$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

3 stars
View map of 821 20th Street South, 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
24 reviews
Easter weekend

Great hotel and good location! Can walk to many other interests See full review

  • Josh farnsworth
  • Apr 7, 2015
Business Trip

Daughter was interviewing with UAB. Everything was convenient and comfortable. The service was... See full review

  • Runaway Mom 2
  • Jan 22, 2015
Welcome to the Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB. We are conveniently located in the historic Five Points South Dining and Entertainment District just steps from the UAB Campus. Relax and enjoy the residential feel of our all suite hotel. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, stay connected with high-speed wired and wireless internet (complimentary) and step out into the Southern hospitality of downtown Birmingham. With multiple James Beard Foundation Award winning restaurants, art galleries, and museums there is something for everyone here in Birmingham. Relax in our pet friendly suites or by the contemporary lobby fireplace, refresh at the outdoor pool or rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New years sleepover
Birmingham, Alabama
Jan 2, 2013

Outstanding

I have to say that I was very pleased with my stay. I walked in the front door greated by the sweetest young lady at the front desk. She handled herself with grace. She let me know about events that were being held there and the times. The room was above amazing. It was the cleanest room I have walked into in a hotel. This hotel goes above and beyond to make sure your stay will be amazing! The bed and pillows were AWESOME! I would love to take the bed and pillows home with me. I want to say Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel! Can not go wrong with this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh farnsworth
Business
atlanta
Apr 7, 2015

Easter weekend

Great hotel and good location! Can walk to many other interests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runaway Mom 2
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Business Trip

Daughter was interviewing with UAB. Everything was convenient and comfortable. The service was wonderful and helped my daughter to feel at home. It also helped her to make a decision to relocate to Alabama.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Find out what they are having for dinner before going out to a restaurant. We were told by the hotel staff they were having a light meal, but it turned out to be a wonderful meal and there was plenty. Their definition of a light meal and a northerners definition is 2 entirely different things.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
matt1848
Business
germantown
Jan 14, 2015

trip to see bowl game

We stayed at this hotel for the Birmingham Bowl. It was perfect for what we were looking for. It is located downtown and the property is very clean. I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacationing man
Business
cleveland
Apr 23, 2014

awesome Alabama getaway!!!

From the time I arrived my vacation was enhanced by an awesome hotel experience! The staff was very courteous, the hotel was immaculate, with all the amenities that are standard for residence inn. I don't believe you can ask for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Reed The Man
Business
Huntsville, AL
Mar 17, 2014

Hotel Review

Great stay, nice staff, very clean amenities, and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

BJCC

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nichols12
Business
Trussville, Alabama
Feb 10, 2014

parking stinks

Why do I have to pay $10 for each day? Other than the parking everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slimknows
Business
Alabama
Jan 8, 2014

Great staff

Awesome! I really like the staff and the location was really close to everything we tried to do in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slimknows
Business
Alabama
Jan 3, 2014

New Years Trip

It was a great experience. The amazing location combined with the helpful staff made for an incredible getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Slice Pizza is awesome!

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salon Nuveaux
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 19, 2013

Business Overnight Stay

I enjoyed this hotel. Not only was the price reasonable, but the staff was very hospitable and the location was close to the BJCC. I have stayed here before, did so this time, and will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McDonough Music
Business
McDonough, Georgia
Jun 9, 2013

Grand child's birthday.

Everything about the experience was great! The check-in and subsequent morning front desk persons could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. We would definitely here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top