Prospector Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$139
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 12, 2016 Check-out: Feb 14, 2016
3.6 /5
Overall score
94%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

For the best of Juneau Alaska travel accommodations, the Prospector Hotel just can't be beat. We're proud to offer meeting and event space in our newly-renovated Juneau, AK hotel. After a day of hiking, fishing or sightseeing, you can look forward to relaxing and unwinding in our restaurant and lounge, which overlooks the scenic Gastineau Channel. To experience one of the best hotels in Juneau, Alaska, make your reservations at the Prospector Hotel - Your home away from home! You'll enjoy the oversized rooms and suites, and the free covered parking of our pet-friendly Juneau, AK hotel. Come see for yourself why business and leisure travelers keep coming back for the quality hotel amenities of our Juneau hotel.

Dining

TK Maguires
Our own T.K. Maguire's Restaurant, is proud to offer a unique menu with all your favorites like delicious Prime Rib, and the freshest Alaskan seafood, all in a unique casual setting. Where else will you find Alaskan King Crab served at both lunch and dinner-come visit T.K. Maguire's, located in the Prospector Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.3 / 5
$115
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$121
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$108
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$114
Guest score 3.0 / 5
$90

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly

Activities

  • Fitness center or spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities
  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
  • Accessible facilities
  • Wheel chair access
  • Service dogs allowed
  • Service animals allowed
  • Accessible parking
  • Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
  • Accessible parking
  • Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
  • Wheelchair accessible elevators
  • Ramp access to buildings

Reviews

3.6 /5 Overall score

94% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.1/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.2/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

bad start to decent stay.

Would recommend Mon, Aug 24, 2015
When I arrived, I was told they had no rooms, after almost 3 hours in lobby with the desk clerk calling other hotels looking for rooms, suddenly a miracle, at almost 11 pm a room! After that fiasco the stay was pleasant. Lumpy mattresses and pillows, no screens on windows, old mismatched furniture, but 2 walk in closets! The staff was very nice and the food at restaurant very good. Hey its Juneau.

| Hollywood Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Unexpectly pleasant

Would recommend Fri, Jul 31, 2015
Prospector is an older hotel and doesn't have the same shiny veneer of newer establishments. That said, it's comfortable, hard to beat the location (near down town, right next to the museum!), and has modern amenities like wireless internet, cable. My room was spacious and clean. I slept well and felt refreshed in the morning.

| Fairbanks Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Alaska and the 50th state

Would recommend Fri, Mar 13, 2015
Location made the hotel easy to walk to and from when visiting downtown. Don't expect a glamorous lobby and 5 star amenities. The hotel served it's purpose and was comfortable. The views onto the water front were excellent and the staff was helpful and polite.

| Clearwater Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Practical, clean and affordable

Would recommend Fri, Jul 11, 2014
We did so much exploring that we only went to the hotel to shower, sleep, and eat breakfast. The beds were comfy, the rooms were dark and quiet and the bathrooms were clean and functional. The restaurant off the lobby was great. Beautiful view of the water and quick, friendly service. No complaints.

Attractions

Do the flume trial walk at the end of evergreen street in Juneau. Amazing.

| Washington DC Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location

Would recommend Tue, Jul 1, 2014
I've lived I Juneau and know the Prospector is an older hotel that has gone through several remodels. I was traveling with my elderly handicapped mother and we stayed in the handicapped accessible room with a king sized bed. The staff was friendly and helpful and there is a full service restaurant on site which is handy. The location of the hotel is very good - within walking distance of the downtown area, grocery, museum, tourist activities, etc. Plus, there is ample free parking for guests, which in Juneau is great because parking is a premium in town. The free Wi-Fi was good. I liked the fact that there was a frig and microwave in the room. Overall, it was a good value if you are not expecting the very fancy. Our room was good sized and more like a suite. The bathroom was huge and had very good lighting. The room had a nook with the TV cabinet, another useless closet, a desk, desk chair and sitting chair with ottoman. The lighting was poor for someone with limited vision in the "room" part. The room could have been a bit cleaner. On the surface things looked clean, but there was an over all dinginess to the room. The coffee maker was not cleaned and the second day, the coffee was not replenished; however there was fresh coffee in the lobby every morning.

| Eagle River, Alaska Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Better than we expected

Would recommend Mon, May 19, 2014
We had a large 2 queen mountain view room. It had all the normal amenities one would expect. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Free wifi! Nice location with a large grocery store around the corner and within walking distance of downtown. Had breakfast and dinner at their restaurant. Good selections and the cost wasn't more than most other places around town. Had very tasty fish tacos. Only complaint was it was unusually warm and our room was an oven with no air condition. Would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Attractions

Take the Tracy Arm fjord cruise. Saw bears, whales, seals, eagles and best of all the Sawyer glacier up close! Went with Adventure Bound. It is a smaller boat, but still has enough amenities to keep you comfortable.

| Vancouver, WA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

One night to see the town

Would recommend Mon, Jun 10, 2013
This hotel is not far from any of the downtown. The room was spacious, clean, wi-fi friendly. They had a nice restaurant on-site. We were only there for the one night--it was fine. The inside was much better than the appearance from the outside.

Attractions

Better to be there when the cruise ships are not. It is a bit much to fight the crowds.

| Redmond OR Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Friendly staff

Would recommend Wed, Sep 8, 2010
Okay.

| FL Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

clean, comfortable, but drunks in alley

Would recommend Sun, Aug 8, 2010
Rooms were clean ,roomy, comfortable. Good downtown location, restaurant ok. However there were noisy and disorderly drunks in the alley behind the hotel at night. No free airport shuttle

| Anc, AK Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

clean, but old and tired

Would not recommend Tue, Aug 3, 2010
Stayed overnight to catch a flight home, booked to early and ended up paying 20 bucks more than the best place in town. Room was very clean, however the towel rack falling to the floor and the ceiling stain in the bathroom with the paint peeling off it landing in the shower stole some of the ambiance.

Dining

Didn"t eat, due to the musty smell on the first level

| Scottsdale, az Singles

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$139
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 12, 2016 Check-out: Feb 14, 2016