
birmingham, al
May 2, 2011

Not what I was expecting

I had my 12th birthday at this hotel and I am 25 now and nothing has changed since then. The room smelled funny liked moth balls and there was a perminate stain in the bath tub so I was scared to shower without shoes on there wasn't any soap or any toiletries in the room. The bedding didnt seem to clean either and I realized the bedding probably hasn't been changed either because there was a condom under the mattress so the bedding couldn't have been new. I wouldn't visit this hotel again unless it was free. Also they said check in was at 3pm I arrived at that time and had to wait another 20mins before getting checked in. The lady at the front desk wasn't rude to me but was very rude using profanity towards another customer and that wasn't very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Really close fast food resturants

Back to menu Return to top

Change search