$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
View map of 821 20th Street South, 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New years sleepover
Birmingham, Alabama
Jan 2, 2013

Outstanding

I have to say that I was very pleased with my stay. I walked in the front door greated by the sweetest young lady at the front desk. She handled herself with grace. She let me know about events that were being held there and the times. The room was above amazing. It was the cleanest room I have walked into in a hotel. This hotel goes above and beyond to make sure your stay will be amazing! The bed and pillows were AWESOME! I would love to take the bed and pillows home with me. I want to say Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel! Can not go wrong with this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nascar Momma
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 5, 2012

Quickie vacaction

The staff was great. The girl who ran the breakfast buffett yesterday morning should get an ward for the most personable staff ever. Great location near to great restaurants and music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I 5-dstar restaurant, The Highlands was near-by and delicious

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
predental
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 14, 2012

Great hotel!

The room was spotless and spacious, but the best aspect of this hotel is its location! Located within 5 minute's walking distance is the campus of UAB. A comfortable and convenient hotel that I would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mellow Mushroom, even though it's a chain, has some of the best pizza!

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Apr 14, 2012

Pleasent Surprise

Great location. The rooms were very accomadating and clean. They were spottless. The staff was friendly. I will stay there everytime I visit B'Ham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 20, 2011

Location & personality

Excellent location in downtown, delightful BHM. Wonderful, patient hotel personnel. All details attended to in a prompt courteous manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWhit
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2011

Comfortable, convenient

We spent two nights. This would be a great place if you needed to visit B'ham for longer. Clean, comfortable efficiency. Location is great for UAB/hospitals. But good otherwise as well. Being close to 5 points is nice. Downtown is an easy, though longish walk. Hotel is also on the bus lines, including the DART (cheap, frequent).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jan 3, 2011

Great location, Great time

The staff was very courteous, and the breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Enterprise, AL
Aug 17, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

This hotel was conveniently located in dowtown Birmingham, AL. It had beautiful clean rooms and very helpful and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Birmingham for any type of trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PR Gal
Business
Atlanta
Apr 26, 2010

Resident Inn at UAB was great!

This new hotel was in a great location within two blocks of some great restaurants. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The workout area and the rooms were spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within two blocks walking distance try Chez Fon Fon for great food. Try The Mill at 5 Points and Fuego Cantina in the same area for a fun atmosphere. The Highlands Bar and Grill is nearby too and rated for great food, but a more formal dining experience.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntsville , al
Feb 16, 2010

bham medical district

excellent room and facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from 5points... lots of restaurants and nite clubs

Back to menu Return to top