$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
View map of 127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
49 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Room was okay but.....

The room was adequate, but very crowded with a double and a twin bed, leaving little room to... See full review

  • bob
  • Jun 28, 2015
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Akshay K
Business
Seattle WA
Jan 5, 2014

Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops, restaurants and waterfront. Great view of the mountain from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jeffries
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great location

My friends and I found this hotel online and we were not disappointed. The Bubble room lounge was great too! The staff is just he best! very accommodating and knowledgeable. Great recommendations and just really friendly. The staff at the hotel made us feel home away from home. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bastrop Tourist
Business
Bastrop, TX
Jul 4, 2013

Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within a short walk from the Westmark Baranof we were a able to access good restaurants, good shopping, and local sites and attractions. We started our day at Heritage Coffee houses (two are nearby) We did not need a rental car and were able to easily use very accessible public transportation. The tours we purchased were the Mt Roberts Tram and the Mendenhall Glacier Shuttle. We had fun on the Alaskan Brewery tour at no charge. We purchased Alaskan Amber (our favorite) at a local Austin grocery store immediately upon our return home. We enjoyed touring the Alaska State Museum, State Capitol, House of Wickersham, and the Juneau-Douglas City Museum. Our favorite walks were along Franklin Street and along the docks, especially watching the float planes land and take off. The snow topped mountains rising from the beautiful Gastineau Channel provide an unmatched setting. The hike on Mt. Roberts and at Mendenhall Glacier were great fun. We took the City bus to Glacier Gardens which was a surprise gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick up the Juneau Attractions sheet at the Tourist Information Center next to the Tram terminal.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham
Aug 7, 2008

great location

walking distance to most restruants/bars, etc. Staff always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

stop at artists co-op on Front St.for unique items.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy T
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location!

Hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of main shops and restaurants. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Free wi-fi was a valuable bonus. Would stay here again next time we visit Juneau and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 14, 2007

Great city hotel

Nothing to complain about here. Right in downtown Juneau, the Baranoff is central to everything in Juneau. Our room was fine - clean and comfortable, if a bit on the small side. My only complaint was that wireless internet was available only in the lobby, or wired internet was available for $10.50 per day in the room. Charging for internet is a definate no-no in my book. Luckily, there were several residential open access points that I could use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downton in a small city - everything was a short walk away.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandmarene
Business
Upland, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Best Hotel to sightsee from

This hotel was PERFECT for walking to EVERYTHING uptown: shops, library, book stores, restaurants, coffee shops, Mt. Roberts Tram (restaurant at top). The best coffee and bagel shop was Breakwater - two blocks away. The upscale restaurant and bar downstairs were great. The cafe for brkf. and room service was good - just don't order the oatmeal (luke warm and a blob). We were not interested in the lunch menu - and it is closed for dinner. We were interrested in grilled fresh fish/seafood - not deep fried "fish and chips). It was DELICIOUS if you are ok with deep fried as I tasted my grand daughter. Food and drink room service was INSTANT! Rick at the front desk (in the evenings till midnight) was great!!! VERY helpful and we bothered him ALOT! They house workers on 2nd floor and nosiy guests - we got off that floor asap. Loved the suites on the end of each floor with two double beds and the views from 407 were great - higher up would have been even better. Mexican restaurant across the street very personalable, well priced and food good to OK. The Mexican restaurant towards dowtown at the side of the hotel, in with the internet cafe was TERRIBLE food but very friendly. Best priced souveniors was at the Safeway grocery store in valley where there is a Starbucks also. It was by total accident we discovered the souveniors. We lived in Juneau before - so having a rental car was GREAT and we were totally prepared for 50 degree weather and rain in July. A raincoat/hat is a MUST. We had free WiFi for our laptops, good selection of TV channels - great reception, not the best cell phone reception, blow dryers,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NP TRAVELER
Business
chicago suburb
Aug 20, 2011

NP ALASKA TRIP

Convenient tourist area. Helpful staff. Updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKBrian
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Worn, but clean and comfortable

Stayed at the Baranof in Downtown Juneau from December 5th to the 7th, 2011. It's an older hotel and the rooms (especially bathroom) are quite small, but everything was clean and comfortable, so that's the important part! Good water pressure in the shower, which is unusual. I couldn't find any temperature control in the room, but the temperature was fine for me, so not really an issue. I didn't try either the restaurant or lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler 999
Business
Seattle, WA
May 22, 2012

Very clean, very comfy bed

I've stayed in a lot of motels, and this has the best bed of any short of the single-letter-hotel-near-the-end-of-the-alphabet-that-I'm-not-allowed-to-say-the-name-of. I upgraded to the suite, which gave me a fridge (old but cold), and a living room with an extra TV and pull-out sofa bed (queen size). I didn't need the extra bed, but the living room was nice if you're going to be there more than a couple of days. Juneau can be quite boring if you aren't fishing or hiking every day. My friends stayed close to the conference center, and were really disappointed. I'm glad I chose this one, and I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top