$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

3 stars
View map of 1412 4th Avenue, P.O. BOX 9, Seward, AK 99664

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bristolboysi
Couples
England
Sep 12, 2012

Dirty hotel

This was not my first trip to this hotel. But my experience this time almost left me speechless. When we checked in at 6pm (which was a good experience) we went straight to our room. My wife lay on the bed and I used the restroom. After, I put down the lavatory lid, to the sight of brown stains on TOP of the lid, which looked like excrement - but I told myself that surely couldn't be the case. (Now, I hope the following isn't too much info for you!!). I kind of assumed the stains were old, and permanent but for some reason I wetted by finger and started to rub the stain - which immediately started to shift with no effort. My worst fears were being realised, and a sniff of the stain confirmed that this really was something that needed to be IN the lavatory, and not on top of the lid! The young girl at reception was very sweet, but with her broken English I think she struggled to understand my complaint. She spoke to some guy in the back office, and as a result we were moved to a different room (the very least I would have expected). Because the new room was overlooking the harbor, I got the impression that I was supposed to be very grateful for this - even though it was getting dark, we were leaving first thing next day, and so a harbor view was pretty much irrelevant to me. As I was leaving our initial room, the guy from the back office turned up with a cloth and some cleaning spray. He immediately got to work on the lavatory seat, and started muttering that "he didn't know what the cleaning guy was playing at, and he was gonna "get it", tomorrow" - or words to that effect. Actually, at that point a sincere apology would have been more welcome, but no - so I left and went to out new room. Apart from this incident, everything at the hotel was great - but our stay was ruined because it was very difficult to convince ourselves that the hotel really was clean. What other horrors were lurking?? I'm a visitor to Alaska, and I'm sure this isn't indicative of hotel standards generally. But, I was very disappointed - back in the UK I think I would have immediately been offered some kind of financial recompence. Here all I got was a half-hearted apology. And, all this for $260 per night!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bonstu
Couples
Florida, USA
Sep 26, 2011

trip/cruise

Everything was fine. Good location and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaruant was right next to the hotel. Great dinner.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TCKJ
Family
Iowa
Aug 14, 2011

Comfortable and convenient

We stayed for one night, and caught one of the all-day Fjord tours which departed two doors down from this hotel. The location of this hotel can't be beat as it's right where the action is, near tours, town, fish market. Quality of hotel was better than expected and the pool, although small, is the only one in town and worked out great for my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler joe 13
Couples
new england
Jun 16, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Great location on water, easy to get around town on free town shuttle. Nice room, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Wisconsin
Apr 17, 2011

Wonderful overnight stay

Stayed the night in Seward to go on a whale sightseeing cruise and to visit the Aquarium that is in Seward. It was off season just prior to the start of summer there. The place we stayed was a good price. The staff were pleasant and helpful at the Holiday Inn Express. A very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Seward, Alaska
Jan 1, 2011

Seward's Holiday Retreat

We had a wonderful and quiet stay. Children loved the pool and couldn't get enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Vacaville, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Lovely!

Oddly, we had been at a so-so Holiday Inn Express in Anchorage that I don't recommend - this one just the opposite! There were 7 of us in 2 rooms including adults, teenages, and a baby. Our rooms weren't quite ready when we first arrived so we headed out about town. Later, our son returned to the lobby to use the restroom and was flagged down by the clerk who got us in our rooms earlier than expected! They were clean, smelled fresh, and it was very quiet at night. The room A/C units are loud so if you can open the window for fresh air you're better off. The food was the exact same thing as the Anchorage hotel, so-so, but there are plenty of places to dine nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to eat within a short walk of the hotel as well as a longer walk or short drive in the downtown area where there are also plenty of shops.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alsaka Visitor
Family
San Jose,CA
Jul 11, 2010

Good Hotel

Overall it is a great hotel and very conveniently located. It is walking distance to the the place where the boat tours to Kenai Fjords start as well as the fishing tour. Cons: - over priced - no microwave/refrigerator - additional $40 charged if required - staff not knowledgeable about area Pros: - great location, walking distance to boat tour, fishing tours - friendly staff - clean rooms - good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMSmithJr
Family
Maine
Jun 1, 2010

Great place to relax after 7 day cruise

Was able to check in earlier in the afternoon with an upgrade from cityside to harborside. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SEWARD HARBOR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
"good enough mom"
Family
anchorage, ak
Jan 18, 2010

nice place

Nice quick trip, friendly staff, small pool but clean and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top