$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
44 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within... See full review

  • Bastrop Tourist
  • Jul 4, 2013
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Hotel Map

58.3013 -134.4065
Area served
Juneau, Alaska
Nearby airports
Juneau International Airport
Area description
Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts Tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham
Aug 7, 2008

great location

walking distance to most restruants/bars, etc. Staff always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

stop at artists co-op on Front St.for unique items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy T
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location!

Hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of main shops and restaurants. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Free wi-fi was a valuable bonus. Would stay here again next time we visit Juneau and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 14, 2007

Great city hotel

Nothing to complain about here. Right in downtown Juneau, the Baranoff is central to everything in Juneau. Our room was fine - clean and comfortable, if a bit on the small side. My only complaint was that wireless internet was available only in the lobby, or wired internet was available for $10.50 per day in the room. Charging for internet is a definate no-no in my book. Luckily, there were several residential open access points that I could use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downton in a small city - everything was a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler 999
Business
Seattle, WA
May 22, 2012

Very clean, very comfy bed

I've stayed in a lot of motels, and this has the best bed of any short of the single-letter-hotel-near-the-end-of-the-alphabet-that-I'm-not-allowed-to-say-the-name-of. I upgraded to the suite, which gave me a fridge (old but cold), and a living room with an extra TV and pull-out sofa bed (queen size). I didn't need the extra bed, but the living room was nice if you're going to be there more than a couple of days. Juneau can be quite boring if you aren't fishing or hiking every day. My friends stayed close to the conference center, and were really disappointed. I'm glad I chose this one, and I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWRjr
Business
Denver, Co
Aug 1, 2012

Nice hotel in heart of town

Hotel was nice and located within walking distance of all of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The twisted fish restaraunt was excellent. It was a four block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstewol
Business
NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Vacation

I stayed here twice....a week apart. The first visit I was in a room overlooking the main street. The walls were paper thin and I could hear conversations in the next room as well as all the noise from the street. The second visit I was in the back which was much better. The restaurant is first class as is the lounge. It is in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tashathetraveler
Business
springfield, va
Jun 10, 2013

Central of Juneau

Great location. Has a great cafe. Because it's so central, it's quite noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Street food was delicous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Breckenridge, CO
Jul 11, 2008

A good short stay venue

The Hotel is located in a central location in Juneau, so it makes it easy to get around sightseeing. The Dining Room (Gold Room) is excellent with a nice variety of selections. The King Size room we had was minimal in size and amenities. The view was almost non-existent from the 3rd floor room we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leaving the hotel, turn left and walk down the hill to the main shopping area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barer of Bad Brews
Business
Puyallup, WA
Apr 22, 2010

It's the Last Frontier after all !!!

The Baranof is located in the heart of downtown, an easy walk to most of the restaurants and classic bars around Juneau. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking downtown and the water (great views. We slept with the window open (surprised they opened, no bars or screens) to enjoy the cool April air. Night #1, we weren't counting on the late night bar noise as people loudly stumbled home at 2am just below us. Night #2 quieter street traffic, but hotel neighbors were up until 1am (attribute this to thin walls). The quieter side of the hotel (back side) may not have the views, but I'm guessing less street noise (not sure what to do about your hotel neighbors). The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. The bathrooms were not very big, but sufficient. Note a 3 Star hotel for Alaska, may be a 2 Star elsewhere. The weather was absolutely gorgeous and it might have prejudiced my opinion (in a good way) of all things Juneau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hangar (bar/restaurant) is just down the street on the water (wonderful charm and setting) and Roma Pizzeria next door to the Hangar also has good food. No cruise ships in town in April, but the docks and fake shops for the cruise passengers are also a short walk from the Baranof.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Nov 8, 2009

Baranof

Wonderful service, nice people and a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top