$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
44 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within... See full review

  • Bastrop Tourist
  • Jul 4, 2013
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Hotel Map

58.3013 -134.4065
Area served
Juneau, Alaska
Nearby airports
Juneau International Airport
Area description
Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts Tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 44
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Japheaux
Canyon, TX
Jun 30, 2012

Nice/convenient

This historical hotel is perfect while visiting Juneau. Very clean, it is only a few minutes walking time to almost everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wharf a few blocks west of the hotel. One of the best filet steaks I have had in my life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Aug 5, 2011

No problem

Unremarkable, no surprises and about right for the price (in Alaska-level of pricing)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mendenhall Glacier is the requisite stop/site!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandmarene
Upland, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Best Hotel to sightsee from

This hotel was PERFECT for walking to EVERYTHING uptown: shops, library, book stores, restaurants, coffee shops, Mt. Roberts Tram (restaurant at top). The best coffee and bagel shop was Breakwater - two blocks away. The upscale restaurant and bar downstairs were great. The cafe for brkf. and room service was good - just don't order the oatmeal (luke warm and a blob). We were not interested in the lunch menu - and it is closed for dinner. We were interrested in grilled fresh fish/seafood - not deep fried "fish and chips). It was DELICIOUS if you are ok with deep fried as I tasted my grand daughter. Food and drink room service was INSTANT! Rick at the front desk (in the evenings till midnight) was great!!! VERY helpful and we bothered him ALOT! They house workers on 2nd floor and nosiy guests - we got off that floor asap. Loved the suites on the end of each floor with two double beds and the views from 407 were great - higher up would have been even better. Mexican restaurant across the street very personalable, well priced and food good to OK. The Mexican restaurant towards dowtown at the side of the hotel, in with the internet cafe was TERRIBLE food but very friendly. Best priced souveniors was at the Safeway grocery store in valley where there is a Starbucks also. It was by total accident we discovered the souveniors. We lived in Juneau before - so having a rental car was GREAT and we were totally prepared for 50 degree weather and rain in July. A raincoat/hat is a MUST. We had free WiFi for our laptops, good selection of TV channels - great reception, not the best cell phone reception, blow dryers,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Jun 26, 2011

Juneau Westmark Baranof

Reasonable hotel with a great price. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hertford, NC
Aug 7, 2009

Westmark Baranof Hotel

Was pleasant and comfortable. Close to all the sites that I wanted to see. Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 25, 2008

Fantastic Location

The location couldn't have been better for staying in Juneau without a rental car; however, the hotel staff seemed to be lacking in experience and professionalisam. We were also disappointed that we were given a room at the back of the hotel without an ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota/Bradenton, FL
Jul 13, 2007

A one-night stand

The hotel was only for a one-night stand preparatory to leaving on an ElderHostel cruise. It was adequate for the purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to Alaska!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search