$167 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
67 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within... See full review

  • Bastrop Tourist
  • Jul 4, 2013
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Hotel Map

58.3013 -134.4065
Area served
Juneau, Alaska
Nearby airports
Juneau International Airport
Area description
Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts Tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandmarene
Upland, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Best Hotel to sightsee from

This hotel was PERFECT for walking to EVERYTHING uptown: shops, library, book stores, restaurants, coffee shops, Mt. Roberts Tram (restaurant at top). The best coffee and bagel shop was Breakwater - two blocks away. The upscale restaurant and bar downstairs were great. The cafe for brkf. and room service was good - just don't order the oatmeal (luke warm and a blob). We were not interested in the lunch menu - and it is closed for dinner. We were interrested in grilled fresh fish/seafood - not deep fried "fish and chips). It was DELICIOUS if you are ok with deep fried as I tasted my grand daughter. Food and drink room service was INSTANT! Rick at the front desk (in the evenings till midnight) was great!!! VERY helpful and we bothered him ALOT! They house workers on 2nd floor and nosiy guests - we got off that floor asap. Loved the suites on the end of each floor with two double beds and the views from 407 were great - higher up would have been even better. Mexican restaurant across the street very personalable, well priced and food good to OK. The Mexican restaurant towards dowtown at the side of the hotel, in with the internet cafe was TERRIBLE food but very friendly. Best priced souveniors was at the Safeway grocery store in valley where there is a Starbucks also. It was by total accident we discovered the souveniors. We lived in Juneau before - so having a rental car was GREAT and we were totally prepared for 50 degree weather and rain in July. A raincoat/hat is a MUST. We had free WiFi for our laptops, good selection of TV channels - great reception, not the best cell phone reception, blow dryers,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Jun 26, 2011

Juneau Westmark Baranof

Reasonable hotel with a great price. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Jun 26, 2011

Juneau Westmark Baranof

Reasonable hotel with a great price. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge
May 28, 2011

Dated, not like charming, like tired

Stayed only two nights but that was enough to meet kind but not knowledgable staff - ie couldn't direct us to a coffeshop which turned out to be 2 blocks from the hotel, unable to tell us if the tram was running although it is one of the main attractions in Juneau, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Twisted fish.. Can be crowded but indoor and outdoor seating and lots of fish

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge
May 28, 2011

Dated, not like charming, like tired

Stayed only two nights but that was enough to meet kind but not knowledgable staff - ie couldn't direct us to a coffeshop which turned out to be 2 blocks from the hotel, unable to tell us if the tram was running although it is one of the main attractions in Juneau, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Twisted fish.. Can be crowded but indoor and outdoor seating and lots of fish

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juneau, AK
Apr 5, 2011

thin walls and loud pipes!

We thought we would try the fanciest place we saw in Juneau, but were pretty disappointed. The walls were so thin, we could hear our neighbors hanging up their coats, coughing and whoever was talking. At night, the steam flowing through the heaters made an awful clanking noise that I've never experienced in a hotel before. My sweetie and I had a good time anyway - it was nice to be on a comfortable bed in a pretty room away from home, but it was nothing to write home about. Customer service was also lacking - we complained about the noise and just got an "I'm sorry" - no discounts on future stays, no breakfast, nothing. Overall, it's nice room and clean, but the experience was much less than we thought we were paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juneau, AK
Apr 5, 2011

thin walls and loud pipes!

We thought we would try the fanciest place we saw in Juneau, but were pretty disappointed. The walls were so thin, we could hear our neighbors hanging up their coats, coughing and whoever was talking. At night, the steam flowing through the heaters made an awful clanking noise that I've never experienced in a hotel before. My sweetie and I had a good time anyway - it was nice to be on a comfortable bed in a pretty room away from home, but it was nothing to write home about. Customer service was also lacking - we complained about the noise and just got an "I'm sorry" - no discounts on future stays, no breakfast, nothing. Overall, it's nice room and clean, but the experience was much less than we thought we were paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Aug 15, 2010

Good Location

The room could have been cleaner. There was debris left in the closet from the previous guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at the Hanger or the pizza place next door to the Hanger. Keep in mind that prices are high in Alaska.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Aug 15, 2010

Good Location

The room could have been cleaner. There was debris left in the closet from the previous guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at the Hanger or the pizza place next door to the Hanger. Keep in mind that prices are high in Alaska.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Juneau!
Business
Saint Paul
Jul 27, 2010

Oooold school

This is an old, once upon a time, premier hotel hanging in there. Great staff and good food on the pricy side. Rooms are small and absolutely nothing fancy. Old hotel in a very tight market. You will be disappointed in the room but it is the best value in down town Juneau, if not the whole town. I stay here almost every time I visit Juneau because it has some charm and I don't feel guilty filing my expense report. Location is excellent for downtown business and tourism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juneau has a great hole-in-the-wall Thai place out the road at Auke Bay harbor. Just look for the line out side - across the highway from the harbor. For more traditional food, you can't loose at the Fiddlehead which is more or less downtown.

Back to menu Return to top