$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
44 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within... See full review

  • Bastrop Tourist
  • Jul 4, 2013
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Juneau!
Business
Saint Paul
Jul 27, 2010

Oooold school

This is an old, once upon a time, premier hotel hanging in there. Great staff and good food on the pricy side. Rooms are small and absolutely nothing fancy. Old hotel in a very tight market. You will be disappointed in the room but it is the best value in down town Juneau, if not the whole town. I stay here almost every time I visit Juneau because it has some charm and I don't feel guilty filing my expense report. Location is excellent for downtown business and tourism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juneau has a great hole-in-the-wall Thai place out the road at Auke Bay harbor. Just look for the line out side - across the highway from the harbor. For more traditional food, you can't loose at the Fiddlehead which is more or less downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cassie lou
Business
Seattle
Jul 31, 2012

Beautiful Juneau

The desk staff was not friendly, the room was small with no air conditioning and located across from a noisy elevator. The hotel will not give a receipt if you book online, even though they take a credit card for incidentals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mendenhall Glacier is free and glorious. Also, if you have a car, visit the Shrine of St. Teresa. The location is serene, the paths full of flowers, and the waters brimming with jumping salmon. A truly blessed spot just a short drive from Juneau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow Pioneer
Business
Fairbanks AK
Sep 24, 2013

Missing Something

This is an old and historic hotel and I am glad to have experienced it but will not choose it again. The rooms are small, without a microwave, refrigerator, or hair dryer. It was noisy as the ice machine was right outside the room. The cafe was very good though. The staff was very nice too. I just expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The cafe is nice for breakfast or lunch, but closed for dinner. They have a nice restaurant for dinner but pricey. This place is very close to the trouristy attractions. Not too many choices for dining though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juneau, AK
Apr 5, 2011

thin walls and loud pipes!

We thought we would try the fanciest place we saw in Juneau, but were pretty disappointed. The walls were so thin, we could hear our neighbors hanging up their coats, coughing and whoever was talking. At night, the steam flowing through the heaters made an awful clanking noise that I've never experienced in a hotel before. My sweetie and I had a good time anyway - it was nice to be on a comfortable bed in a pretty room away from home, but it was nothing to write home about. Customer service was also lacking - we complained about the noise and just got an "I'm sorry" - no discounts on future stays, no breakfast, nothing. Overall, it's nice room and clean, but the experience was much less than we thought we were paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage AK
Sep 18, 2009

Not Impressed

Hotel was kind of hard to find. Small area to park with no addtional parking unless it was on the street. Room was very hot when I walked in. Asked where thermos was and was informed it was one temperature for the whole floor. Opened the window but was right above the road and it was very noisy. Ice machine was right across the hall and ran all night but didnt work. Told the front desk and they said they would work on it. Front desk seemed hassled when I told them they had made a mistake on my reservation and tried to bill me for two nights when I only booked for one and had the paperwork to prove it. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanessa206
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 30, 2013

Great location

My room was one of the older rooma (which was not remodeled like the higher floors) for the lower price I paid. I would have paid an extra 10 bucks for a better room. Otherwise, the service was awesome and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harbour was a great place to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenai, AK
Jun 23, 2010

Nice location; good hotel

Good experience. Not as organized around the meeting as it could have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul 123
Business
Seattle
Jan 26, 2012

Great location for business and pleasure

I think the hotel dates back to 1940 or so, but it is the best that Juneau has. It is very popular with the Alaska politicians when legislature is in session and is very centrally located if you want shopping, access to cruise ships or access to State offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heritage Coffee is a block away and has a nice, local atmosphere with great coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Jack
Business
Livermore, California
Sep 2, 2012

Good location

I was there to visit family, so the location was excellent for visiting them. I think it is a litle overpriced for what you get, especially if you had to pay the rack rate, but because of you, it was fairly resonable. When I go to visit family again, I am sure I will stay at this hotel, but it is just average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leedan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2012

For business

The location is verry good Small roome but clean The only problem for me, the heater in the room Set on one temprator was to hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top