$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
View map of 127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Breckenridge, CO
Jul 11, 2008

A good short stay venue

The Hotel is located in a central location in Juneau, so it makes it easy to get around sightseeing. The Dining Room (Gold Room) is excellent with a nice variety of selections. The King Size room we had was minimal in size and amenities. The view was almost non-existent from the 3rd floor room we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leaving the hotel, turn left and walk down the hill to the main shopping area

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barer of Bad Brews
Business
Puyallup, WA
Apr 22, 2010

It's the Last Frontier after all !!!

The Baranof is located in the heart of downtown, an easy walk to most of the restaurants and classic bars around Juneau. We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking downtown and the water (great views. We slept with the window open (surprised they opened, no bars or screens) to enjoy the cool April air. Night #1, we weren't counting on the late night bar noise as people loudly stumbled home at 2am just below us. Night #2 quieter street traffic, but hotel neighbors were up until 1am (attribute this to thin walls). The quieter side of the hotel (back side) may not have the views, but I'm guessing less street noise (not sure what to do about your hotel neighbors). The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. The bathrooms were not very big, but sufficient. Note a 3 Star hotel for Alaska, may be a 2 Star elsewhere. The weather was absolutely gorgeous and it might have prejudiced my opinion (in a good way) of all things Juneau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hangar (bar/restaurant) is just down the street on the water (wonderful charm and setting) and Roma Pizzeria next door to the Hangar also has good food. No cruise ships in town in April, but the docks and fake shops for the cruise passengers are also a short walk from the Baranof.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Nov 8, 2009

Baranof

Wonderful service, nice people and a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria's Far
Business
Moultonborough, NH
Jul 8, 2014

Wonderful Juneau

The Baranoff Hotel is an older art deco style hotel in a great location in the center of town. You can walk everywhere. To get views you need to be on one of the top couple of floors facing the harbor. Staff was very nice and polite. Rooms were smallish and dated but clean and the beds were comfortable. Would not want to stay out by the airport in newer motels unless I had a car. We did several excursions and ate at a different restaurant every night within a short walk. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All buses or sea planes leave from just down the street.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NP TRAVELER
Business
chicago suburb
Aug 20, 2011

NP ALASKA TRIP

Convenient tourist area. Helpful staff. Updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Location is in the downtown tourist area - good for shopping and day trips - but expensive cab trips to/from ferry and airport.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob
Business
austin
Jun 28, 2015

Room was okay but.....

The room was adequate, but very crowded with a double and a twin bed, leaving little room to maneuver. Don't accept room 303, at least in the warm months, as the bathroom window is right above the kitchen exhaust. Despite the cramped quarters, the bright side of the Baranof is its restaurants. The café serves a very good breakfast and the main dining rooms was truly outstanding with and creative chef, very good wine list and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanessa206
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 30, 2013

Great location

My room was one of the older rooma (which was not remodeled like the higher floors) for the lower price I paid. I would have paid an extra 10 bucks for a better room. Otherwise, the service was awesome and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harbour was a great place to dine.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul 123
Business
Seattle
Jan 26, 2012

Great location for business and pleasure

I think the hotel dates back to 1940 or so, but it is the best that Juneau has. It is very popular with the Alaska politicians when legislature is in session and is very centrally located if you want shopping, access to cruise ships or access to State offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heritage Coffee is a block away and has a nice, local atmosphere with great coffee.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Jack
Business
Livermore, California
Sep 2, 2012

Good location

I was there to visit family, so the location was excellent for visiting them. I think it is a litle overpriced for what you get, especially if you had to pay the rack rate, but because of you, it was fairly resonable. When I go to visit family again, I am sure I will stay at this hotel, but it is just average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leedan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2012

For business

The location is verry good Small roome but clean The only problem for me, the heater in the room Set on one temprator was to hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top