$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Wedgewood Resort

3 stars
212 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
33 reviews
Great Place to Stay!

We spent a week visiting our kids at UAF. The weather was great, we took in the Ice Sculptures... See full review

  • Big Buck 1
  • Mar 24, 2014
Excellence at its best

I loved staying at this hotel! The staff were so nice, friendly and always helpful. Chelsea helped... See full review

  • Sunil Fiji
  • Dec 30, 2013
Quietly nestled off College Road situated between downtown Fairbanks and the University of Alaska Wedgewood Resort offers deluxe accommodations including oversized guestrooms and one and two bedroom suites. Sprawled across 30 award winning beautifully landscaped acres the summertime beauty of Wedgewood Resort is unsurpassed in Fairbanks. As one of the largest hotel properties in Fairbanks Wedgewoods private park like campus is a popular venue for outdoor wedding ceremonies local photographers and artists. Wedgewoods spacious guestrooms and inviting suites were designed for the utmost in guest comfort. And because they are the largest suites in Fairbanks Wedgewood is the ideal choice for families and guests looking to spend more than a night or two in Fairbanks. Wedgewood Resort offers several trailheads to Creamers Migratory Waterfowl Refuge and is home to the Alaska Bird Observatory the northernmost Observatory of its kind in the Western hemisphere. Opportunity for exploration and enjoyment abound on the grounds at Wedgewood. On site points of interest include an Alaskan bush plane an authentic miners cabin and cache giant vegetable gardens Alaskan wildflower gardens historic photos purchased from the University of Alaska archive department as well as a piece of the Alaska pipeline. Special programs and activities are scheduled throughout the summer months for guest enjoyment and education.

Hotel Map

64.8613 -147.7233
Nearby airports
Fairbanks Intl Airport, (FAI), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wedgewood Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Wedgewood Resort Rooms

Standard
Spacious guestrooms with one queen bed. Balcony. Air Conditioner. Cavle TV. Coffee tea and coffee pot. Complimentary wireless internet. Private bath. Closet. Work desk and chair. iron and ironing board. 100pct smoke free.
Standard
Spacious guestrooms with one queen bed. Balcony. Air conditioner. Cable TV. Coffee tea and coffee pot. Private ADA accessible bath. Complimenary wireless. Closet. Work desk and chair. Smoke free.
Standard
Spacious guestrooms with two beds. Balcony. Air conditioner. Cable TV. Coffee tea and coffee pot. Complimentary wireless internet. Private ADA accessible bath. Complimentary wireless. Closet. Work desk and chair. Iron and ironing board. Smoke free.
Standard
Bear Lodge Standard Double - Spacious guestrooms with two queen beds. Balcony. Air conditioner. Cable TV. Coffee tea and coffee pot. Complimentary wireless internet. Private bath. Work desk and chair. Iron and ironing board. 100pct smoke free.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Extended Stay 1 Bedroom Suite-Residential style suite with separate dining/living area. Two double beds and balcony. Fully equipped kitchen. Separate bath. Air conditioner. Cable and two TVs. Complimentary wireless internet. 100 percent smoke free.
Suite
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Suite-Deluxe one bedroom residential style suite with separate dining living and bedroom area with two double beds and balcony. Fully equipped kitchen. Private bath. Air conditioner. Cable and two TVs. Complimentary wireless internet. 100
Suite
Extended Stay 2 Bedroom Suite-Residential style suite/separate dining and living areas. Two bedrooms/three double beds and balcony. Fully equipped kitchen. Private bath. Air conditioner. Cable/three TVs. Comp wireless internet. 100percent smoke free.
Suite
Deluxe 2 Bedroom Suite-Deluxe two bedroom residential style suite with separate dining and living areas. Two bedrooms. Three double beds and balcony. Fully equipped kitchen. Private bath. Air conditioner. Cable three TVs. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Dining

The Golden Bear Restaurant
Hours of Operation Open daily 6am-10pm mid-May through mid September. Dress code Casual to Formal. Type of Food Served Traditional favorites and Alaskan specialties. Restaurant Description The large spacious Golden Bear Restaurant has a superb atmosphere
Gazebo Cafe
Hours of Operation mid-May through mid-September hours vary. Dress code Casual. Type of Food Served The Gazebo Cafe serves lighter fare primarily sandwiches salads and soups. Restaurant Description Like the name implies the Gazebo Cafe has a delightful ga
The Bears Tale Lounge
Hours of Operation Open daily 12-12pm mid-May through mid-September. Type of Food Served The Bears Tale Lounge features an assortment of appetizers as well as burgers and sandwiches. Lounge and or Bar Description Enjoy an appetizer and your favorite bever

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Wedgewood Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the famous
Michigan
Jun 8, 2013

Wedgewood

The hotel is a converted apartment complex. It offered very large accommodation with a kitchen, dining room, living room with a 50 inch TV a bath and a bedroom with two beds. It is far from town so you much use the free shuttle to get around, it takes time but is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam Shell
Anchorage
May 23, 2013

Clean and spacious

It was good except the bed was hard. Room was very spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam Shell
Anchorage
May 21, 2013

Very spacious

The accommodations were very spacious surrounded by nice grounds. The only drawback was the mattress was very firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tristian
Canada
May 18, 2013

Great place for the family

The room has tons of space for the kids to run and play, tv's need to be updated though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
out of town shopper
rural alaska
Sep 22, 2011

good value for off-season

I tried this hotel because of the price but soon realized that most of the features were unavailable in the off-season. It looks like it would be a great place when the restaurant are open or the internet cafe and the shuttles are running. However it probably costs more then also. I just needed a quiet place to relax and this was one of the best prices in town. If you are willing to do some walking or have a car then this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ethicsgig
Lake in the Hills, IL
Aug 7, 2011

comfortable hotel with helpful staff

When we decided to stay an extra night, we were charged $129 plus tax. Should they have given the discounted price? We made an assumption, but did not verify when we extended the stay. [...] All except the extra cost for the second night was good. The hotel has a trolly to help people get to various city sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you see Pioneer Park. There are old houses, a restored riverboat and a train ride.

Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Toxey, Alabama
Jul 22, 2011

Would return today if possible!

We loved the large two bedroom unit. It was extremely clean when we arrived and was cleaned daily while we were there. The grounds were peaceful and quite beautiful. All staff members that we came in contact with were friendly and helpful. Except for Denali, everything we did during our stay was a short drive away. We took the Riverboat Discovery III cruise down the Chena river, visited the Eldorado Gold Mine, Pioneer Village, North Pole, Visitor Center, Alaska Salmon Bake and several other attractions. Our favorite place to eat was The Cookie Jar Restaurant, VERY GOOD! I would recomend Wedgewood Resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland
May 4, 2011

Good Value in Fairbanks

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a few days before heading to Denali for the summer season. Suites were well-equiped, with new appliances and tv. Beds and pillows were uncomfortable, but could easily have been fixed. Also, the suites appear to have once been apartments, but the walls are thin, and you can hear a lot of your neighbor noise. It was nice to be able to have somewhere to have a home-cooked meal, especially having just spent a week driving the Alcan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, Ak
Apr 17, 2011

So So.... 1st time was better

It was cool the first night then the second night when we were leaving to goto the bar security came up and checked us saying they got a noise complaint and we were like "how did u know it was us? Were leaving" and he gave some lame excuse... So we left then when it came to late checkout there policy is 1:00pm and we checked out at 1:30pm and the supervisor did me a 'favor' by not charging me for a half of day.... Customer service jus lacked a bit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kstnak
Anchorage Alaska
Mar 12, 2011

Wedgewood Resort

Having lived in Fairbanks; we were familiar with Wedgewood Manor and have stayed at the facility in the past. I like the separation of bedrooms from living and cooking/dining areas. Being able to prepare meals-especially when travelling with family significantly decreases the cost of travelling. The surrounding area with the addition of a beautiful lake trail minutes from the front door is another reason to choose this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lakeside trail walk

Back to menu Return to top

Change search