$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
821 20th Street South, 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
20 reviews
awesome Alabama getaway!!!

From the time I arrived my vacation was enhanced by an awesome hotel experience! The staff was very... See full review

  • vacationing man
  • Apr 23, 2014
New Years Trip

It was a great experience. The amazing location combined with the helpful staff made for an... See full review

  • Slimknows
  • Jan 3, 2014
Welcome to the Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB. We are conveniently located in the historic Five Points South Dining and Entertainment District just steps from the UAB Campus. Relax and enjoy the residential feel of our all suite hotel. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, stay connected with high-speed wired and wireless internet (complimentary) and step out into the Southern hospitality of downtown Birmingham. With multiple James Beard Foundation Award winning restaurants, art galleries, and museums there is something for everyone here in Birmingham. Relax in our pet friendly suites or by the contemporary lobby fireplace, refresh at the outdoor pool or rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center.

Hotel Map

33.5045 -86.7989
Area served
Birmingham
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport, (BHM), 6.00, MI, NE; Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 157.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 20
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salon Nuveaux
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 19, 2013

Business Overnight Stay

I enjoyed this hotel. Not only was the price reasonable, but the staff was very hospitable and the location was close to the BJCC. I have stayed here before, did so this time, and will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Apr 14, 2012

Pleasent Surprise

Great location. The rooms were very accomadating and clean. They were spottless. The staff was friendly. I will stay there everytime I visit B'Ham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 20, 2011

Location & personality

Excellent location in downtown, delightful BHM. Wonderful, patient hotel personnel. All details attended to in a prompt courteous manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PR Gal
Business
Atlanta
Apr 26, 2010

Resident Inn at UAB was great!

This new hotel was in a great location within two blocks of some great restaurants. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The workout area and the rooms were spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within two blocks walking distance try Chez Fon Fon for great food. Try The Mill at 5 Points and Fuego Cantina in the same area for a fun atmosphere. The Highlands Bar and Grill is nearby too and rated for great food, but a more formal dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 13, 2009

Clean, comfortable and convenient

The front desk clerk was pretty gruff when I checked in; other than that the service was fine. Not spectacular, but definitely not bad. I was there for an interview at UAB, and the location was perfect for that. The room was spacious and absolutely spotless, and it felt brand new (which of course it was.) The full kitchen was nice, although I didn't really take advantage of it, and the bed was extremely comfortable. No complaints, and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top