$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

3 stars
View map of 808 South 20th Street, Birmingham, AL 35205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
17 reviews
Graduation trip

The trip overall was great, except that housekeeping did not come in until almost four pm (so we... See full review

  • TS.508
  • Jan 15, 2015
Graduation trip

The trip overall was great, except that housekeeping did not come in until almost four pm (so we... See full review

  • TS.508
  • Jan 15, 2015
Adjacent to the University of Alabama Birmingham campus and walking distance to the vibrant shopping, dining and nightlife of South Point, the Doubletree Hotel Birmingham is a convenient downtown perch for enjoying everything the city has to offer. Convenient, comfortable and consistent, Doubletree Hotel Birmingham is a modestly priced choice that sweetens the deal with a welcoming chocolate chip cookie.
Rooms
All the 298 rooms at the Doubletree Hotel Birmingham feature signature Sweet Dreams beds. Each room is equipped with an alarm clock with MP3 station, flat-screen television with pay-per-view and free HBO, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and coffee-maker. Bathrooms feature granite countertops and Neutrogena amenities. A functional workspace with ergonomic chairs, desktop outlets, two-line speaker phone and good lighting are nice bonuses for the business traveler. In-room Wi-Fi is available for a fee at the Doubletree Hotel Birmingham.
Property features
808 South, a Bistro serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Room service is also available. Doubletree Hotel Birmingham is within walking distance of the numerous restaurants and bars to choose from in Five Point.
Highlights
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center and outdoor swimming pool
  • Airport shuttle service
  • Convenient to the University of Alabama Birmingham and downtown
Nearby attractions
  • Five Points South (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • McWane Science Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Birmingham Zoo (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Birmingham Botanical Gardens (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Offers 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space that can accommodate banquets for 475, or a theater-style presentation for 900
  • Executive suites for board meetings and small groups
Transportation
  • Birmingham International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham also booked these hotels.

★★★
$104
4.0 / 5 23 reviews
★★
$52
2.0 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$119
3.8 / 5 37 reviews
★★★
$143
3.6 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.2 / 5 6 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bartow Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Legion Field: 2.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TS.508
Family
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2015

Graduation trip

The trip overall was great, except that housekeeping did not come in until almost four pm (so we came back to an unmade room).. which is when we had just come back .. when i asked them to come back a little later in around an hour, they refused. I am not sure if this is the general trend but it was definitely not expected. I hope someone looks into this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect if you have work at UAB.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TS.508
Family
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2015

Graduation trip

The trip overall was great, except that housekeeping did not come in until almost four pm (so we came back to an unmade room).. which is when we had just come back .. when i asked them to come back a little later in around an hour, they refused. I am not sure if this is the general trend but it was definitely not expected. I hope someone looks into this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

perfect if you have work at UAB.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MCHURST
Family
Sewanee, Tennessee
Aug 6, 2014

It was a dirty room.

The staff was polite and efficient, the bar service was excellent, the location is good. The only problem was the room. The room was dirty. There Was a condom wrapper on the floor and an earring on the floor as well as other debris. Also the room reeked of bleach that gave the three of us a headache. The shower was not good. No water pressure. Also the a/c was not impressive in Alabama in August. It is time to overhaul this hotel in my opinion. It was way too expensive for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Surin of Thailand in five points was wonderful

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rafi Bomb
Friends
Jackson, MS
Jun 9, 2014

Wedding weekend

Great weekend with friends. The hotel is within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. Also, the hotel has some of the fastest elevators I've been on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picky Pam
Couples
Tennessee
May 6, 2013

One night only

I picked the DoubleTree because a friend of mine told me it was closest to the Birmingham social scene. 5 points is just a short walk away which is nice but the hotel can best be described as average. Also, if you put the address into your GPS, it takes you to the ghetto, not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shane615
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Business trip

Great room! But be aware the parking pass they give you is not free! 10 bucks a day! And was not told in advance :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Phila, PA
Jul 23, 2011

DoubleTree 7/16

I stayed overnight as I was moving out of my nearby apartment. It was a pleasant stay, but not particularly remarkable. I did enjoy the warm cookies at check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sitar is a better than average and reasonably priced Indian restaurant just across 20th Street South.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg SD
Single
South Dakota
Sep 16, 2010

Very Enjoyable!

Very comfortable room with several amenities. Very clean rooms as well, and friendly staff. I had an important event the next day, and this place allowed me to get the rest I needed. The only downside was that it was hard to find an easy place to eat food nearby (however, there is a Subway right across the street). I would stay here again myself the next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tam World Traveler
Friends
Jacksonville, Florida
Aug 24, 2010

Very Enjoyable

The location was prime for where I needed to be within the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of places within walking distance of the hotel that were nice and affordable.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sambamom
Couples
Huntsville AL
Jul 14, 2010

very clean

Was there for class at UAB, had to pay for internet, and $10 a DAY for parking. Also no fridge or microwave. Location to UAB is within walking distance,and you get a free cookie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Be ready to walk for your food, because its very hard to find parking and if you do find a parking spot you will have to pay to park.

Back to menu Return to top