$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
View map of 127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Japheaux
Business
Canyon, TX
Jun 30, 2012

Nice/convenient

This historical hotel is perfect while visiting Juneau. Very clean, it is only a few minutes walking time to almost everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wharf a few blocks west of the hotel. One of the best filet steaks I have had in my life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWRjr
Business
Denver, Co
Aug 1, 2012

Nice hotel in heart of town

Hotel was nice and located within walking distance of all of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The twisted fish restaraunt was excellent. It was a four block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstewol
Business
NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Vacation

I stayed here twice....a week apart. The first visit I was in a room overlooking the main street. The walls were paper thin and I could hear conversations in the next room as well as all the noise from the street. The second visit I was in the back which was much better. The restaurant is first class as is the lounge. It is in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tashathetraveler
Business
springfield, va
Jun 10, 2013

Central of Juneau

Great location. Has a great cafe. Because it's so central, it's quite noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Street food was delicous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Jun 26, 2011

Juneau Westmark Baranof

Reasonable hotel with a great price. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laurelin
Business
Batavia, Illinois
Aug 16, 2011

Nice but expensive

The hotel is great, but expensive. No breakfast, no shuttle, and the room is clean but nothing special. The hotels near the airport generally provide shuttles to downtown (and to/from the airport/ferry), saving a lot in cab fare as well. Nice to be downtown, but it comes at a steep price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice hotel, but it's cheaper to stay out by the airport where the hotels generally provide shuttles to the city AND a breakfast at much lower rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midlothian VA
Jul 20, 2009

The Grand Old Lady

The Baranoff is located on North Franklin Street, and therefore close to the area's major activities and restaurants. I appreciated the desk in my room and the computer in the lobby for guests' use. The service and friendliness of the staff is first-rate. The rooms are small, but that shouldn't be a bother to a single traveller, so long as he's shorter than the bed! The bath/shower was clean and well-appointed. Alaska isn't cheap--that's the nature of the game, being so far north--but even then the restaurant prices looked high, so I didn't partake. The only unpleasantness I had was due to the heat wave at the time (70s); there is no A/C, so one opens a window to let in cool air, and with it, street noises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

In summer, it doesn't get dark until after 10 p.m., yet most stores close down the same time they do in the lower 48. It still being light out, I almost felt that I should be doing something. You may feel the same. The downtown bars look downright dank and dirty, but the Baranof has a nice one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hertford, NC
Aug 7, 2009

Westmark Baranof Hotel

Was pleasant and comfortable. Close to all the sites that I wanted to see. Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N Vickers
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 19, 2011

Love Historic Hotels!

The Baranof is on one of the main streets of downtown Juneau. It is close to shops and museums and restaurants. The room was comfortable, well maintained and with the character of vintage hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel experience was exactly what I had hoped for when I made the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is available if you decide to rent a car for sightseeing in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota/Bradenton, FL
Jul 13, 2007

A one-night stand

The hotel was only for a one-night stand preparatory to leaving on an ElderHostel cruise. It was adequate for the purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to Alaska!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top