$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

3 stars
2021 Park Place, Birmingham, AL 35203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
17 reviews
Great Stay

I have stayed at this hotel when ever I have had business in Birmingham. It has a fantastic... See full review

  • ZambelliPyro
  • Oct 5, 2014
Great Stay

We had a really nice stay here. No complaints. Staff very attentive and the breakfast was pretty good. See full review

  • Working mom of 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
experience luxury in the heart of Dixie...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown/Tutwiler, ALBirmingham has been called "the last major Southern city," and when you stay at our downtown Birmingham hotel, you'll discover why. While it's true that the largest city in Alabama continually grows more sophisticated, we still cling to many ways of the small town South. So don't be surprised at the symphony when you hear patrons discussing rival college football games. And though you'll find arugula salad in our upscale establishments, there'll be plenty of chances to savor down-home chicken fried steak near our hotel in Birmingham.If you're looking for a luxurious Birmingham hotel, look no further than the Hampton Inn & Suites® Birmingham-Downtown/Tutwiler, AL hotel. Nestled in the heart of downtown, this historic Birmingham hotel is just steps away from all our vibrant city has to offer, such as: Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Alabama Theatre, Birmingham Museum of Art and Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame.services & amenitiesEven if you're in Birmingham to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. That's why we offer a full range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay with us exceptional.Are you planning a meeting? Wedding? Family reunion? Little League game? Let us help you with our easy booking and rooming list management tools. * Meetings & Events * Local restaurant guide

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZambelliPyro
Business
Summerville, SC
Oct 5, 2014

Great Stay

I have stayed at this hotel when ever I have had business in Birmingham. It has a fantastic restaurant attached and the staff is always great. They over a shuttle to the airport and to other parts of town for other activities. AND, I don't believe in ghosts anyway.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try an appetizer. They are all presented well and taste great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joekt
Business
jacksonville, fl
Sep 8, 2014

overnight stay for a wedding

average and adequate, small rooms, wi-fi never worked even after a call to the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RA61
Business
New York, NY
Sep 6, 2014

Shower didn't work

My room was fine, but my co-worker's room had a shower that didn't work and the hotel staff were unable to fix it in a timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working mom of 2
Business
Tennesee
Aug 14, 2014

Great Stay

We had a really nice stay here. No complaints. Staff very attentive and the breakfast was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working mom of 2
Business
Tennesee
Aug 10, 2014

Great stay

The only negative was $20 day valet parking. Otherwise it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gzork the Martian
Business
Earth
Oct 13, 2013

Nice Oldie in heart of cultural district

Easy to access just off I 20/59 downtown, but no traffic or noise. Great bar, nice views, Henly Park across street. Suggest you park on the street or in a garage- they have valet only and get $18/day, even for a bike. Several really good restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 218

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie from Mobile
Business
Mobile, AL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

"Wicked"-ly wonderful!

I'm originally from Birmgham and went up from Mobile to see "Wicked." I knew the Tutwiller from my history with the city and was excited at being able to stay there. That excitement turned to joy from the moment the valet helped park my car (I went in the wrong drive) all the way thru the same young man handing my keys back to me the next morning. Check in was a breeze, with the young lady even calling me by name BEFORE I introduced myself. The room was beautiful and looked out over the old Birmingham library, which brought back such sweet memories as that is where my parents took me as a child and where I developed my lifelong love of literature. The bed was soft, cozy and invited me to sleep. It was a wonderful evening and if I can get that rate or better, I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken d
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 14, 2011

Great Stay

Being on business you don't normally stay in the greatest of hotels. This was a great classy hotel. A great job was done on the restoration of an old builing, keeping its charm, but very modern inside. Good breakfast and cheerful staff. I will be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnaB
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Good location, hotel OK

Positive: - good location - very nice staff - comfortable bed - breakfast included Negative: - expensive - no parking except for valet at $17 per day - small room - breakfast looked more like what I've had in motels Overall, I think it's overpriced. Good hotels in other cities offer more or at least better quality for $160 a night. There is nothing to complain really about, but it's just the minimum necessary, which doesn't justify the high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glendale, az
Aug 5, 2011

great stay at hampton inn tutweiler

Located conveniently off high,in downtown Birmingham,walking distance of civil rights museum and other historic atttractions. Friendly staff, small gym room but sufficient for our needs, however no pool or gift shop. 15 to 20 minutes away from 24 hour Walmart by highway. Very good trip.Free breakfast each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

carry your own cork screw for wine bottle opening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top