$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Westmark Baranof Hotel

3 stars
127 North Frankilin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
44 reviews
Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops,... See full review

  • Akshay K
  • Jan 5, 2014
Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within... See full review

  • Bastrop Tourist
  • Jul 4, 2013
Downtown Juneau Hotel. Built to rival the most lavish hotels of its day, the historic Baranof serves as a second home for legislatures and corporate travelers doing business in Juneau. Located downtown within walking distance of the capital, cruise ship docks, shops and state offices, the nine-story hotel offers guests elegant public areas and comfortable accommodations. A gourmet dining experience awaits at the famous Gold Room Restaurant or try a relaxing beverage in the Bubble Room lounge. Visitors to Juneau can treat themselves to a diverse number of popular attractions near the hotel like the Mendenhall Glacier, the Perseverance Theatre, and Mount Roberts tramway and Observatory in Juneau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Baranof Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Westmark Baranof Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Room with one king sized bed, can accommodate a rollaway, with iron and ironing board and coffee maker. AM/FM alarm clock - Cribs available " Coffee maker " Ironing board - Television with cable - Hairdryer in room " Electronic door locks " Smoke detectors - Sprinklers in rooms - Bath tub

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Full Banquet & Meeting Facilities

Dining

Bubble Room Lounge
Relaxing for cocktails
Capital Cafe
For breakfast, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere
Gold Room Restaurant
Upscale Gourmet dining featuring Alaskan Seafoods

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Baranof Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstewol
NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Vacation

I stayed here twice....a week apart. The first visit I was in a room overlooking the main street. The walls were paper thin and I could hear conversations in the next room as well as all the noise from the street. The second visit I was in the back which was much better. The restaurant is first class as is the lounge. It is in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria's Far
Business
Moultonborough, NH
Jul 8, 2014

Wonderful Juneau

The Baranoff Hotel is an older art deco style hotel in a great location in the center of town. You can walk everywhere. To get views you need to be on one of the top couple of floors facing the harbor. Staff was very nice and polite. Rooms were smallish and dated but clean and the beds were comfortable. Would not want to stay out by the airport in newer motels unless I had a car. We did several excursions and ate at a different restaurant every night within a short walk. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All buses or sea planes leave from just down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Akshay K
Business
Seattle WA
Jan 5, 2014

Great hotel in great location

Cosy and clean room. Hotel located right in the heart of Juneau within walking distance of shops, restaurants and waterfront. Great view of the mountain from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vanessa206
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 30, 2013

Great location

My room was one of the older rooma (which was not remodeled like the higher floors) for the lower price I paid. I would have paid an extra 10 bucks for a better room. Otherwise, the service was awesome and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harbour was a great place to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow Pioneer
Business
Fairbanks AK
Sep 24, 2013

Missing Something

This is an old and historic hotel and I am glad to have experienced it but will not choose it again. The rooms are small, without a microwave, refrigerator, or hair dryer. It was noisy as the ice machine was right outside the room. The cafe was very good though. The staff was very nice too. I just expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The cafe is nice for breakfast or lunch, but closed for dinner. They have a nice restaurant for dinner but pricey. This place is very close to the trouristy attractions. Not too many choices for dining though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bastrop Tourist
Business
Bastrop, TX
Jul 4, 2013

Central Location in a small town

We wanted a good hotel, at a reasonable price (by Alaska standards), in a central location. Within a short walk from the Westmark Baranof we were a able to access good restaurants, good shopping, and local sites and attractions. We started our day at Heritage Coffee houses (two are nearby) We did not need a rental car and were able to easily use very accessible public transportation. The tours we purchased were the Mt Roberts Tram and the Mendenhall Glacier Shuttle. We had fun on the Alaskan Brewery tour at no charge. We purchased Alaskan Amber (our favorite) at a local Austin grocery store immediately upon our return home. We enjoyed touring the Alaska State Museum, State Capitol, House of Wickersham, and the Juneau-Douglas City Museum. Our favorite walks were along Franklin Street and along the docks, especially watching the float planes land and take off. The snow topped mountains rising from the beautiful Gastineau Channel provide an unmatched setting. The hike on Mt. Roberts and at Mendenhall Glacier were great fun. We took the City bus to Glacier Gardens which was a surprise gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick up the Juneau Attractions sheet at the Tourist Information Center next to the Tram terminal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tashathetraveler
Business
springfield, va
Jun 10, 2013

Central of Juneau

Great location. Has a great cafe. Because it's so central, it's quite noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Street food was delicous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calchas
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
May 29, 2013

Great location; Poor noise insulation

Pros: Idea location, just a block up the street from Juneau's main street. Most of Juneau's activities start from near downtown and everything's a quick 5 min walk from here. Pretty decent views from our room, although in retrospect the Goldbelt Hotel down the street has probably better views. Room was clean. Cons: A big one -- Very noisy due to poor insulation and loud plumbing. You can hear your neighbors to great detail (not good when they are fighting!) and the plumbing system is so loud it can wake up you when someone flushes either above or below you! We met someone on a cruise who had initially been on a room in the lower floors and they had complained and moved up to the 6th floor and it was quieter and more comfortable for them. It was our anniversary weekend, so we wish we had moved up to a higher floor as well. Bottomline: Great location, try and ask for a higher floor (6 through 8) if you are going to stay for more than a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're doing Mt Roberts, instead of taking the tram, there's a 2.4 mile trail that begins at the edge of Basin Road and gets you up to Mt Roberts tram station.. You can then take the tram down.. It's a good way to get a hike and cover one of Juneau's top attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leedan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2012

For business

The location is verry good Small roome but clean The only problem for me, the heater in the room Set on one temprator was to hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Jack
Business
Livermore, California
Sep 2, 2012

Good location

I was there to visit family, so the location was excellent for visiting them. I think it is a litle overpriced for what you get, especially if you had to pay the rack rate, but because of you, it was fairly resonable. When I go to visit family again, I am sure I will stay at this hotel, but it is just average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstewol
Business
NJ
Aug 27, 2012

Vacation

I stayed here twice....a week apart. The first visit I was in a room overlooking the main street. The walls were paper thin and I could hear conversations in the next room as well as all the noise from the street. The second visit I was in the back which was much better. The restaurant is first class as is the lounge. It is in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top