$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

The Breakwater Inn

2 stars
1711 Glacier Avenue, Juneau, AK 99801-1470
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
17 reviews
Nice stay

This is a nice place to stay if you are traveling through. It is located across from a large... See full review

  • Happy Texan
  • Jul 20, 2013
A bit noisy

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room. I've seen negative reviews of... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 28, 2007
The Breakwater Inn a local favorite is just minutes from all Juneau has to offer. Providing comfortable well appointed rooms and a friendly knowledgable staff the Breakwater is ideal for visiting Alaskas capital city and all her wonderful sights. Join us in our Award Winning Best Dinner Best Seafood Best Steak Restaurant for dinner our chefs will assure you a great taste of Alaska. With the perfect atmosphere for any dining occasion and featuring the latest spirits from Juneaus local Award Winning Alaskan Brewing Co were sure youll love your stay with us.

Hotel Map

58.3051 -134.4268
Nearby airports
(JNU), 29.00, KM;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Breakwater Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

The Breakwater Inn Rooms

Double Bed Non Smoking Harbor
Double Bed Non Smoking Harbor
Double Beds Non Smoking Harbor
Double Beds Non Smoking Harbor Aurora Harbor view.
Bunk Room Non Smoking Mountian
Bunk Room Non Smoking Mountian bed.
Double Beds Non Smoking Mounti
Double Beds Non Smoking Mounti Mountain view.
King Non Smoking Harbor View
King Non Smoking Harbor View

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Skiing
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Theater desk
Tour desk
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for The Breakwater Inn

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3
Value:
2.6

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Terry Twoshoes
Business
Skagway, Alaska
Jun 18, 2014

Non smoking room was stinky...

The room was suppose to be non smoking but smelled like a bar after a smoking conference. The bar was very nice with an excellent view. The staff was friendly, but could not offer us another room as all rooms were sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Nice bar with good view of the waterfront. With friendly bar tender...

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Texan
Houston
Jul 20, 2013

Nice stay

This is a nice place to stay if you are traveling through. It is located across from a large boating dock and in spite of the road noise, it is quite peaceful. we had a nice breeze when we opened the window and door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Hangar Bar and Grill. It is a bit pricey, but it is the best dining in the area.

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jun 14, 2011

Breakwater Juneau,Ak

We went to check in and the reservation had been cancelled. Don't know why. We were actually pleased that it had happened because the place looked terrible from the outside. Old appliances sitting around and very poor maintenance on the building outside. Did not ever see a room. We said "thank you and goodbye"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Donna's near the airport.

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juneau,ak
Apr 25, 2011

Don't do it!

This place is complete filth. It is more of a monthly rental place, vs. a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go find a campground, it will be cleaner.

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Wa
Feb 18, 2011

Adequate, economical

Serves the purpose of a modest priced overnight accomodation with something pleasant to look at. Not a hoidy toidy place, but for average people of modest means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dedman
Business
florida
Dec 6, 2010

Horrible

Dirty sheets and shower / floor. resteraunt was closed on arrival, after I called and asked if they would be open and was told "of course!" Staff initially gave me an occupied room. I could go on, but just suffice to say I would rather sleep in my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, Alaska
Oct 10, 2010

Ok for some.

The place was to warm, smelled like an ashtray in the hallway, and somewhat noisy. The rooms were nice enough and didn't smell as bad. For the price it was good enough. The location is only good if you're spending time in Juneau for High school or swimming events. You can only get transportation to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Halibut Hunter
Springville, UT
Aug 8, 2010

Very disappointed

Hotel was dark and musty. Our room was supposed to be a non-smoking one, but it smelled of tobacco smoke so badly that I can't imagine what a smoking room would be like! Linens were old and well worn and the beds were very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
cut bank, mt.
Jul 24, 2010

Juneau Trip

We were horrified when we got into our room to find it smelled heavily of smoke. Turned out the smoking area outside of the building was right out of the room we had. We only had to tell the clerk, and they immediately moved us to a room in the center of the hall, and it was fine. It made what could have been a terrible 2 nights to an enjoyable time in Juneau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
France80
Minneapolis
Jul 19, 2010

Not worth the money

Offered pick-up, but the Hotel refused to do so, had to take taxi. Transfer back to airport was ok, but unpunctual. Hotel is far away from the centre. Very noisy with busy streets on both side. Don't walk barefoot on the rooms carpet and don't use the coffee machine. Stayed in 9 hotels in the US within 3 weeks, and Breakwater was the worst and also the most expensive. Staff is friendly, with some rude exceptions though. Double check the bill before you leave. I was glad I stayed only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search