$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
View map of 127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWRjr
Business
Denver, Co
Aug 1, 2012

Nice hotel in heart of town

Hotel was nice and located within walking distance of all of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The twisted fish restaraunt was excellent. It was a four block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cassie lou
Business
Seattle
Jul 31, 2012

Beautiful Juneau

The desk staff was not friendly, the room was small with no air conditioning and located across from a noisy elevator. The hotel will not give a receipt if you book online, even though they take a credit card for incidentals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mendenhall Glacier is free and glorious. Also, if you have a car, visit the Shrine of St. Teresa. The location is serene, the paths full of flowers, and the waters brimming with jumping salmon. A truly blessed spot just a short drive from Juneau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Japheaux
Business
Canyon, TX
Jun 30, 2012

Nice/convenient

This historical hotel is perfect while visiting Juneau. Very clean, it is only a few minutes walking time to almost everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wharf a few blocks west of the hotel. One of the best filet steaks I have had in my life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler 999
Business
Seattle, WA
May 22, 2012

Very clean, very comfy bed

I've stayed in a lot of motels, and this has the best bed of any short of the single-letter-hotel-near-the-end-of-the-alphabet-that-I'm-not-allowed-to-say-the-name-of. I upgraded to the suite, which gave me a fridge (old but cold), and a living room with an extra TV and pull-out sofa bed (queen size). I didn't need the extra bed, but the living room was nice if you're going to be there more than a couple of days. Juneau can be quite boring if you aren't fishing or hiking every day. My friends stayed close to the conference center, and were really disappointed. I'm glad I chose this one, and I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul 123
Business
Seattle
Jan 26, 2012

Great location for business and pleasure

I think the hotel dates back to 1940 or so, but it is the best that Juneau has. It is very popular with the Alaska politicians when legislature is in session and is very centrally located if you want shopping, access to cruise ships or access to State offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Heritage Coffee is a block away and has a nice, local atmosphere with great coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKBrian
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Worn, but clean and comfortable

Stayed at the Baranof in Downtown Juneau from December 5th to the 7th, 2011. It's an older hotel and the rooms (especially bathroom) are quite small, but everything was clean and comfortable, so that's the important part! Good water pressure in the shower, which is unusual. I couldn't find any temperature control in the room, but the temperature was fine for me, so not really an issue. I didn't try either the restaurant or lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jeffries
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Great location

My friends and I found this hotel online and we were not disappointed. The Bubble room lounge was great too! The staff is just he best! very accommodating and knowledgeable. Great recommendations and just really friendly. The staff at the hotel made us feel home away from home. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLD37
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

The Old high-end hotel

Nice old hotel in a great location in downtown Juneau. Rooms are small and haven't been updated. The hotel has the best breakfast in town and also offers a great dining experience in the main dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the whale watch offered by M&M tours after mid August. After that date, the whales don't do much and the tours don't get close enough to make it worth while.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy T
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location!

Hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of main shops and restaurants. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Free wi-fi was a valuable bonus. Would stay here again next time we visit Juneau and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NP TRAVELER
Business
chicago suburb
Aug 20, 2011

NP ALASKA TRIP

Convenient tourist area. Helpful staff. Updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top