$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
View map of 127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NP TRAVELER
Business
chicago suburb
Aug 20, 2011

NP ALASKA TRIP

Convenient tourist area. Helpful staff. Updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NP TRAVELER
Business
chicago suburb
Aug 20, 2011

NP ALASKA TRIP

Convenient tourist area. Helpful staff. Updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Location is in the downtown tourist area - good for shopping and day trips - but expensive cab trips to/from ferry and airport.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laurelin
Business
Batavia, Illinois
Aug 16, 2011

Nice but expensive

The hotel is great, but expensive. No breakfast, no shuttle, and the room is clean but nothing special. The hotels near the airport generally provide shuttles to downtown (and to/from the airport/ferry), saving a lot in cab fare as well. Nice to be downtown, but it comes at a steep price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice hotel, but it's cheaper to stay out by the airport where the hotels generally provide shuttles to the city AND a breakfast at much lower rates.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Aug 5, 2011

No problem

Unremarkable, no surprises and about right for the price (in Alaska-level of pricing)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mendenhall Glacier is the requisite stop/site!

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N Vickers
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 19, 2011

Love Historic Hotels!

The Baranof is on one of the main streets of downtown Juneau. It is close to shops and museums and restaurants. The room was comfortable, well maintained and with the character of vintage hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel experience was exactly what I had hoped for when I made the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is available if you decide to rent a car for sightseeing in the area.

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 16, 2011

Good location for shopping, walking

Would have liked a refridgerator & microwave in room. Noisey room (right above main entrance to hotel, lots of traffic/people noise). Staff was very courteous and helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Jun 26, 2011

Juneau Westmark Baranof

Reasonable hotel with a great price. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
May 28, 2011

Dated, not like charming, like tired

Stayed only two nights but that was enough to meet kind but not knowledgable staff - ie couldn't direct us to a coffeshop which turned out to be 2 blocks from the hotel, unable to tell us if the tram was running although it is one of the main attractions in Juneau, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Twisted fish.. Can be crowded but indoor and outdoor seating and lots of fish

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juneau, AK
Apr 5, 2011

thin walls and loud pipes!

We thought we would try the fanciest place we saw in Juneau, but were pretty disappointed. The walls were so thin, we could hear our neighbors hanging up their coats, coughing and whoever was talking. At night, the steam flowing through the heaters made an awful clanking noise that I've never experienced in a hotel before. My sweetie and I had a good time anyway - it was nice to be on a comfortable bed in a pretty room away from home, but it was nothing to write home about. Customer service was also lacking - we complained about the noise and just got an "I'm sorry" - no discounts on future stays, no breakfast, nothing. Overall, it's nice room and clean, but the experience was much less than we thought we were paying for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Aug 15, 2010

Good Location

The room could have been cleaner. There was debris left in the closet from the previous guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at the Hanger or the pizza place next door to the Hanger. Keep in mind that prices are high in Alaska.

Back to menu Return to top