$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
821 20th Street South, 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
20 reviews
awesome Alabama getaway!!!

From the time I arrived my vacation was enhanced by an awesome hotel experience! The staff was very... See full review

  • vacationing man
  • Apr 23, 2014
New Years Trip

It was a great experience. The amazing location combined with the helpful staff made for an... See full review

  • Slimknows
  • Jan 3, 2014
Welcome to the Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB. We are conveniently located in the historic Five Points South Dining and Entertainment District just steps from the UAB Campus. Relax and enjoy the residential feel of our all suite hotel. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, stay connected with high-speed wired and wireless internet (complimentary) and step out into the Southern hospitality of downtown Birmingham. With multiple James Beard Foundation Award winning restaurants, art galleries, and museums there is something for everyone here in Birmingham. Relax in our pet friendly suites or by the contemporary lobby fireplace, refresh at the outdoor pool or rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center.

Hotel Map

33.5045 -86.7989
Area served
Birmingham
Nearby airports
Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport, (BHM), 6.00, MI, NE; Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, (ATL), 157.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salon Nuveaux
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 19, 2013

Business Overnight Stay

I enjoyed this hotel. Not only was the price reasonable, but the staff was very hospitable and the location was close to the BJCC. I have stayed here before, did so this time, and will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Reed The Man
Huntsville, AL
Mar 17, 2014

Hotel Review

Great stay, nice staff, very clean amenities, and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

BJCC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mander
New Orleans, LA
Oct 13, 2009

Sweet Suite!

My boyfriend and I travelled to Birmingham to see a concert. We had a great time and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. My only complaint was that we had some friends come back to our room on a Saturday night and we were asked to keep it quiet. We were on the end of the hotel and it was a weekend night at a hotel where MANY other young people were stayig and being rowdy. The front desk addressed my friend who answered like this was our "last" warning. What were they going to do...kick us out after I had already dropped $300?! I've never been "warned" like that before so that was my only complaint about our stay. The breakfast bar was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Apr 14, 2012

Pleasent Surprise

Great location. The rooms were very accomadating and clean. They were spottless. The staff was friendly. I will stay there everytime I visit B'Ham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWhit
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2011

Comfortable, convenient

We spent two nights. This would be a great place if you needed to visit B'ham for longer. Clean, comfortable efficiency. Location is great for UAB/hospitals. But good otherwise as well. Being close to 5 points is nice. Downtown is an easy, though longish walk. Hotel is also on the bus lines, including the DART (cheap, frequent).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 13, 2009

Clean, comfortable and convenient

The front desk clerk was pretty gruff when I checked in; other than that the service was fine. Not spectacular, but definitely not bad. I was there for an interview at UAB, and the location was perfect for that. The room was spacious and absolutely spotless, and it felt brand new (which of course it was.) The full kitchen was nice, although I didn't really take advantage of it, and the bed was extremely comfortable. No complaints, and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slimknows
Alabama
Jan 8, 2014

Great staff

Awesome! I really like the staff and the location was really close to everything we tried to do in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nascar Momma
Denver, CO
Nov 5, 2012

Quickie vacaction

The staff was great. The girl who ran the breakfast buffett yesterday morning should get an ward for the most personable staff ever. Great location near to great restaurants and music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I 5-dstar restaurant, The Highlands was near-by and delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
huntsville , al
Feb 16, 2010

bham medical district

excellent room and facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from 5points... lots of restaurants and nite clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nichols12
Trussville, Alabama
Feb 10, 2014

parking stinks

Why do I have to pay $10 for each day? Other than the parking everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search