$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
44 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within... See full review

  • Bastrop Tourist
  • Jul 4, 2013
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Hotel Map

58.3013 -134.4065
Area served
Juneau, Alaska
Nearby airports
Juneau International Airport
Area description
Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts Tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstewol
NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Vacation

I stayed here twice....a week apart. The first visit I was in a room overlooking the main street. The walls were paper thin and I could hear conversations in the next room as well as all the noise from the street. The second visit I was in the back which was much better. The restaurant is first class as is the lounge. It is in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bastrop Tourist
Bastrop, TX
Jul 4, 2013

Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within a short walk from the Westmark Baranof we were a able to access good restaurants, good shopping, and local sites and attractions. We started our day at Heritage Coffee houses (two are nearby) We did not need a rental car and were able to easily use very accessible public transportation. The tours we purchased were the Mt Roberts Tram and the Mendenhall Glacier Shuttle. We had fun on the Alaskan Brewery tour at no charge. We purchased Alaskan Amber (our favorite) at a local Austin grocery store immediately upon our return home. We enjoyed touring the Alaska State Museum, State Capitol, House of Wickersham, and the Juneau-Douglas City Museum. Our favorite walks were along Franklin Street and along the docks, especially watching the float planes land and take off. The snow topped mountains rising from the beautiful Gastineau Channel provide an unmatched setting. The hike on Mt. Roberts and at Mendenhall Glacier were great fun. We took the City bus to Glacier Gardens which was a surprise gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick up the Juneau Attractions sheet at the Tourist Information Center next to the Tram terminal.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jeffries
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great location

My friends and I found this hotel online and we were not disappointed. The Bubble room lounge was great too! The staff is just he best! very accommodating and knowledgeable. Great recommendations and just really friendly. The staff at the hotel made us feel home away from home. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Akshay K
Seattle WA
Jan 5, 2014

Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops, restaurants and waterfront. Great view of the mountain from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Sep 14, 2007

Great city hotel

Nothing to complain about here. Right in downtown Juneau, the Baranoff is central to everything in Juneau. Our room was fine - clean and comfortable, if a bit on the small side. My only complaint was that wireless internet was available only in the lobby, or wired internet was available for $10.50 per day in the room. Charging for internet is a definate no-no in my book. Luckily, there were several residential open access points that I could use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downton in a small city - everything was a short walk away.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham
Aug 7, 2008

great location

walking distance to most restruants/bars, etc. Staff always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

stop at artists co-op on Front St.for unique items.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy T
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location!

Hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of main shops and restaurants. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Free wi-fi was a valuable bonus. Would stay here again next time we visit Juneau and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midlothian VA
Jul 20, 2009

The Grand Old Lady

The Baranoff is located on North Franklin Street, and therefore close to the area's major activities and restaurants. I appreciated the desk in my room and the computer in the lobby for guests' use. The service and friendliness of the staff is first-rate. The rooms are small, but that shouldn't be a bother to a single traveller, so long as he's shorter than the bed! The bath/shower was clean and well-appointed. Alaska isn't cheap--that's the nature of the game, being so far north--but even then the restaurant prices looked high, so I didn't partake. The only unpleasantness I had was due to the heat wave at the time (70s); there is no A/C, so one opens a window to let in cool air, and with it, street noises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

In summer, it doesn't get dark until after 10 p.m., yet most stores close down the same time they do in the lower 48. It still being light out, I almost felt that I should be doing something. You may feel the same. The downtown bars look downright dank and dirty, but the Baranof has a nice one.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria's Far
Moultonborough, NH
Jul 8, 2014

Wonderful Juneau

The Baranoff Hotel is an older art deco style hotel in a great location in the center of town. You can walk everywhere. To get views you need to be on one of the top couple of floors facing the harbor. Staff was very nice and polite. Rooms were smallish and dated but clean and the beds were comfortable. Would not want to stay out by the airport in newer motels unless I had a car. We did several excursions and ate at a different restaurant every night within a short walk. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All buses or sea planes leave from just down the street.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKBrian
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Worn, but clean and comfortable

Stayed at the Baranof in Downtown Juneau from December 5th to the 7th, 2011. It's an older hotel and the rooms (especially bathroom) are quite small, but everything was clean and comfortable, so that's the important part! Good water pressure in the shower, which is unusual. I couldn't find any temperature control in the room, but the temperature was fine for me, so not really an issue. I didn't try either the restaurant or lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laurelin
Batavia, Illinois
Aug 16, 2011

Nice but expensive

The hotel is great, but expensive. No breakfast, no shuttle, and the room is clean but nothing special. The hotels near the airport generally provide shuttles to downtown (and to/from the airport/ferry), saving a lot in cab fare as well. Nice to be downtown, but it comes at a steep price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice hotel, but it's cheaper to stay out by the airport where the hotels generally provide shuttles to the city AND a breakfast at much lower rates.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search